We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”
Review of Slack Winery

Slack Winery
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Ridge
Attraction details
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Slack is a great place to drink a bottle of wine. They have tons of chairs so you can sit out by the water and relax with your wine. They frequently have live music on weekends which is a nice touch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BorkGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Friendly Owners & Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The picturesque setting of this winery, combined with its friendly owners, make this place a "must visit" if you are in southern Maryland or looking for a day trip within a couple hours of Baltimore or DC. The wine tasting was fun and we purchased several different types. The view at sunset over the water is spectacular.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultimate Relaxation”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

What a great way to spend an afternoon with friends. A very quiet setting on the water with great wines. We did the tasting and there was not a single wine that even gave me pause. I'm not normally a fan of white or sweeter wines but Slack is an exception. Perfect place to do a tasting and then buy a bottle to enjoy while sitting on the lawn by the water. We became wine club members on the spot and will surely enjoy the events and more great wines in the future.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CRisor747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte Hall, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wine with a charming setting”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Slack Winery is definitely a diamond in the rough. After purchasing a livingsocial voucher, I visited on a Saturday afternoon and had a tasting in "the pines." There was a wedding that day in the main house of Woodlawn but the rustic setting was perfect. The owner was a delight to speak with and the cheese and crackers offered were a nice compliment. She even encouraged us to grab a table as she would come to your table with each tasting. There were even a couple of new reds they had just unveiled and they were delicious! I will definitely return for the great wine, atmosphere, and hopefully a peek at Woodlawn!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarylandGirl_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the wines very much and the owner was wonderful”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice tasting room - beautiful Woodlawn property overlooking Calverts Creek - very welcoming !We enjoyed the whites and got a bottle to have while strolling the grounds and relaxing in the chairs overlooking the water - a lovely, relaxing spot. And Jim the owner was very interesting and interested. He and his family are very passionate about this area in Maryland, Woodlawn and Slack winery. It was wonderful listening to the story behind it all. We will be back !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank conway48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slack Winery also viewed

 

Been to Slack Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing