We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wye Aspen”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wye River, A Dolce Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at the Houghton House property and had a great experience at the conference hotel. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and pampered. The grounds are beautiful. The food was out of this world...try the hot mustard barbecue sauce!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ST2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was recently here for a conference. The property is beautiful especially that it was October and the leaves were wonderful fall colors. I think that as a retreat location it is fine but for a meeting with people traveling from across the country it is far removed. I had come into BWI and then took a $160 cab ride to the location. Once you are there...you are there and there is no getting off the property even for a good cup of coffee. The staff was helpful and very polite. But I rather hold meetings in locations that are easy to get to and give you options.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Letipeguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, Guest Services at Wye River, A Dolce Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our beautiful setting. We do understand that our location is not suited for all types of meetings, but for retreats we are very popular. As a group only conference center, we are utilized by Meeting Planners that wants a distraction free environment, allowing their attendees to focus on the meeting content, and not be distracted by the attractions often found in an urban setting.
-Aspen Wye River Conference Centers
Managed by Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great location...right on the Wye River. Beautiful property. Wish I could buy it and update all of the hotel rooms. Outdated, cold, bugs in the rooms. The conference rooms and staff were great. With some work, this could be an exceptional property. I have so many ideas for this place now that it's for sale.

Room Tip: Ask if they have heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FredandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, Guest Services at Wye River, A Dolce Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location on the Wye River. It appears that you stayed at the Wye Woods campus of our conference centers. This campus was the first portion of our property to be utilized for conferences, and as such, the oldest. This section is now permanently closed. Our two remaining campuses, The Houghton House, and The River House are beautiful properties which are very conducive to high level conferences. There are pictures of these campuses on this site. We hope that you will return and visit us sometime in the future.
-Aspen Wye River Conference Centers
Managed by Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed in the conference area by the late that had separate groups of cabin like rooms (299 i think was the address). The Russian (receptionist and others were very helpful and polite), but business people expect ice and cold drinks available for their meetings, etc. and so forth. There was no drink machines, ice, or alcohol available at most times. The nearest town or store of any type was around 8 miles away. This could be a nice secluded place for a meeting, if they took care of these things a bit better. (again, I don't think it was the staff, but they have a bit of work to do) Put some refrigerators in the rooms or something !!!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, Guest Services at Wye River, A Dolce Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for the nice comments about our staff! Changes have been made in our property since you were here. The section of the property you stayed in, Wye Woods, is now permanently closed. The two remaining sections of our property, The River House, and Houghton House are much newer, and ideal for retreats and conferences. We are a group only conference center, and only offer Complete Meeting Packages (CMP). These packages always include unlimited soft drinks and snacks, available in the public break areas at each location 24 hours a day. We are sorry that you were not directed to this area while you were at Wye Woods. We hope you will return and visit us sometime in the future for an upcoming group function.
-Aspen Wye River Conference Centers
Managed by Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
10.0 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
15.9 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
11.4 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
24.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wye River, A Dolce Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye River, A Dolce Conference Center

Address: 600 Aspen Dr, Queenstown, MD 21658-1507 (Formerly Aspen Wye River Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Queenstown
Hotel Class:4 star — Wye River, A Dolce Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wye River Conference Center consists of two unique campuses located along the tranquil Wye River, just minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Bridge on Maryland’s Eastern Shore. Each campus of our group only conference facility specializes in conferences, meetings and events, catering to the needs of professional meeting and event planners. With all-inclusive pricing that includes overnight accommodations, all meals, breaks, conference space, and wireless internet, our expert staff ensures that no detail is overlooked. Our sales specialists will help you select the campus that is right for your group. Regardless of which conference facility you select, our remote and private location will ensure your group a secure, exclusive, and productive event. Our central mid-Atlantic location is ideal, just 50 miles from both Washington, DC and Baltimore, MD., and 100 miles from Philadelphia, PA. Use our onsite helipad, or land your private jet at Easton Newnam Field, just 20 minutes by car form our center. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing