We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful spot for readers and eastern shore exploration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princess Anne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Reston, Virginia
1 review
“A peaceful spot for readers and eastern shore exploration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

My boyfriend found this place on the internet for a birthday getaway for me one winter and since then we have been repeat guests! We have busy jobs in DC and also happen to be avid readers and book collectors as a hobby so the idea of a booklovers b&b really intrigued us - and one can find the literary theme throughout the inn. I love the colorful cafe colette where breakfast is served and where you can also sit for a cup of tea in the afternoon or early evening to read or write. Princess Anne makes a good base for exploring nearby towns or taking a day trip to Chincoteauge/beaches - the friendly hosts will provide you with ideas for things you can do. If the weather is less favorable for outdoor pursuits, check out the very comfortable reading chair in the Mark Twain room! This place is also a safe and relaxing spot for individual travelers (I have visited on my own too).

Room Tip: The inn has three rooms - the Jane Austin is the largest and most romantic - and it features a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    4
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
34
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I am so sad to have not had the opportunity to return to this sweet B & B. I arrived on a rainy night and rather than send me out into town, the hosts invited me to join them for dinner! When my computer wasn't working, they lent me theirs! Beyond the obviously generous hospitality, I loved my room and my delicious breakfast. I am hoping to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at the Alexander House B and B on July 22, 2012 and were disappointed by both the extensive rules and regulations involved and the lack of the advertised “gourmet breakfast”. We didn’t post a review at first, but contacted the owners with our concerns. After several emails back and forth, they said we were “venting”. We still didn’t submit a review, in order to give the hosts a chance to make adjustments. It has now been over a month since then and we noticed that a subsequent reviewer experienced the same breakfast situation and that the Alexander House website still promises a “gourmet breakfast”. That is why we decided to submit this review.

As a Bed and Breakfast, the Alexander House carries off the Bed part very well, but falls down badly on the Breakfast part.

Instead of a “gourmet breakfast”, or even a cooked one, we encountered a do-it-yourself buffet of cold English muffins and waffle sections laid out in sandwich bags next to a toaster, along with some fruit, yogurt, and cereal. It was breakfast, but more motel than gourmet. Of course, there is no law that a B and B has to serve a breakfast that is actually cooked, but that is what we’ve always experienced elsewhere and what the “gourmet breakfast” mentioned on the website and many of the reviews seemed to promise.

After we had paid and checked in, our hostess mentioned in passing that breakfast would be laid out and a menu posted. The next morning the menu turned out to be a list of the items on the table and in the fridge. There was nothing that could be ordered and no one in the dining room but us. When we complained of the breakfast later, they replied that this was a one-time event due to the hostess’s recent operation, but also indicated that breakfast had been served that way all summer. Either way, it would have been better to have been told this before we checked in. Since a subsequent reviewer complained of the same problem, we know it is still being done.

Our rating reflects our disappointment at the motel-type do-it-yourself breakfast. People choose a B&B for a time to relax. They can cook their own breakfast at home.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GBducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizalex, Owner at Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
We have been trying out a summer breakfast buffet because of frequent guest feedback saying they wanted a light and cool breakfast, not a heavy cooked one in the summer. And many wanted a self serve to get out early for outdoor activities in the summer, and not need to come down at a certain time for a cooked breakfast.. Since we ourselves have enjoyed these type of buffet breakfasts at many inns, we offered this for the summer. We have received many positive comments from other guests regarding the buffet breakfast. We currently offer large Belgian waffles (not frozen) and crepes with fruit toppings, breads, muffins, bagels, cooked eggs, pastries, fresh fruits, a variety of yogurts, apple sauce, juices, coffee and teas.

We have this summer breakfast described in detail on our website and in other b an b paid listings such as I Love Inns and Bed and Breakfast.com. We cannot control what people have written on Trip Advisor regarding breakfasts in the past and how they differ from current breakfast offerings, this is not our advertising.

That said, we’ll be returning to a more traditional breakfast soon.

The “extensive regulations” referred to are to keep the front doors locked and to store foods in the fridge.

Interesting note: The reviewer above took the time to write in the room journal, “We had a great stay on ---birthday. We had an enjoyable time, and that can be taken literally!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I was so excited to be staying at the Alexander House. As a booklover and a fan of quaint B&B's, it sounded just perfect. The problem was for our entire stay, something was "off". Our experience did not match the advertising on the website nor the reviews here. Perhaps something changed in 2012 (last review here was dated 2011), but there was no "full gourmet breakfast". Just some toast, yogurt, and frozen waffles. Cordials at night? Nowhere to be found. The home is beautiful, and the owner was kind and pleasant to us, but our stay was disappointing. Not sure if the changes are due to the owners looking to sell the inn or not, but I would check details and inquire about specifics when you call to reserve.

Room Tip: All rooms require navigating an old staircase to the 2nd floor. Not difficult, but worth being aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifesatrip1966, Owner at Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Sorry your experience was not typical of most of our guests who rave about the inn.

We verbally mentioned a summer breakfast buffet at the time of booking with this person's partner who made the booking. It is also mentioned on the website and on the confirmation sent to them.
There were cordials out on the buffet, if they did not see them, all they needed to do was ring the innkeeper bell and ask where they were.

Clearly there was some lack of communication with between the guests, and a with us during the stay regarding the cordials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My sister and I spent a Saturday a night in the Langston Hughes Room at this cozy B and B dedicated to authors with a Jane Austen Room and a Mark Twain reading room. We had a fascinating group of people to talk with, including the enjoyable hosts who joined us for a Chinese carry-out meal in the inn's dining room. There is also a wrap around porch to ralax on and hear the fountains bubbling outside. Then price was most reasonable and the Crepes for breakfast were fine. A nice touch was Sherry served in the evening before bedtime.

Room Tip: I only saw the one room but it had a good private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ydna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We discovered the Alexander House Booklovers Bed & Breakfast when we were looking for a get-away place near beaches and places to sail. I was immediately charmed. They only have three rooms so it's important to book ahead on holiday weekends.

We've stayed in all three rooms: the Langston Hughes, Jane Austin and Robert Lewis Stevenson. This time we stayed in RLS because the others were sold out by the time we reserved in July.

Liz made delicious omelets on Saturday and Monday, and fresh fruit and yogurt crepes with bananas and walnuts on Sunday. So yummy! The rooms are just charming and even though I've stayed there before, I always notice another little touch of decoration.

The RLS has his illustrated poems hung throughout - each room is modeled after the writer in an intriguing way. The beds have comfy memory foam and down pillows/comforter. Everything you need is there: hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner -- we even got a free sample of Oil of Olay regenerist!

All day in the dining room there is bottled water, fresh fruit, and tea. Brownies or cookies are provided in the afternoon and Sherry or cordials at night. I generally bring books but then wind up browsing their library and getting into something else. In the evening we played scrabble--there are several games to choose from.

Liz and Peter printed out weather information for our sailing trip and directions to Assateague Beach and Harris Crab house for another couple. They go out of their way to make your stay nice and take care of everything.

It's just so relaxing and well-run -- and really affordable too. You feel pampered from the moment you arrive. This is the first time I've recommend a hotel on trip advisor -- that's how great I think this place is! i'm looking forward to going back with my sister who is a big Jane Austin fan - and I've already reserved the Langston Hughes room for Labor Day weekend 2012 - if you are lucky to get one of the other rooms, I'll see you there! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

After moving away from Somerset County MD and back to the Philadelphia PA area, I came back to visit with friends.. Decided to treat myself to something different and chose to stay at Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast.. So glad I did!! The rooms are gorgeous! Stayed in the Jane Austen suite and the claw foot tub is wonderful.. Comfortable bed.. luxurious everything!
Elizabeth is a wonderful hostess .. The breakfasts out of this world.. Coffee in the morning on the porch so relaxing... Felt like a princess!
Thank You so much for the wonderful stay! Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princess Anne
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salisbury/Fruitland
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
12.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
14.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 30535 Linden Ave, Princess Anne, MD 21853-1131
Region: United States > Maryland > Princess Anne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Princess Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander House Booklovers' Bed & Breakfast is a literary-themed inn located in the quaint historic district of Princess Anne on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. The colorful Queen Anne Victorian features authors' portraits, dramatic colors and whimsical literary details throughout.Each room offers a creative interpretation of a famous author's own room in his or her time. Revel in the romance of Regency England in the Jane Austen Room. Immerse yourself in the jazzy Harlem Renaissance of the Langston Hughes Room; or a 19th-century high seas adventure in the Robert Louis Stevenson Room. Relax with a book from our eclectic library in the Mark Twain Library and Parlor. Partake of a hearty breakfast, afternoon tea or evening liqueur in the charmingly French Cafe Colette. All rooms have private bathrooms. Enjoy a relaxing stroll through the historic district of Princess Anne, teeming with lovingly preserved historic homes from the Colonial, Federal and Victorian eras. Walk to the nearby Teackle Mansion for a tour of one of Maryland's beautiful historic manses, then meander along the water in Manokin River Park. Take a walk down the quaint main street--featuring antique, coffee and gift shops, eateries.Local events include the annual Chesapeake Celtic Festival on the first weekend in October, (see link on local sights page) and the Annual Skipjack Races on Labor Day Weekend (local events link). Olde Princess Anne Days is celebrated in October with home and garden tours, carriage rides, street fair and more. Click on the Calendar of Events link on the Local Sights page for more annual events.Nestled between the beach (Atlantic) and the Bay (Chesapeake), nearby nature attractions include Assateague and Chincoteague (35 minute drive), where you can share the pristine, natural seashore with wild ponies. Or for some really wild night life, there's always Ocean City, a 30 minute drive away. Within minutes of various wildlife sanctuaries, rivers, waterways and marshes, where hundreds of bird species can be observed. Kayak and canoe rentals are available on the Pocomoke River or the Tangier Sound (opening to the Bay). A ferry boat ride away are Smith Island and Tangier Islands, where Colonial English/Cornish dialects are still spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing