We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eagles, ospreys and mother nature”

Chester River Kayak Adventures
Westmont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eagles, ospreys and mother nature”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We recently travelled to Rock Hall as part of a bike tour and took a break to kayak the surrounding bay areas. Glad we did. We got to see eagles up close (very close!), ospreys and just enjoyed the area. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and added just that little extra that made going on a guided tour all that much better. Thanks.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to rent or buy boards and kayaks”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Jim is an excellent font of knowledge about kayaking and will make sure your tour or equipment is just right for you!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kt4biggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Laid-back, entertaining paddle in the Chesapeake”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Having stayed at the associated B&B on the water (the Spring Cove Manor), it was ridiculously easy to get to the tour - we just followed our guide out of the B&B to the pier nearby.

After a short but thorough instruction, we were in our kayaks and on the creek (deeper than that name implies), seeing the landscape and some incredible sea birds. Jim, the proprietor and our guide, was great at keeping us at a reasonable pace for our skill and level of conditioning and pointing out the sights.

Had a lot of fun, would do it again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall enjoyable experience!”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

My husband and I did a half-day excursion in Swan Creek.

Pros: Beautiful scenery, easy to learn, sightings of interesting birds abound, very friendly and knowledgeable owner (Jim), more than enough time to paddle (we only used 3 of the 4 hours before being tired and ready to go home!)

Cons: Jim did not seem prepared when we arrived at the store (he was not there, and had a note out telling us to call him, he did arrive only 5 minutes after we called), the kayaks needed time to get ready (they were both very dirty and he needed to take time to actually wash the kayaks with soap and creek water to wash out the dirt, cobwebs, insects and dead leaves) and he only gave us verbal directions about where we should go (no map). We unfortunately could not find what he told us about (the sandy beach).
However, if you don't mind the adventure and roughing it a bit and most likely getting lost, this really is a beautiful trip. The experience overall was enjoyable, and my husband said it was the highlight of our Rock Hall vacation!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank glo_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chester River Kayak Adventures”
Reviewed 4 August 2006

On Main Street in Rock Hall, Maryland, you'll have to look carefully to find the location of Chester River Kayak Adventures (www.crkayakadventures.com). It's a small shop whose proprietor (Jim?) is friendly, helpful, cheerful, and--most importantly--knowledgeable about the Chester River and kayaking.

My husband and I rented two excellent kayaks for our half-day's paddle within the Chester River tributary of the Chesapeake Bay. It was a casual, easy paddle past nesting Osprey and Blue Heron. We were shown a map of the area before we set out, and the proprietor (Jim?) drove us to our put-in spot where we rode a small golf cart to the launch. We were given two well-maintained sit-inside kayaks, and left on our own to explore.

It was an unforgettable experience, even if we tired after only two of the four hours' rental time. I highly recommend this kayaking experience. And next time I'll stay at the B and B, Spring Cove Manor, (www.springcovemanor.com) which is owned by Jim. The beautiful home (I only saw the outside) sits directly and conveniently facing the water. I highly recommend this kayaking experience.

Helpful?
4 Thank InOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chester River Kayak Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Chester River Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing