We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, super service, very popular”

Waterman's Crab House
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Rock Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food, super service, very popular”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Despite my diet, I had some onion rings. My wife and I decided on a "collective" "surf and turf." So I ordered a prime rib and she scallops. It was a great combination. The steak was fabulous. She liked the scallops.

They had live entertainment too, a duet, one singer/guitarist and a percussionist. They were good for a small town area. (As a big city opera buff, I can be a little smug that way, so I'm probably not a reliable critic that way.)

I gave it four rather than five stars only because my preference is to some place a little smaller and more private. This wasn't bad that way, but it's big and pretty popular.

By the way, there is a gift shop if you'd like to get bay-related shirts and the like too.

So, if you want a night out with good food and a decent price but quiet and privacy isn't your priority, enjoy the place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimothyScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    150
    74
    23
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great view, Excellent band, horrible service”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a blast dancing! The band was outstanding and have everyone on their feet. We hung at the bar and danced all night but our friends got a table and order food. It took almost 2 hrs for their food to arrive. Once it did the order were incorrect but at that point they ate whatever the waitress brought. We ordered from the bar and had a half an hour after our friends we were done eating and back dancing before our friends got their meals. The fries were yummy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place for a great time -- with water views!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My family and I enjoyed two meals at Waterman's -- dinner and lunch. Both visits were great. We sat on the deck during sunset one evening and enjoyed good food -- I had crabcakes, which were blessed with chunks of crabmeat and very little filler; my daughter chose the caesar salad with shrimp, and the shrimp were large and well-prepared; and my wife had a salmon wrap with good portions of salmon. When we stopped for lunch one day, we enjoyed the deck and water views again. My daughter and I ordered a steamer pot with crabs, mussels, clams and shrimp with just the right amount of butter and Old Bay. It was a great setting to hang out and enjoy the food and company. Several tables were tackling crabs that day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, ok food...”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a family dinner here, cant beat the locations and destination factor.
Live music, indoor/outdoor seating, marina seating...

Food is average, but the overall experience makes up for it.

Menu is quite large and will try something different next time (I had the seafod pasta which lacked flavor).

I would come again...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRM1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Neck, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“There's More than Crabs here!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My bride and I enjoyed delicious seafood quesadillas that were packed with scallops, shrimp, crab and several cheeses. They were a large portion and served with Old Bay fries. Everyone else seemed to be enjoying the AUCE crabs. We experienced great water views in a town that defines waterfront ambiance in a blue collar sort of way. The locals flock to this place so it has to be good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterman's Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Waterman's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing