We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and quiet Sydney escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scotland Island Lodge
Gosford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quaint and quiet Sydney escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Scotland Island is just a ferry ride across from Church Point. The whole Pittwater area is beautiful to explore. The Lodge itself is run by a very amiable couple, and the food reviews I read beforehand proved true- yummy and very filling breakfasts and dinners.

Unfortunately it rained the whole weekend we were there which meant that we only got one walk in and no kayaking, which I am sure would have added to our enjoyment of the weekend, but weather is not predicatble anytime!

Things to note if they are important to you though are:

Some bedrooms don't have an ensuite, so check which room you book if that's important. We had the King Room which had ensuite and a little stiitting area. The Queen room looked smaller and had a bathroom outside of it, so in fact we had an intruder who got lost looking for it in the night!!

Dinner and brekkies are communal, delicious and fun to meet other guests, so make sure you are ok with that aspect.

Pack some food of your own if you think you will need any between breakfast and lunch unless you are intedning to get off the island. Personally, breakfast was so substantial, we didn't need it, just mentioning it though in case you do! Its also BYO, so that was great to have our own wine at dinner, which of course we offered to share with other guests.

The only downside to Scotland Island Lodge that I could see compared to many other B&Bs we have stayed, is there is no common area to relax, read or play a game of scrabble etc except your own room...on a whole weekend of rain, it would have been nice to sit in a lounge area or verandah for a change of scenery.

Still, I fel the the whole weekend was great value for money ! Rosemary and Colin are lovely hosts and the island has a great feel which I am sure would have grown on us had we the pleasure to stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle1Gosford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a wonderful time at Scotland Island Lodge! If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, then this place definitely is for you!

Rosemary and Colin are fantastic hosts, they offer warm and friendly service and cater to all your needs! The food is fantastic, it's fresh, homemade and made with lots of love. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners!

The room we stayed in was large with a king bed, ensuite and sitting area which is ideal for a couple. It was very clean, with a tv, coffee and tea facilities and even some homemade biscuits! Our beds were even made and towels changed which was a very nice touch also.

Thank you Rosemary and Colin for a lovely time, it's definitely a place we will revisit and recommend to others!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMpilato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Within an hour of bustling Sydney with it's traffic and deadline mentality is this beautiful B & B. Really it's like a private hotel with exceptional service from Rosemary and Colin. Delicious 3 course dinner and huge breakfast make the experience special. The hosts achieve a perfect balance with attention and conversation but definitely don't intrude. Catching a ferry from the mainland feels like you are leaving the modern world behind and heading to a nostalgic holiday place where dogs and children run and play and the friendly community looks out for each other.
Kayaking is an option and the paddle around the island reveals cute coves, jetties, countless boat species and delightful boathouses. We spent our dining hours with one other couple and shared many common interests, chatting and enjoying the view from the deck over Pittwater. We were only away for 24 hours and it felt like a week. How great is that!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeetdJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nsumbu National Park, Zambia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were looking for somewhere not miles away but away from it all so we had a chance to relax and catch up. Despite reading reviews we were so taken aback by the incredible food and it's beautiful presentation - was definitely a 5 star restaurant! The accommodation was clean and comfortable and every little detail had been thought of. Colin and Rosemary were so welcoming as were the numerous locals who all stopped to say hello and have a chat. Scotland Island is a true treasure and we'll be making this our annual catch up spot! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

A great escape for Sydney siders! You can sit and back and relax knowing Rosemary and Colin will take care of you - beautiful clean and cosy room with homemade biscuits and tea , a spectacular 3 course dinner made just for you and then superb full breakfast to finish it all! Will definitely be back for another visit!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Wow what a wonderful secret oasis! My Mum and I visited the island after reading the book Salvation Creek by Susan Duncan. We had such a wonderful relaxing time at the lodge. Rosmary and Colin make you feel like a friend coming to visit for a couple of days!We were even lucky enough to attend a local yoga class whilst on the island. A great place to relax and unwind and get back to nature! Would love to return for a visit one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

It was the perfect place for "time out" and to just relax with nothing more strenuous than
a walk around the island. Scotland Lodge was a beautiful quiet recluse with all our needs
accommodated for. Our hosts, Rosemary and Colin were lovely, as was their lodge,
with our room having an ensuite and lovely comfortable beds. It was so lovely to
be served beautiful meals that were delicious in their outdoor room. We had a very
relaxing time which is just what we needed. We even got to go to a Yoga lesson with
Rosemary just before reluctantly catching a ferry back to reality! Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotland Island
4.5 mi away
NRMA Sydney Lakeside Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
5.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
Barrenjoey House
Barrenjoey House
#2 of 2 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Palm Beach Bed & Breakfast
Palm Beach Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Palm Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland Island Lodge

Property: Scotland Island Lodge
Address: 2 Kevin Avenue, Pittwater, Scotland Island, New South Wales 2105, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Pittwater > Scotland Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotland Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat an hour north of Sydney. Rosemary and Colin invite you to experience the magic of Scotland Island Lodge. The delicious homemade food, comfortable accommodation and the attention to detail will make your stay memorable. All the city attractions, The Opera House and Harbor only an hour away, while you can enjoy the wonderful scenery of Pittwater and exciting walks to aboriginal rock drawings nearby, or maybe kayak around the bays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Scotland Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing