We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rock Hall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moonlight Bay Marina and Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Rock Hall B&B and Inns
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here last Sept 2010, and now that I'm looking to visit this area again, and checking out places to stay - I saw the comments on this and had to add my 2 cents:

Good part: We had a big loverly room with a beautiful view of the water (which I had upgraded from a small but quaint room with no view). The home was pretty and the locale was perfect.

Bad part: - Food was terrible!.
Breakfast was a French toast type of thing filled with jam or jelly - super sweet but with no other redeeming features. I feel that with all the attention lately to good and interesting breakfasts in B&B's - this was below average. In fact a roadside diner with eggs & bacon would have been much better.

Coffee was weak like dishwater. Our server tried to compensate and brew another pot for us - but it wouldn't have mattered...I think they just like it weak or think it should be like that. We later went to a coffee shop in town, which did the trick.

And as others have commented, the hosts or owners or whoever they are, were indifferent and not pleasant to be around. The breakfast server was the friendliest person we encountered, and she was just trying to do her job.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamencodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Spent two nights in the Inn. The location is wonderful, but the Inn needs some sprucing up. As was said in the other review, the sheets are terrible. An ugly bedspread was used as a blanket under the top bedspread; all linens had pills on them. Our room was never freshened up, bed not made; towels not replaced; we ran out of soap and had to ask the owner for more; we had only received one very tiny bar. The owners were not very friendly at all. It was not a very welcoming environment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rock Hall hotels

Edgewood, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The house and location are fine. Everything wa s clean. I'll get to my biggest complaint right off -- we had sheets that were so old they had "pilled". Probably were muslin rather than percale to begin with. They were paper thin and rough. So was the comforter. It was their least expensive room at $150 plus tax per nite. I certainly didn't expect such shoddy linens. The breakfast was fine - all our friends enjoyed it ( although I noticed the table napkins were worn out as well) - I went back home. In general a little sprucing up would go a long way. I never met the owners - they had young women dealing with the public when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask what type of sheets they will use in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We just spent a relaxing Memorial Day weekend at Moonlight Bay B&B. We arrived early and were shown our room right away. Our room was on the ground floor of the building that is concidered the west wing. We had a nice little balcony which looked out over the Chesapeake Bay, along with a king size bed that was very comfortable.
We needed an extra trash can in our room, as there was only one, so we asked if one could be gotten. After a rude response from one of the owners,"What, one isn't enough?" we got our extra trash can from one of the helpers that worked there.
Laurie is her name and she was just a nice and helpful as can be.
The room was nice, the breakfasts were delicious, grounds and gardens lovely.
Just a note, this b&b is on the market to sell.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

A getaway to Moonlight Bay Inn was "just what the doctor ordered". Situated right on the Bay, we enjoyed beautiful sunsets and some interesting osprey watching. Room and bed were very comfortable. Definitely get a room with a balcony. Cute breakfast porch overlooking a beautiful garden. A great way to enjoy Rock Hall, a charming, relaxing little watermen's town.

Room Tip: Moon Glow room had great balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2DBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

The MB inn was a wonderful place to stay, the room was impeccably clean. The balcony offered a glorious view of the bay. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Belgian waffles for breakfast with fresh fruit and whipped cream, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Moonlight Bay Inn has an incredible view of the Chesapeake Bay. Most of the rooms are spacious and very nice. Our interactions with the Inn's manager were very cordial and professional. However, it was apparent that the owners of this Inn try to create an unscale experience, but hospitality isn't in their nature. Here are some little details that weren't right: The verticle blinds in our room were missing three vanes. The water wasn't turned on for the boat dock toilets. The bicycles provided for guests were poorly maintained as was the outdoor furniture. The afternoon "tea" included cookies from a box and cheeze puffs. This inn could use more attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrontierAccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Hall
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
12.0 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
11.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
12.8 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
2.5 mi away
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
#2 of 10 in Rock Hall
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Marina and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Marina and Inn

Property: Moonlight Bay Marina and Inn
Address: 6002 Lawton Ave, Rock Hall, MD 21661-1369
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Rock Hall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rock Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing