We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Prince Frederick
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice place to stay. The room and amenities were nice. Bed an pillows were comfy. Bathroom was clean and up-to-date. Our only complaint was that the noise from other room and halls was easily heard. We were both woke up in the middle of the night by noise from next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNSNOWBIRD1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just an average hotel, but to be honest there isn't much choice in the area. Stayed one night for a fossil collecting trip on the Western Chesapeake with my son and his friend. The reception person was friendly and we checked in quickly. I had trouble with the key card. I think it took me 4 times to get the door to open.I went down to reception and got a new key card and she told me there was a "trick" to open the door. This should be fixed. The room has a slightly musty smell,however, it was clean. The musty odor went away when I turned on the AC. Beds were comfy, but it seemed a mishmosh of furniture and finishes - like left overs from different decorators. No big deal for this particular stay, just an observation. Breakfast was nothing to write home about. The coffee was very weak -- barely coffee. The price was right for my needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Prince Frederick, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Denise L,

Thank you for your feedback. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The room was spacious, modern & comfortable...very reasonably priced. We had a king sized bed on the first floor just across from the breakfast area, easily accessed from parking area & lobby.

Truthfully, my only "issue" was the Wi-Fi connectivity...unreliable.

Room Tip: first floor room near lobby is subject to loud/noisy guests coming & going...but this can be sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The reception was average and I felt I was "another one" coming in. Where was the warm welcome? The room was clean, the bed was not very comfortable and the pillow need to be removed and replaced with comfortable ones. The breakfast was not very good. Where were the waffles, the good fruits?? The fruit basket had one green banana and that was it!!! I asked for a different one and I was told that the others were greener!!!! They need to work on their staff as well to make us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Higher floor and back of the hotel. The front of the hotel faces a highway that is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savytrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Prince Frederick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Savytrotter,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the the staff as well as the breakfast. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention as they will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The staff were nice and helpful at check-in. Lobby was not as clean as it should have been. (someone track mud in the night before and was still there the next day). Room was clean and smelled Okay. The light in the ceiling as you go in was broken and dropping pieces of broken glass on the floor. Lights in bathroom would flicker for 30 or 40 minutes. Plenty of hot water and pressure. Very nice soaps, shampoo and other toiletries. NOT made in China ! ! Breakfast was more than I expected. Biscuits and gravy, bacon, eggs, pancakes freshly made, lots of coffee and juices. The "free" newspaper was two days old. Indoor pool was 'Out of Order" and I was not aware of this when the reservation was made. All in all it was decent for the price.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing Route 4. Parking lot is lit better on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbaflavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

There aren't a lot of choices in Prince Frederick. The Holiday Inn Express features modern, clean rooms with fridge and microwave, free wifi, and decent breakfast buffet. Not the place to go for a romantic weekend away, but a very good value for a business trip when you need a comfortable room and a good place to work.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

If you are planning a visit to Calvert County during the peak months of tourist season, you may want to avoid staying right near the beaches. Prince Frederick, where this hotel is located, is centrally located and the county is small enough that everything is a remarkably short drive (about 25 or 30 miles at best from the furthest attractions).

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but this was a nice, well kept hotel. The rooms were nicely decorated - a little less boring than the usual Holiday Inn decor. The only room available to us was handicap accessible, and it seemed to us that the hotel did a very good job of trying to provide the necessary accommodations for those who need assistance in getting around. For example, the main room and bathroom were spacious enough for wheelchair access. There are support bars and lowered closet space, as well.

The hotel comes with a very small fitness center (3 or 4 machines) and indoor pool. The pool closes earlier than the fitness center, so be sure to check times if you intend to use them. Room rates also include a complimentary breakfast which is served restaurant style in the main lobby, and includes both numerous hot and cold food options (eggs, sausages, pancakes, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, yogurts, coffee, juice, tea, etc.).

The rates seem a bit high given the area, but overall, it is a nice hotel. And, like I said, it is just so easy to get around to see everything else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prince Frederick
11.1 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederick
SpringHill Suites Prince Frederi...
#1 of 3 in Prince Frederick
128 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
16.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
15.5 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Prince Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Prince Frederick

Address: 355 Merrimac Ct, P.O. Box 2669, Prince Frederick, MD 20678-4110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Calvert County > Prince Frederick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prince Frederick
Price Range: £73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Prince Frederick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Prince Frederick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Prince Frederick Hotel Prince Frederick
Holiday Inn Prince Frederick
Prince Frederick Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing