We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas get away..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Had an overnight stay with a two course meal. The room was lovely especially after management kindly upgraded us. Staff we're friendly and very welcoming. Food was top quality as was the service. Overall a fantastic stay. Would highly recommend it and would happily return. Thank you.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Caversham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, we always upgrade when possible, but cannot guarantee this if we are full. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have just returned from the Eastclose hotel on an extended wowcher deal. What a lovely place for a pre christmas break! We had the most beautiful room with fantastic views over the new forest the food was absolutely excellent ( we had 3 dinners and each of them was fantastic) the breakfasts were lovely with cereals, toast, pastries followed by a "full English". There's not much time for a diet before Christmas but I need to go on one!. The staff were all lovely and made us feel very welcome the barman in particular was full of information about local places to visit. All in all a lovely break and if I was in that part of the country again I would definitely return!.

Room Tip: Room 8 was absolutely lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to have the pleasure of looking after you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel and it was even better than the first time. The staff were exceptionally pleasant & helpful - nothing was too much trouble; we were made to feel welcome as soon as walked into reception and a roaring log fire certainly added to the overall ambiance.

The evening meal was first rate - would highly recommend the food. The room was absolutely spotless with everything you need for a really comfortable stay and I'm very fussy about cleanliness - couldn't fault it at all.

Breakfast - again perfect and served with a genuine smile! The building oozes character with lots of period features including a beautiful sweeping staircases leading to the bedrooms, but with all the modern conveniences you would hope for.

Well done - keep up the good work and thank you for a lovely stay - we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetraveller101_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments we will hopefully see you again next year at the Porsche Club annual do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Nothing is too much for this delightful Hotel placed in the middle of the New Forest! From the moment you enter you are surrounded by contemporary luxury, the atmosphere is warm and relaxing.
The staff just want to please. Whatever we requested the reply was always - 'yes course we can' and always with a smile!!!
Our excellent evening meal was accompanied by a lovely red! and breakfast had a wide choice and the bacon didn't smell piggy!!
We stayed for two nights in a delightful room of sheer elegance!
Would I visit this place again? - Absolutely!! ....I'm really looking forward to it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter, but we didn't find this a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLoxley0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

It is 23.35 as I write this and the bedroom walls are shaking due to a very loud disco below us. We were told that there was a disco as we checked in but what are we supposed to do turn round and go home? Food was nice but unable to stay and enjoy bar area due to said disco. Did not have problem with traffic noise as it was drowned out.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EyeRDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay and that the Festivities kept you awake. It is difficult to accommodate everybody's desires at this time of year, and hope this will not put you off visiting after the party season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had our company Xmas do here last night. I am always a bit worried that it is going to be an evening of awful cold food, poor service and a conclusion of 'won't go there again' - I have been to several like that.

Step up to the plate the East Close Hotel. First off, plenty of people behind the bar, good service (and secure too in terms of 'outsiders' not muscling in on our tab). First course was soup - so easy to get wrong, but no problem, nice and hot (temperature) and tasty too. Main course, for me, Xmas Dinner and certainly not skimping on portions, and, what is this, al dente vegetable - yummy just right on those carrots and brussels sprouts. Dessert also nice (cheesecake with Xmas pud inside). All served by a really cheerful lady. My only criticism is that the food was served a bit quick, but then I can forgive them that. This would not have been bad food in a quiet restaurant but for mass catering (the place was heaving) it was extremely good.

OMG it's a disco, but after some alcohol I ventured (at 54) onto the dance floor (we was pulled onto it to be honest) and must say the DJ had a pretty full floor the whole evening.

Venue is very nice too (haven't been there for 15+ years) and clean too (e.g. toilets).

East Close you did a great job, take a bow and well done to you all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C4LWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you, it is great to read that a year of planning has come together as we had wished and we hope to see you again for your works do next year and in the meantime. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and we found this hotel superb the staff were really friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was relaxing and I really recommend this hotel and will be going back here for a nice relaxing break again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastclose_2013, Owner at Eastclose Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thanks, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton
5.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
580 reviews
5.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
774 reviews
11 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
445 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastclose Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastclose Country House Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road | Christchurch, Hinton, New Forest BH23 7EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Hinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: £66 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastclose Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastclose Country House Hotel and The Conqueror Inn are one of the New Forest's hidden delights. Blending Georgian opulence with a cool, contemporary twist. Not simply a comfortable, welcoming place to stay, we are a destination for discerning diners and a unique venue for weddings, special celebrations. Set in 18 acres of beautiful parkland, this boutique hotel has long provided a place of relaxation and inspiration for guests. In fact one of them, author Lewis Carroll, is rumored to have created his tales of a certain young Alice after hearing of her adventures in the enchanting walled garden, croquet lawn and under the giant beech tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Eastclose Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing