We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all rooms are so fine.... (but they're dogfriendly)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here 1 night and we're a little disappointed... When booking we could choose between 2 roomtypes and as we really liked the beautiful pictures showing the rooms we choose for the most expensive one as we we're promised more space then.

Well the room was spacious but didn't look like the pictures at all! So not al rooms are so lovely and luxurious as promised! Our room was in a side-buillding and allthough they try to spice it up a bit with a trendy wallpaper it wasn't really comfy as we hoped for! The carpet had stains, the bed was not comfy and the bathroom was not really clean (like stains on the bathroomdoor etc.)

There was also a lot of noise from the outside, as the hotel is located near a busy road.

The location furthermore is good, close to the beautiful New Forest.

The good thing about the hotel is the restaurant, that was excellent! And also friendly staff and dogfriendly!

But for 100 pounds a night without breakfast you can find much better options!

I give this hotel 2 out of 5 points, not only because of the not so comfortable room but also because I think it's not fair business if you show lovely pictures on the internet , but not provide these rooms... That's really disappointing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as shown on the pictures! Because not all the rooms are as lovely as they show! Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are sorry to hear we did not meet with your expectations, we have 4 rooms which are described on our site as budget doubles. This is the room type that you booked and are pictured on this website and our own and clearly marked budget doubles, these are the only rooms we allow dogs. We never wish to mislead potential customers, we don't want unhappy guests as the consequences are obvious. Not sure why you paid £100 excluding breakfast this must have been booked through a foreign agent, we always recommend looking at the hotels web site for best rates, they always include breakfast as do most hotels when booking direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the eastclose just last night and I couldn't wait to write my review!!
Let's start with the location... Perfectly situated on the outskirts of the new Forrest with stunning walks, villages and wildlife on your doorstep!! The moment you walk into the conquerer to check in you are met with friendly helpful staff and a warm inviting atmosphere. Comfy sofas, modern decor and spotlessly clean.
We stayed in room 2 which is beautiful. It is at the side of the hotel and has a massive sumptuous bathroom with rolltop bath AND a double shower! (which my fiancé advised me was one of the best he had ever used!)
The decor was so well thought out and individual it really did feel luxurious. Massive plasma tv on the wall, big kettle and lots of tea/coffee/hot choc and biccies provided as well as bottled water. After reading some of the reviews I was wondering if the road noise would be quite as dramatic as some had mentioned but we didn't even notice it!!! Please don't let this put you off anyone. We slept so well.
We dined in the conquerer restaurant as we had a wowcher offer that included two courses..... And we could choose ANYTHING off of the menu. You always expect to be treated differently or given a limited menu when travelling on these types Of voucher but I was so pleased when we were told we could choose any two courses. I opted for the mussels starter which were the best I have ever had and the sirloin steak with blacksticks blue cheese sauce- AMAZING!! The antipasti starter and poussin main also got rave reviews! The service was great and nothing was too much trouble.. A really enjoyable dining experience.
There was a lovely ambience about the restaurant and bar.
We woke to a fabulous breakfast, you can help yourself to cereals, juices, pastries etc and then have the choice of full english, veggie breakfast or smoked salmon and eggs. We all opted for the full English and weren't disappointed . Great quality produce, lovely and hot with plentiful tea and toast!!
We had a lovely stroll in the grounds to walk it off after checking out at 10am.
I am lucky enough to be getting married at this beautiful venue on boxing day and couldn't be more excited about it now have experienced this truly VIP experience that I'm sure is the same for every guest. Thank you eastclose for a fabulous stay :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayowen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife's surprise birthday party, organised by daughter #3 (well, actually her James!) was at this lovely, if somewhat eccentric, hotel on the edge of the New Forest.
Easy to find (on the road between Lyndhurst and Christchurch), surrounded by the New Forest (lots of gorgeous walks), and with a good bar and restaurant.
The rooms are decidedly eccentric - all sorts of wonderful old furniture, gilt mirrors, large comfy beds and huge bathrooms. I suspect that all the rooms are different - but we only saw ours!
Excellent food in the restaurant - one of those annoying menus with TOO many things you want - and you just know you're going to say - wish I could have had two at the same time.
Good English Breakfast - fresh good eggs, bacon etc - plenty of toast etc.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different - suggest you try to get one at the back, although we were not disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-and-Sue-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thanks for a lovely review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Just for clarity we only have 2 rooms on the back of the hotel so anyone reading your room tip please don t expect that we can oblige.
Hope to see you soon.
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband as an anniversary present. On entering the hotel we were greeted and served drinks by Mark, who was an excellent "front of house" manager.
The reception area was very cosy with traditional leather "chaise". However, once going through the doors to our bedrooms, we were greeted with "art deco". Everything was black!
On entering the bedroom, I just had to photograph. Gold/Black decor, plus all the furniture was painted black. Even the bed throw and cushions were black silk.
Now I may be in my twilight years but I can still remember!!
However, we had booked a meal in the restaurant for our special occasion. Mark had chosen the best table in the restaurant where I could view everything.
First courses were great. My husband had the fishcake and I had the prawn starter. Very well presented and taste was excellent.Unfortunately, the main couse was a disaster.We had chosen from the "a la carte" menu, not from the "specials". My lamb was innedible and had to be returned to the kitchen. My husband persevered but ended up with lumps of grizzle around his plate. However, Ben, our waiter, was very understanding and was a pleasant waiter,
advising us on the various winesetc..
My husband had a wonderful dessert, very well presented.

On the whole, we enjoyed the experience. Would we return? Sadly no.
We travel the world. Having been from South America to Australia. Have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world. If " Eastclose house Hotel" want to enhance their reputation, they need to change the suppliers of their lamb!!
We did receive an apology from the chef, who said that the meat was not up to the usual standard. However, since this was a special occasion for us, we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful night's sleep, ask for a room overlooking the grounds at the rear, not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petal099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that the lamb was not up to our usual high standard and rest assured we have spoken with everyone concerned to ensure this does not recur. It was a pleasure looking after you, and we hope you might consider a return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were absolutely let down by this hotel, and so much so, we cut short our two night break. Before we used our 'voucher' we called the hotel to check when they had a room available in the quieter part of the hotel. This is important to us, as my partner is diabetic and so needs to be able to rest, I myself have been recovering from an illness, and so this was explained to them. We chose our dates to stay based on the information given to us, and were assured of a quiet room. We were given room 16, and its right on the road side. The noise was unbelievable, and continued all night, lorries, cars, vans all night. We couldn't open the window to get air in, and the room was incredibly hot, so we really suffered. We had called reception immediately upon arrival, but were told that priority had to be given to those paying the full fee. This certainly endorsed the feeling of 'deal/voucher' customers being treated differently to others, and this, is simply wrong.

WE ate in the restaurant, and had to send a plate back, as it was inedible. It was just all wrong. We couldn't stay the second night and left early. This ruined my birthday present to my partner.

Such a shame, and very upsetting. The hotel were aware of our grievances, so this rating should not be a surprise to them

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank squirrel2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

You stayed with us on a wowcher deal, which included a standard room, we always upgrade our guests if availability allows but we were full when you stayed and it was not possible, this was also explained to you when you booked.
As you suggest my staff do remember you because you told them that if you did not receive an upgrade you would write a bad review, which you have.
I also see you have set this account up specifically to conclude your threat. Trip advisor is not a tool you can use to threaten hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of a trip along the Dorset coastline and the best was saved for last. Our room was huge and had a lovely décor and outlook. The bathroom was very large too, with a big bath and a superb shower. Breakfasts were freshly cooked each day and were delicious. We also ate dinner both nights we stayed and each time the food was just superb. We chose from their excellent value 'two for one' menu and there was lots of choice. You could basically have a three course meal for two people for less than £30! If the Chicken, Ham & Leek pie is available, have it!!!
The staff were also lovely and very attentive and always had a smile on their faces.
The hotel is somewhat isolated on a long road at the edge of the New Forest, but this adds to the charm if anything and Christchurch is easily reached by car, as well as some other lovely places.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely go back in the future.

Room Tip: We had room No 1 - it is huge and very well appointed. Nice location too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denzilslorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you, its a pleasure to look after you and also to see you returning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Would just like to thank all the staff at east close hotel, you were truly amazing, our friends and family have not stopped talking about our wedding, you would never believe we was on a tight budget, thanks for the impeccable service the amazing staff, the beautiful venue, we had the best day of our lives and so did our family. We look forward to coming back xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanddarrendesroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you, it was a pleasure looking after you and we are pleased to read what a great day you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton
5.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
5.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
610 reviews
4.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastclose Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastclose Country House Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road | Christchurch, Hinton, New Forest BH23 7EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Hinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: £65 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastclose Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastclose Country House Hotel and The Conqueror Inn are one of the New Forest's hidden delights. Blending Georgian opulence with a cool, contemporary twist. Not simply a comfortable, welcoming place to stay, we are a destination for discerning diners and a unique venue for weddings, special celebrations. Set in 18 acres of beautiful parkland, this boutique hotel has long provided a place of relaxation and inspiration for guests. In fact one of them, author Lewis Carroll, is rumored to have created his tales of a certain young Alice after hearing of her adventures in the enchanting walled garden, croquet lawn and under the giant beech tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Eastclose Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing