We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Destination and Retreat, not just a place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlawn Historic B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Ridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Our experience mirrors all of the other complimentary reviews on this site including those highlighting the gracious host, Jim Grube, and the excellent breakfasts that are served.

While there are many excellent places nearby to visit, Woodlawn itself qualifies as a worthwhile destination with all of its 180 acres. The cottage rooms are very comfortable and almost all have their own decks with views of the water. There's a nice shade tree to sit under in between the back of the historic, 210 year old house and the bay that also affords a view of the Potomac River in the distance. To be even closer to the water one can walk out on (or place chairs on) the T-shaped dock that extends out over the water. We also noted that a canoe and an open topped kayak were available for used by the quests.

Finally, no stay would be complete without a visit to a nearby authentic, small, local restaurant called Courtney’s that is located right on the water about a mile or two away. The aged external appearance of Courtney’s is more than made up for by the fantastic quality of the daily caught fresh fish served within.

My wife and I definitely highly recommend a visit to Woodlawn.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chris_of_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2008

Plan a romantic weekend or a girls' getaway to Woodlawn Farm historic B&B. You won't be disappointed. A meticulously renovated late 1700s waterfront home with glorious views on the water, beautifully appointed rooms and guesthouses, delicious breakfasts and a very personable innkeeper make for a memorable trip to historic southern Maryland near St. Mary's City.

From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen a special place. Soak in the views and solitude with your morning coffee on your own guesthouse deck or in a rocking chair on the front lawn of the main house or relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day. Extremely comfortable beds, luxurious towels, and all the amenities of home make your stay one to remember. Our breakfasts consisted of delectable quiches, French toast, pancakes, sausage, sweet melon and good strong coffee. Take a cruise to Smith Island from Pt. Lookout during the summer, visit historic Sotterley Plantation or St. Mary's City, take a quick trip to Solomon's Island or just relax with a book at Woodlawn and you'll feel refreshed and relaxed. We hope to return in the colder months to enjoy the warm fire in the kitchen area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suemonty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Woodlawn Critique for Trip Advisor

Our visit to Woodlawn began as we turned onto Woodlawn Lane, the private road that travels through acres of gently swaying wheat fields to the Manor House.

Jim Grube, our gracious host, met us as we parked our car and showed us to the River Suite. The suite is one of four in a building located near the manor house. A flagstone walk led up to a brick walkway shaded by an overhead trellis that was covered with gorgeous pink roses (see photo) and a private outside entrance. The front door opened into a large “common room” which had walls of windows each affording a beautiful view of the river and/or grounds. The common room consisted of a dining area with a table and four chairs, a kitchen equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, dishes, and silverware; and a pleasant sitting area with a loveseat that converted into a single bed, an easy chair, and a TV.

The bedroom had a large walk-in closet and sliding glass doors that opened onto a deck boasting a beautiful view of the grounds and river.

For those who love the charm of a historic home, the manor house has two lovely suites on the second floor. Each suite has a fireplace, a modern bath, and a private sitting room with a fireplace.

Breakfast was served in the common room at the manor house at a time convenient for us. The common room has a wall of glass windows that overlook a spectacular view of the river. Jim, our host, prepared some of the most delicious breakfasts we’ve ever eaten and provided us with interesting stories and conversation.

Woodlawn’s website is comprehensive and well done (www.woodlawn-farm.com), but no website could do justice to the beauty that surrounds you at Woodlawn.

The things we liked:

· Cordial host
· Charm and history of the plantation and manor house
· Tranquility
· Beautiful setting and grounds
· Lovely views of the grounds and river
· Spacious accommodations
· Delicious breakfasts
· Well-supplied suite, i.e. kitchen, ironing board & iron, hairdryer
· No steps to climb to access the suite
· All the amenities you find in a 5-star hotel but with the charm of a lovely, well-run B&B.

We had such a terrific visit that we’ve already booked a visit for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

This B&B is located near historic St. Mary's City, the first capital of Maryland. St. Mary's City is fun to visit, with lots of history and guides in period costume who do living history presentations throughout the city. The farm is also near St. Mary's College of Maryland, and is a great place to stay if your have a son or daughter at the college, which is how I discovered it.

Woodlawn has some very nice suites that are adjacent to the manor house, and they only occasionally rent out the rooms in the manor house itself. The suites are in very nicely decorated outbuldings with all the modern conveniences. Visit their website (browse Woodlawn Farm) to see the different suites that are available. Breakfast is served in the Great Room in the manor house, which has a gorgeous view of the water. If you have time to relax, you will usually spot at least one great blue heron, and you may also see some osprey, egrets and other water birds.

The location is idyllic and Woodlawn has an excellent service orientation -- they want you to be happy and they remember you when you come back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryanne1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

This elegant farm overlooking the Potomac River is now being run as a first class B&B by its new owners Howie and Elizabeth O'Brien. The main house is on the National Register of Historic Places and was lovingly restored by a former owner. The 5 well equipped and spacious guest rooms are in a recently constructed annex just a few steps from the main house where a very tasty breakfast is served in a large country kitchen overlooking the river. The inn is midway between Point Lookout State Park and historic St. Mary's City. Highly recommended. (--)

1  Thank Maryland_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Woodlawn Historic B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Historic B&B

Address: Woodlawn Lane, Ridge, MD
Region: United States > Maryland > Ridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ridge
Price Range: £94 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Historic Hotel Ridge
The Woodlawn Historic Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing