We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy campers!”
Review of Swan Point Inn

Swan Point Inn
Ranked #17 of 20 Restaurants in Rock Hall
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Happy campers!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Four of us ate on Sunday night at the Swan Point Inn. We are all very regular visitors to Rock Hall and have tried almost all the restaurants. We did make reservations, but the room was not at all crowded. The waitress was friendly and the food was great! We ate seafood: mussells, scallops with fettucini, rockfish, crab appetizers. The carrot cake and the creme brulee were excellent. Chef Ian came to our table to make sure we felt welcome there and the food was to our liking.

Two of us will be in Rock Hall again in a week and we plan to eat again at Swan Point.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crabbyharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

For an overnight stay in Rock Hall, we wandered down the road and found this place. Our first clue that it might not be a good idea came with the signs pointing us to go around to use the restaurant door rather than the bar door - but when we got to the restaurant door the sign there said go to the bar door. Had we been a little less intelligent, we might still be trying to get in.

It's hard to describe the ambiance of the place. Backwoods diner-wannabe-restaurant is as close as I can come. The A/C unit sticking through the wall said goober and the giant photos on the wall with date stamps said low-class. Alas, the food was not much better.

We ordered the Sauteed Scallops and the Crab Dabs (see?) appetizer. The appetizer was quite good, if small. Both were presented in tiny cast iron skillets (see?) The scallops were just ok. The worst part was that after spending $50 (no drinks at all) we left hungry. The tiny skillets are cute but don't really hold a meal. On the way out, I saw what was probably a Prime Rib dinner that looked very large. So maybe the seafood is the problem. I see on their website that the place is for sale. Maybe things will look up with a new owner. Someone with taste and skill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tenknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
340 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wrong Turn - Right Place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Drove to Rock Hall for dinner on Saturday evening. No reservations and didn't think I'd have any trouble finding a place to enjoy dinner. At about 8 PM most places had a half hour or better wait. These are not fancy places - Just ordinary family type restaurants with standard fare.

In attempting to make a U turn I discovered Swan Point Inn. Nothing unusual about the place, parking was easy and it wasn't crowded. As I parked we engaged conversation with two couples who were waiting for the trolley shuttle that makes getting around Rock Hall in season pretty easy. They responded to our questions and told us what they enjoyed and what they did not.

Average food, Average Prices, Excellent Service - it added up to a new place to visit when you can't get into an old favorite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprising good food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Food was very good, got the Chef's Rockfish and it was excellent. The restaurant atmosphere won't blow your doors off but the service was excellent. Chef visited our table at the end of the meal. Carrot cake was great

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doherty757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful once again”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Several times a year we visit Rock Hall, MD and when we are there we ALWAYS stop in at the Swan Point. This weekend was our first venture to Rock Hall for 2013 and of course one of our first stops was the Swan Point and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed good food and great company. We had a variety of items from the menu including Prime Rib, chicken w/ crab, cream of crab soup, peel and eat ( perfectly seasoned) shrimp served with warm and toasty cheese bread, a variety of veggies...homemade coleslaw and the house salads with some of the best house dressing I have ever tasted...followed by 2 shared homemade pies one a banana and the other a coconut cream. Everything was down to perfection. The Prime rib juicy, the crab plentiful, the shrimp with just the right amount of "heat". The cream of crab soup packed with crab meat and those desserts...really truly homemade and outstanding. Ladies and Kerri(bartender ++++++) you have once again hit a homerun in our culinary hearts. Thanks for another wonderful evening and your pleasant company.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsislandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swan Point Inn also viewed

 

Been to Swan Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing