We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay!”

The Black Duck Inn and Dockside Cafe
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rock Hall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Duck Inn and Dockside Cafe
Ranked #5 of 10 Rock Hall B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Stay!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were in Rock Hall for a wedding and stayed in the Carter room at the Black Duck Inn. The room was very nice and Kate made us feel very welcome. Great views and a good (included) breakfast at the cafe. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Carter room was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeypants08205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stopped in by boat for lunch. Met Kate and the staff felt like we were at home with friends within minutes. We ordered food but they did not take credit cards, the staff drove us up to the bank at rock hall. Kate made our order but also started bring out more "sampler" foods. everything was tastey. We did not want to leave but a storm coming in cut short a great day.
Thanks for all the fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is the third Inn where my wife and I have stayed over the last several years and the FIRST I felt strongly enough to write a review about! The Staff made sure we were well set and the room was outstanding and nice and cool...The bikes made getting around easy...and the Cafe was a totally exceptional surprise.....We had a friend join us there over the weekend and everything went so smoothly it was hard to imagine.....We WILL be back!! Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltime60
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Best in Rock Hall. Great location and docks for boats! Fun and friendly place to visit and the cafe was excellent. Never rushed. Superb location - we walked to all the pirates weekend activities. Never had to use the car!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltime60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our first time in Rock Hall and did we ever select the right place to stay. The inn is quaint but not over done and all the rooms (that we peaked into) were cozy and comfy. It was over 100 degrees and we were as cool a cukes in our room! Sitting out front on the screened in porch is almost too relaxing as the boats travel in the harbor and the blue herons are forever fishing around.

We rode the BDI bikes around town, and as Kate told us, we should be embarrassed if we found ourselves lost... she was correct, and of course loosing our way was not an option - it's a small town.

The place is great, breakfast basket served to our room...and the Dockside Cafe...well - just check it out!
We Will Be Back!

Room Tip: You check in if Kate is nearby, or, find your room and go have fun doing your thing. There are 2 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Kate is the best ever!!! She met us on the dock and helped us to dock our boat!! We got married in Chesapeake City Sat morning on our dock and motored to Rock Hall. She made us feel so special and welcome! The inn is just across a small street. PERFECT!! The rooms are and spotless!! She told us where to eat late lunch (Harbor Shack). Good food and great people. Plus it's a short walk just passed Watermans.
-----------------------------------------------------
That night we ate at "Bay Wolf". This was the only bad part of our perfect trip. This place should be avoided by all. We were wondering why it was empty on a Sat evening at 7:30. The food is terrible and the waitor acted like hates his job!
-----------------------------------------------------
After dinner we went back to Kate's dock! We sat out on our boat with a bottle of wine and listened to the music at the sailing dock! Again perfect!!
Kate invited us for breakfast at her Restaurant (Dockside Cafe)!!! It's located right on her dock. The food here is so yummy we will come back just for breakfast!
Kate, thank you so much for a great getaway. You have a great team and they have a awesome owner who really really loves what you all do together.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boopsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived by boat. Kate met us on the pier and pointed out our slip. We were made to feel welcome the moment we met Kate, LB, and another lady-sorry I don't remember her name. The Black Duck in is across the street from the Dock Side Cafe. It is a cute old converted home. The rooms are nice, have hardwood floors, and just a nice warm feeling. We had the Jacob room which was the smallest room and shared a hall bathroom with another room. Was a little concerned about sharing but it wasn't a big deal. We opened the windows at night and the bay breeze created a nice flow thru our room all night long-I like it cool when I sleep.

The value is exceptional considering all the little benefits and perks. The price for our room included the overnight boat slip, breakfast at the Dock Side Cafe the next morning and she has about 8-10 bikes that you can use at no additional charge. We took the bikes and rode into town, 1/2 mile away, and had ice cream at an old time parlor called Durdees or Dundees, something like that. Breakfast was much better than the traditional contenential breakfast. We had a choice of sun dried tomato or spinach and herb quiche, breakfast fruit or meat pizza, coffee cakes, yogurt, fruit drinks and nectars, endless coffee, tea and some other choices I can't remember. We ate the quiche but next time I want to try the breakfast pizzas. Two couple said they were outstanding. The cafe is open on 2 sides, has a 11 foot ceiling and you feel like your in a tropical island setting with the ladscaping and water only steps away from the covered dining area.

The town is small and you can walk or bike to almost anywhere you would want to go. We walked to Watermans (2 min) and had soft crab platters. We sat on the deck overlooking the marina and part of the harbor. The food was good and the band played lots of up-beat danceing or good listening tunes. Everyone was having a great time.

All in all a great Inn and great surroundings to while away the day or enjoy the town and harbor area. We will definately be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rock36662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Hall
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
11.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kent Island
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mariners Motel
Mariners Motel
#1 of 2 in Rock Hall
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haven Point Inn
Haven Point Inn
#4 of 10 in Rock Hall
15 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
#2 of 10 in Rock Hall
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Duck Inn and Dockside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Duck Inn and Dockside Cafe

Property: The Black Duck Inn and Dockside Cafe
Address: 21906 Chesapeake Ave, P.O. Box 249, Rock Hall, MD 21661
Region: United States > Maryland > Rock Hall
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rock Hall
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing