We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Cecil County”

BackFin Blues Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
BackFin Blues Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Port Deposit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Port Deposit, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best place in Cecil County”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found Backfin Blues about a year ago and have been regular visitors ever since. The food is outstanding and we have not had a bad meal here. Chef Bob is very creative and we are always trying something new and tasty. Each time we go we have a new favorite.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobofPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    26
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Agree, Good, but not worth the high prices”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We dined here with friends, celebrating their anniversary. We arrived, with reservations, and were squeezed up front between two other tables of four, on a trip to the ladies room, we noticed several empty tables in the back, so upon returning to our table, we asked to be moved to the back, which they did. We all ordered drinks, which took longer than you would think they would to arrive, then we went over the specials with our waiter, Patrick, and asked to have a few minutes before we ordered. We enjoyed our drinks for a while and Patrick returned, we placed our orders. We were able to flag Patrick down so we could order another round of drinks. It took quite a while before our second drinks came, actually, after the salads we ordered had arrived.
The food was good and well presented, we had the veal, the trio mix, the filet and the stuffed mahi. However, by the time you get 4 drinks, 4 waters, 4 bread plates, 4 dinner plates and silverware on the table, it is quite cramped.
After our meals were finished, our friends ordered coffees, which they said tasted burned, and they did not drink. We should have mentioned this to Patrick, however, by this time, we are ready to head out.
We don't mind paying a little extra for dinners out, but this experience wasn't worth what we paid. Not sure if the waiters are overworked, or if they have tables in different locations that takes their attention away from one area or the other, but at some points we felt forgotten.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keysin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not worth the high prices.”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate at this quaint little restaurant this evening. We were greeted by a friendly hostess who asked us if we had reservations. When we told her no, she seemed a little surprised but promptly found us a table in the not-so-busy restaurant. Within an hour, I could understand why reservations would have been a good idea...the place became packed very quickly. There is a very limited amount of seating.
Now, on to the meal. The very first thing I noticed when I sat down were the ridiculous prices in the menu. I don't think there was a single meal under $27.00. Our waiter was very helpful and professional despite how busy he was with other tables. The meal was good. Not outstanding, but good nonetheless. For the price of the food, I expect more.
We probably will not return because we can find a better meal for half the price at other restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daf21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible seating, overly raw steak, crabcakes come with the shell pieces inside!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Called for reservations for 5 people. Arrived on time and were seated next to the front door (35° outside) and had a great view of the entire kitchen operation. Placed our orders and the waitress came back to tell us the sides we ordered were "86'd". It was 7pm and they opeded at 5....must have had a run on sweet potatoes at 6. My short ribs came out spongy and raw (had to be sent back to the kitchen. Three people at the table ordered crab cakes and they ALL had shells in every other bite. The fifth meal was a veal dish and it was bland to say the least. We requested more rolls and were brought a basket with 2 rolls in it for 5 people. Definitely will not return....not worth the $200.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank batallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Deposit
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5-STARS all the way! Highly recommended”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I've tried this twice so far and was impressed both times. Service was excellent, food was wonderful and perfect, decor was elegant and friendly. It was the first time EVER from all my dining experiences, that the chef actually comes out and greets us personally, what a treat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DesM831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BackFin Blues Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to BackFin Blues Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing