We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pork Wellington”
Review of The Kitchen at Rock Hall - CLOSED

The Kitchen at Rock Hall
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pork Wellington”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had heard this was a good restaurant. Went to try it out. Special was pork Wellington that night. Wow. My wife had the beef filet. Wow. We tried the chocolate bread pudding for desert...first time I have ever had chocolate bread pudding...didn't like it at all...not the chef's fault...I just don't like chocolate bread pudding. Others have raved. Service and atmosphere excellent. Have tried to get back there again, but things conspire to prevent it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plaisaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    19
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Late seating & special visit”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were on a sailing weekend and got there late on a Saturday evening. Hannah, our server, treated us like we were the first seating of the night. The scallops were very good and the chocolate bread pudding was the best I have had. Since we were one of the last groups to be served, the chef had a chance to come out to say hello and visit with us. All in all, a fabulous experience and gets our highest rating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best food in Rock Hall! Should receive Zagat Ratings!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The food is always amazing! The Chef creates an interesting menu which offers many items which will surprise you! We visited last weekend and had dinner there both nights. The "Special Appetizer" was the Fish Trio. A beautiful plate with Smoked Salmon strips, Smoked Trout spread, White Anchovy Fillets, Pickled Onions, Cream Cheese, Capers, and toasted crackers. Everything was made by the Chef! He smoked the trout and the salmon for this dish. It was so AMAZING!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Service”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I visited Rock Hall during the July 4th holiday weekend. We had dinner at Kitchen at Rock Hall on our last night and it was wonderful. The food was much more than you would expect from the quaint little down. It easily rivals restaurants in some of the larger cities we've visited. Kitchen is a very small (18 person) restaurant so the personal touch was very evident. The food and service were absolutely wonderful. The wine available was also very good and the bread pudding is NOT to be missed! We would definitely dine here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeverEnoughTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best on the Bay!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had breakfast there this morning. It was AMAZING! She had the French toast which was it die for. I had pancakes, eggs, and grits. I don't know what they did to the pancakes but they were delicious! The pancakes aren't like your typical pancakes either.

In addition, I have had lunch and dinner there before. Both were simply incredible!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodWinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen at Rock Hall also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing