We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times”
Review of Bay Wolf

Bay Wolf
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Rock Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Galesville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun times”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went to the Pirates & Wenches festival in Rock Hall and one of our stops was at Bay Wolf. It has a small bar, restaurant area and outside patio areas both in front with picnic tables and out back with bar stools/tables. It was very crowded with festival-goers, but it was fun. Food was a little pricey, but tasted just fine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baygirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I am giving Bay Wolf a "very good" simply because the staff is outstanding. The food is above average, but it seems to be a bit hit or miss. I had the lobster bisque, which was absolutely loaded with giant hunks of lobster, but I also had the peppercorn filet and the beef was quite tough. The veggies were just veggies. Others at the table had the softshell crab and raved about them.

But the wait staff was delightful, funny, friendly and efficient. And the restaurant staff was very accommodating of our group of 9 who showed up without a reservation on a very busy weekend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stef4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Got to Rock Hall around 7:30 in the evening, not realizing that of the few restaurants open on Wednesday night (many are closed), most close at 8pm so that limited our choices. Decided to stop in here. While it's an old place with not much ambiance, the food was pretty good. My husband opted for lobster which was a good value at $19 - it was about 1.25lb lobster, included vegetables and potato. I had the fresh rockfish which had a nice flavor. A decent place considering our options. Server was pleasant and attentive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fourkids4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rock fish delight”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Dinner was warm and cozy. Waitress reccomended rock fish caught that day. Very good. Also had the Maryland Crab soup. Very tasty. A must eat restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Once a year treat”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our Coast Guard Auxiliary has an annual dinner here. Always good. The wiener schnitzel is good but not great...was spoiled by several weeks in Vienna.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank plaisaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Wolf also viewed

 

Been to Bay Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing