We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rock Hall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moonlight Bay Marina and Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Rock Hall B&B and Inns
Elkton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our stay at the Moonlight Bay Inn was the first time my husband and I have ever stayed at a bed and breakfast. (i don't have another experience to compare too) but we really enjoyed our time there.)

Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the grounds were beautiful.

Our first breakfast there, Lorie, brought us a slice of cantaloupe to start us off, the a huge blueberry muffin. Breakfast was stuffed french toast (stuffed with cream cheese and cinnamon) and sausage. I didn't care for the sausage, but my husband liked it. There was also some type of danish available.

The next breakfast we were started off with a fresh fruit cup topped with whipped cream followed by a corn muffin, Breakfast was a Belgian waffle topped with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. (bacon would have went very nicely with this, but no breakfast meat was served that morning.)

Both mornings a variety of juices, milk, and coffee were available as you walked in the the dining area. The coffee was delicious! Small boxes of cereal, yogurt and bananas were also available.

We left FULL both mornings.

We were there for "high tea" on Saturday afternoon. Cookies, brownies, gold fish crackers and fresh watermelon slices were put out along with a variety of teas as well as iced tea and lemon-aid.

Lorie and Jeff were very friendly and helpful and told us several times if we needed anything to just let them know.

After spending the day out, we returned to freshly cleaned room.

We were a little apprehensive about staying in a bed and breakfast, but we felt very comfortable there. (I'm surprised at how much my husband enjoyed it! He was not looking forward to staying in "someone else's home".- but the Moonlight Bay Inn has changed his mind completely.)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We will not be going back to this bed and breakfast. The owners are very rude and ignored you when you walked in the door. The room was average at best, but we spent all night awake because they had the A/C running (on a locked thermostat) for a night that it was already 40 degrees outside! Not to mention the blankets on the bed were absolutely horrible and probably 30 years old. The only nice thing about this place is the view on the water, but honestly most of the bed and breakfasts have the exact same view.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rock Hall hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Very friendly and helpful. Gorgeous views, woke up looking at sunrise over the bay. Comfortable Loved the little private porch in our room that was right on the bay. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drtally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here last Sept 2010, and now that I'm looking to visit this area again, and checking out places to stay - I saw the comments on this and had to add my 2 cents:

Good part: We had a big loverly room with a beautiful view of the water (which I had upgraded from a small but quaint room with no view). The home was pretty and the locale was perfect.

Bad part: - Food was terrible!.
Breakfast was a French toast type of thing filled with jam or jelly - super sweet but with no other redeeming features. I feel that with all the attention lately to good and interesting breakfasts in B&B's - this was below average. In fact a roadside diner with eggs & bacon would have been much better.

Coffee was weak like dishwater. Our server tried to compensate and brew another pot for us - but it wouldn't have mattered...I think they just like it weak or think it should be like that. We later went to a coffee shop in town, which did the trick.

And as others have commented, the hosts or owners or whoever they are, were indifferent and not pleasant to be around. The breakfast server was the friendliest person we encountered, and she was just trying to do her job.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamencodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Spent two nights in the Inn. The location is wonderful, but the Inn needs some sprucing up. As was said in the other review, the sheets are terrible. An ugly bedspread was used as a blanket under the top bedspread; all linens had pills on them. Our room was never freshened up, bed not made; towels not replaced; we ran out of soap and had to ask the owner for more; we had only received one very tiny bar. The owners were not very friendly at all. It was not a very welcoming environment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The house and location are fine. Everything wa s clean. I'll get to my biggest complaint right off -- we had sheets that were so old they had "pilled". Probably were muslin rather than percale to begin with. They were paper thin and rough. So was the comforter. It was their least expensive room at $150 plus tax per nite. I certainly didn't expect such shoddy linens. The breakfast was fine - all our friends enjoyed it ( although I noticed the table napkins were worn out as well) - I went back home. In general a little sprucing up would go a long way. I never met the owners - they had young women dealing with the public when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask what type of sheets they will use in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We just spent a relaxing Memorial Day weekend at Moonlight Bay B&B. We arrived early and were shown our room right away. Our room was on the ground floor of the building that is concidered the west wing. We had a nice little balcony which looked out over the Chesapeake Bay, along with a king size bed that was very comfortable.
We needed an extra trash can in our room, as there was only one, so we asked if one could be gotten. After a rude response from one of the owners,"What, one isn't enough?" we got our extra trash can from one of the helpers that worked there.
Laurie is her name and she was just a nice and helpful as can be.
The room was nice, the breakfasts were delicious, grounds and gardens lovely.
Just a note, this b&b is on the market to sell.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Hall
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
11.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
115 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Inn at Chesapeake Bay Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
319 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
#2 of 10 in Rock Hall
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mariners Motel
Mariners Motel
#1 of 2 in Rock Hall
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Marina and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Marina and Inn

Property: Moonlight Bay Marina and Inn
Address: 6002 Lawton Ave, Rock Hall, MD 21661-1369
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Rock Hall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rock Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing