We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding taster meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding taster meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have booked our wedding at the East Close Hotel for May next year. On Saturday 25th of May 2013 we attended the Conquorer Inn to sample the menu we have selected for our special day. I just wanted to say how impressed I was with the quality of the food and the service. We couldn't be more positive that we have selected the right venue for our wedding day. The place looked lovely and the staff made us feel very relaxed as soon as we entered. They were also friendly and efficient. The food was excellently presented and tasted as good as it looked. The wine selection was also great and I'm sure our guests will agree. Can't wait for the big day now as I know it will be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loomcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Pleased to read you enjoyed your taster for your forthcoming wedding, we all look forward to looking after you in the planning stages and of course on the big day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    84
    25
    15
    12
See reviews for
72
171
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We booked as part of a wowcher deal and stayed for one night in the respectable rooms above the Conqueror pub. Cannot comment on the hotel rooms, but the area is lovely, close to the beautiful Lyndhurst and Christchurch. A 2 course dinner and full English was also included and all I can say is our dinner is some of the most delicious food my husband and I have ever eaten. Drinks were not overly priced, and we just had a lovely time. Highly recommended and would love to return in the future. Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missclarelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Great to read you enjoyed your Wowcher stay with us. We dont promote through Wowcher very often but if you do fancy a break away with us again check our website for the best Breakaway rates. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for two nights as we had booked through KGB in Dec 2012. We didn't realise the hotel had gone into administration and changed management. So when I called to confirm the registration and found out about the change, we thought our weekend would be a write off.
I have to say I was overwhelmed by the friendly manager who let us stay free of charge and honoured the KGB deal even though he didn't have to.
On arrival the room was lovely very clean and really well decorated. The bathroom was superb and the staff very friendly and attentive, regularly asking if we were enjoying our stay. The breakfast and dinner was lovely.

The only very minor issue was the wifi didn't work, but if you are on a mini break then perhaps that's a good thing to spend more time with a your partner and less on the Internet.
Overall very impressed and cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthiaewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, I am pleased your pre arrival worries came to nothing.

To clarify, the company that previously owned the hotel went into administration last November. I bought the hotel very soon after from the administrator and the hotel has not suffered from what coud have been a very unfortunate situation. We have honoured every deposit pre paid and even deals like the one you stayed on. The hotel is going from strength to strength and Im pleased you were able to recognise this.

We hope to see you again and can assure you that if it is within our control the wifi will be sorted. Regrettably the New Forest is not the best location in a world that relies so much on internet, it does however make up for it in every other aspect.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We booked the complete hotel and the Conquerer restaurant for our wedding on 26/5/13, using every bedroom and public room in the venue. I'm posting this review just hours after departing because my husband & I were just blown away by the whole experience and want to shout about it! I can't begin to tell you how many of the guests at our large wedding made a point of coming up to tell us either a.how amazing the venue was or b. how wonderful all the staff had been, or more often both! Our guests had travelled from all over the country, and few from abroad...they are well travelled & are not easily impressed, so their praise was hard earnt. Many guests wanted to single out Nicola for her incredible hard work and competance. Nothing was too much trouble and she had a smile on her face from 1pm to 1am- amazing!! In truth though, everyone who worked on the day was fantastic and really helped make our day so, so memorable. We had a relatively unorthodox wedding and although the staff admitted they found that a bit challenging, they totally embraced our wishes and brought all our plans to life. Ellie who liaised with us in advance really listened and supported us which meant everything worked on the day. We have to be honest and say a few months ago we had a few concerns about the hotel, mainly around some customer service areas, but the new owner and new management have ironed out all those areas and have created a magical venue. If you are not looking for a wedding venue, you will still love the individual, opulent rooms and the quality food. Obviously the location is gorgeous. Overall a great place for a minibreak as well as a wedding!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SieBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thanks for your review. I am writing this whilst in Cyprus attending a wedding which took place on the same day as yours. As a hands on owner I can assure you that I was thinking about you on your special day. Indeed we have made some changes since my arrival and it is reassuring to read that my team performed to meet and exceed your expectations. I have every confidence in my events team both front and back of house and would like to thank you for taking time to review, you have made me smile whilst Im away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Currently sat in room 8 after a fantastic dinner and we couldnt wait to write a review! We have come here for a mini-moon after getting married on Saturday and were planning a trip back for our anniversary next year. The room is stunning with views over fields and gardens, bathroom is luxurious and the staff are more than helpful bringing up a hair dryer when we couldnt find one! Dinner was delicious and with our dinner, b&b deal we only paid for drinks and a pudding. The antipasti starter is massive and to die for, we both had steak which was perfect and the sticky toffee pudding was lush especially with the popcorn scattered on top. The bar area was lovely to relax in and we sat for ages looking through our wedding pictures online. Cant wait for breakfast after sleeping in this supremly comfy bed. Restaurant, bar and hotel staff so friendly and helpful makes such a difference in comparison to some hotels we have been to. Many thanks for a lovely day

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baxter6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Its great to read your review, I am away from the hotel at the moment and am sorry that I have not met you personally. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My other half bought a two night stay at East Close through Wowcher and i have to say we weren't disappointed by our stay.
the hotel itself is clean and cosy (we stayed in room 3 with the beautiful arch window) with some stunning rooms and beautiful bathrooms -a perfect chance to have a long relaxing bath after walking through the New Forest. my other half commented that the hotel in all areas was a very good ambient temperature. some hotels we have stayed at in the past have been freezing, so it was worth a mention!

Before our arrival i sent an email explaining that im dairy and gluten intolerant and asked them what food options from their menu i could have, they went up and beyond to accommodate these requests and never had to be prompted at meal times - they would bring over a menu marked with what was suitable - or they would accommodate breakfast, such as scrambled eggs without milk or butter and provided gluten free toast which was a nice touch.

the food itself its clean and flavorsome lots of things to choose from which change on a daily basis depending on what fish had been caught that day or what was in season.

staff were very helpful even when we lock ourselves out of the room!

i cant recommend this hotel enough! - weve already bought the second wowcher deal they currently have on offer to stay later on in the year..... hopefully the weather will be better that time around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your review, its great to see you have already booked to return. We look forward to seeing you then. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel after booking it through wowcher, bed and breakfast and dinner were included in our stay.
The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
Our room was very comfortable, lovely bed. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Very clean and tidy.
We ate 3 courses at dinner and must say the food was excellent, lovely menu and really good portion size. It was great quality.

Breakfast was also very good, nice choice and again great food.
We would most definitely stay hear again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Manager at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton
6.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
4.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastclose Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastclose Country House Hotel

Property: Eastclose Country House Hotel
Address: Lyndhurst Road | Christchurch, Hinton, New Forest BH23 7EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Hinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastclose Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastclose Country House Hotel and The Conqueror Inn are one of the New Forest's hidden delights. Blending Georgian opulence with a cool, contemporary twist. Not simply a comfortable, welcoming place to stay, we are a destination for discerning diners and a unique venue for weddings, special celebrations. Set in 18 acres of beautiful parkland, this boutique hotel has long provided a place of relaxation and inspiration for guests. In fact one of them, author Lewis Carroll, is rumored to have created his tales of a certain young Alice after hearing of her adventures in the enchanting walled garden, croquet lawn and under the giant beech tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastclose Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing