We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like a good crab cake you can do a lot worse than the Calvert house.”
Review of Calvert House Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Calvert House Inn
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you like a good crab cake you can do a lot worse than the Calvert house.”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Was a little skeptical at first as no one was there at 6:30 Saturday night. However, things aren't always what they seem. We were greeted by our server who was articulate and attentive. We ordered oysters Rockefeller to start. The spinach topping was delicious and oysters were mediocre. My date order the crab cakes and I ordered the rockfish and one crabcake. The crab cakes were sweet and moist and very little filler. They were thick and delicious. The rockfish was cooked to perfection and also delicious. Both dinners came with a side and salad. We had the calcuminto salad which is cucumbers tomatoes onions in oil and vinegar dressing with a hint of lemon and mint. Very refreshing. The piano player added the final touch to and overall excellent dining experience. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lbldlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“thought it was closed”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We went here for dinner one night and the meal was tasty but it seemed quite expensive and there was a problem with seating us. Someone who said they would seat us disappeared and others thought we had been helped so we stood awhile waiting. We came back a few times for the karaoke night in the bar and it was fun for awhile. More recently whenever we would drive by, it looked like nobody was there/that it was empty. The bar waitress did a good job the times we were in the bar.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 22TangoSarasota_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden gem near UMD”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Dining here for 10 years, 3-4 times per year and have always been satisfied. Crab stuffed shrimp is my go to meal, but I tried the crab cake for a change and really enjoyed that. Friendly service, clean restaurant and bathrooms and reasonably priced. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice out-of-the-way place to dine”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The food is good. We like the menu selection, The service is good. This is a very nice place for a larger get together as well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HyattsvilleFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

After living in Hyattsville my whole life, and always wondering about the Calvert House, my boyfriend and I decided to give it a try today for lunch. We made a good choice!! The service was excellent but even more impressive was the prices!! I got a Cajun chicken pasta and was pleased to find they offered multi grain pasta noodles. The pasta sauce was delicious! Although the booths chairs were a little old and wierd to sit back in, the rest of the place was very cute. Great ambiance. We noticed a piano in the corner and were told that someone comes in to play Friday and Saturday nights. We look forward to going back for that one weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Itscassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calvert House Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing