We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway Gem - Very short drive from DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlawn Historic B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Ridge B&B and Inns
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway Gem - Very short drive from DC”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a weekend getaway very short drive from DC and I found 'The Woodland Inn' listed online as one of the best B&B's in this area. The place lives upto its expectations in every way. First of all the staff is exceptionally helpful. We were welcomed by Jean who gave us a tour of the area. I had a dreadful headache by the time I reached there and Jim was extremely nice to offer some coffee. It instantly made me feel better. We spent rest of the evening overlooking the lake and enjoying the secluded and charming surroundings. We stayed in the Magnolia cottage which was perfect was just the two of us. It even had a jacuzzi to relax after. You cannot stay outdoors after late evening because of bugs. We had a full breakfast (fritata, sausages) next morning and headed out for kayaking. They provide complimentary kayaks and canoes which we took out onto the creek. We kayaked all the way to the opposite end which has a small stretch of beach accessible only via the creek. Its absoutely beautiful as there is no one else there and so you have the small beach all to yourself. Before we said our goodbyes we tasted some sample wines from their winery and bought home a lovely Rose. Overall it was the best B&B we have stayed in and our 1st choice for a quick weekend getaway from DC

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arundhati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
57
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We just returned from a family member's wedding held at Woodlawn. The pictures of this place do not begin to do it justice. It was absolutely beautiful. My husband and I were given the Magnolia Cottage, which was rustic, full of character, and clean. It had a great view of the water!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegetablegardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were in desperate need of a quiet, relaxed weekend and this fit the bill completely. Gracious, welcoming host, comfortable room, lovely views over the creek, yummy breakfast. Close to Lookout Point (walked on the beach and picked up sea glass) and Historic St. Mary's City. Wonderful to start or end your day sitting on the lawn or the dock and watch the heron and osprey. Ate great seafood at Courtney's and Spinnaker's in Ridge and had lunch at a French bistro (Cafe Artiste) in Leonardtown. Enjoyed talking with Jim & Maggie about wine and travel as they prepared breakfast.

We stayed in the River Cottage. We put pillows against the door separating our cottage from the Pineapple Cottage to block out the sound of their TV. Luckily they didn't stay up late. Wished for a hairdryer and a coffee maker, but not a big deal.

We definitely look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: All cottages have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I went on one of our little mystery tours (short getaways), this time to southern maryland around Point Lookout. We had a lovely day and we decided to try to find a place to stay. We had not booked ahead and we just showed up at Woodlawn Farm and, thank goodness, Jim, the proprietor (along with his wife, Maggie), had one room available. We feel so lucky to have found Woodlawn Farm which is right on Calvert Creek and Calvert Bay. Jim welcomed us warmly and gave us such a large and beautiful room in their gorgeously restored 17th-century mansion. We spent Sat. evening looking at the water and the stars. So quiet and peaceful. We caught the dramatic pink and blue sky as the sun rose outside of our room this morning. We walked a bit of the 200-acre farm afterward, picked figs and went to a yummy and fresh breakfast made by Jim. He even had "secret-recipe" pancakes. They have a lot of music events and wine tastings as well though we missed these. We give Woodlawn our highest praise. We'll be back. --Martha and Bernie

Room Tip: We loved the room that faced east--sunrise. The room in the back faces the water which we think woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Serendipity strikes again and how lucky we are! This is a beautiful, comfortable place to stay and the proprietors are so wonderful! We will definitely go back and hope to hold a family reunion there as well. They have kayaks and canoes to use, a large lawn for games and a stellar wine tasting room where you can taste their very own wines. Also, there are many things to do within a 30 minute drive, all interesting. AND the breakfast was yummy and filling, with a great cup of coffee and fresh squeezed? orange juice. Best B&B experience we've had! Can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage-all three of which look to the water-spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is just the place for folks searching for some breathing room.You reach the historic Woodlawn mansion from an impressively long driveway which is surrounded by fields of grapes and soy. Our comfortable,roomy (Sunflower) cottage was situated so it had a water view,but was still close to the mansion.The kayaks were placed close to the shoreline making it easy to get into the calm waters. Watch animals like crabs and herons during the day and star gaze at night.
As folks who are interested in historic preservation, we appreciate the experience to be in a house with so much history. Jim, Jean,and Dave were all interesting in their own ways and helped us learn more about the home and the area. Lovely!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeVaLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I surprised my wife for our wedding anniversary with an overnight stay at Woodlawn in the middle of the week. I was a hero. What a wonderful place. I hesitated to write a review because I'd prefer that no one know about this place and the wonderful hosts, so I will always be able to find a room there when we definitely return. Stunning views; gorgeous property; beautiful inlet from the Potomac to paddle around in and enjoy the views (including 2 bald eagles swooping down to catch fish); friendly, helpful, generous, charming hosts. Terrific local wine from the Slack winery, also run by the energetic hosts. Just a wonderful gem of a place. Please don't go there next August in the middle of the week, because I'm going to need a room, preferably the Calvert Suite in the main house, which is practically perfect in every way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homer036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridge
6.1 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
184 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
397 reviews
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
12.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Lexington Park - Pax River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlawn Historic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Historic B&B

Property: The Woodlawn Historic B&B
Address: Woodlawn Lane, Ridge, MD
Region: United States > Maryland > Ridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Historic Hotel Ridge
The Woodlawn Historic Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing