We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing country getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlawn Historic B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Ridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Woodlawn after coming across a livingsocial deal. Our hosts Jim and Maggie were very warm and friendly and made us feel as if we had known them for many years. They take pride in their winery (yellowlegs was our favorite!) and the winetasting (which turned into many glasses of our favorite wine overlooking the creek) was a wonderful welcome.

As for the immediate area there was nearly nothing to do although point lookout park was a nice drive. On our second day we ran into Maggie and she gave us the recommendation to visit the town Solomons as well as flags pond nature park about a 30-40 min drive. The park was really nice with a beautiful beach and a few hiking trails which were a lot of fun. The town was right on the water with restaurants, bars and shops.

We stayed in the magnolia cottage which appeared to be recently renovated with a very comfortable queen bed and its own private bath. However, being in the wilderness by a creek we were joined by some spiders and crickets. Breakfast was a simple but tasty continental spread in a lovely room within the main house overlooking the creek. All in all the highlight of the trip was the beautiful property and the hospitality of our hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELG6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff is very nice and friendly. We enjoyed the live music and the wine. The rooms were clean and lots of space. The view is GREAT. I don't think they adviserise it enough. Don't expect a large breakfast. It is a few miles from "town" but we didn't find it a problem.

Room Tip: Great view of the water. Make sure that you turn the A/C down before you leave your room. The air do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodieyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were able to stay with Jim and Tucker for two days in the middle of the week, the accommodations were exceptional. The grounds were immaculate, we had a nice evening walk, while strolling down the 3/4 mile long driveway we were met by 5 deer who were napping in the wheat field, an osprey protecting her nest and a turtle who was emulating a chicken and crossing the road. Our The River Cottage Suite was perfect for us with privicy and great views of the water and wheat field. We had a lovely breakfast watching Great blue heron and osprey also looking for their breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a weekend getaway very short drive from DC and I found 'The Woodland Inn' listed online as one of the best B&B's in this area. The place lives upto its expectations in every way. First of all the staff is exceptionally helpful. We were welcomed by Jean who gave us a tour of the area. I had a dreadful headache by the time I reached there and Jim was extremely nice to offer some coffee. It instantly made me feel better. We spent rest of the evening overlooking the lake and enjoying the secluded and charming surroundings. We stayed in the Magnolia cottage which was perfect was just the two of us. It even had a jacuzzi to relax after. You cannot stay outdoors after late evening because of bugs. We had a full breakfast (fritata, sausages) next morning and headed out for kayaking. They provide complimentary kayaks and canoes which we took out onto the creek. We kayaked all the way to the opposite end which has a small stretch of beach accessible only via the creek. Its absoutely beautiful as there is no one else there and so you have the small beach all to yourself. Before we said our goodbyes we tasted some sample wines from their winery and bought home a lovely Rose. Overall it was the best B&B we have stayed in and our 1st choice for a quick weekend getaway from DC

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arundhati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We just returned from a family member's wedding held at Woodlawn. The pictures of this place do not begin to do it justice. It was absolutely beautiful. My husband and I were given the Magnolia Cottage, which was rustic, full of character, and clean. It had a great view of the water!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegetablegardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were in desperate need of a quiet, relaxed weekend and this fit the bill completely. Gracious, welcoming host, comfortable room, lovely views over the creek, yummy breakfast. Close to Lookout Point (walked on the beach and picked up sea glass) and Historic St. Mary's City. Wonderful to start or end your day sitting on the lawn or the dock and watch the heron and osprey. Ate great seafood at Courtney's and Spinnaker's in Ridge and had lunch at a French bistro (Cafe Artiste) in Leonardtown. Enjoyed talking with Jim & Maggie about wine and travel as they prepared breakfast.

We stayed in the River Cottage. We put pillows against the door separating our cottage from the Pineapple Cottage to block out the sound of their TV. Luckily they didn't stay up late. Wished for a hairdryer and a coffee maker, but not a big deal.

We definitely look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: All cottages have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I went on one of our little mystery tours (short getaways), this time to southern maryland around Point Lookout. We had a lovely day and we decided to try to find a place to stay. We had not booked ahead and we just showed up at Woodlawn Farm and, thank goodness, Jim, the proprietor (along with his wife, Maggie), had one room available. We feel so lucky to have found Woodlawn Farm which is right on Calvert Creek and Calvert Bay. Jim welcomed us warmly and gave us such a large and beautiful room in their gorgeously restored 17th-century mansion. We spent Sat. evening looking at the water and the stars. So quiet and peaceful. We caught the dramatic pink and blue sky as the sun rose outside of our room this morning. We walked a bit of the 200-acre farm afterward, picked figs and went to a yummy and fresh breakfast made by Jim. He even had "secret-recipe" pancakes. They have a lot of music events and wine tastings as well though we missed these. We give Woodlawn our highest praise. We'll be back. --Martha and Bernie

Room Tip: We loved the room that faced east--sunrise. The room in the back faces the water which we think woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Woodlawn Historic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Historic B&B

Address: Woodlawn Lane, Ridge, MD
Region: United States > Maryland > Ridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ridge
Price Range: £93 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Historic Hotel Ridge
The Woodlawn Historic Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing