We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live Entertainment and Great food”

Memsahib Indian Restaurant
Ranked #156 of 406 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Live Entertainment and Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I am very surprised that this place is so unnoticed and empty. I stumbled upon it while looking for places that were with in walking distance of home. This place is awesome. Its a little piece of Indie right here. The dinner platter was full of variety and the curry is fabulous. Then there is the mesmerizing belly dance show. You have to see this to believe it. Come in, sit down on low couches, romantically lit. Delicious meal. Fantastic evening. Unforgettable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Splendid cultural experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

My coworkers love MemS and frequently dine here. They know the owner, so we were taken care of well. At 6:45 there is no one there, by 7:30 it's a full house. The place is small, so make a reservation early in the day. The decor is basic; Pursian carpets everywhere (even on walls), round tables surrounded by foam cushion couches on plywood frames with lots of colorful pillows (not the most comfortable, but they work well in context), and wallpaper mosaic tiles haphazard on the walls with an occasional lantern. The lighting is very dim and furniture is very close together, lower to the ground, so walk gingerly to avoid running into things. Eating and taking time to relax and enjoy the experience is key here. It is a 3-4 hour, 6 course meal with a dance break in between. Fun for the whole family and very entertaining. There are no plates and everyone uses there hands to eat from the same serving tray, so leave your fear of germs at home, dive in and enjoy the moment. The food is incredibly good and spice level is just right. Savour something from each course, while visiting with friends or watching Bollywood on two large screens. Participate in the belly dancing break to burn some calories before dessert. Overall great cultural experience, great food and wine. I see now why my coworkers return again and again. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meretravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food but plan to stay a while!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Went with a friend for dinner on a Friday night. We got a reservation for 6:30; when we arrived we were the only ones there. By 7:30 it was filling up. Service is slow; probably half an hour to get our wine, despite being the only ones there! It was fine for us as the atmosphere is like sitting on the couch in you living room, we had photos to share and catching up to do, but you should definitely plan to make an evening of it! We shared one meat and one vegetarian six course dinner. Especially liked the eggplant appetizer and fish pakoras, but everything was good. If in doubt, we'd lean towards the vegetarian option. As stated by other reviewers, the service might be described as "my way or the highway"; they don't box leftovers and while service is quite friendly, I can't imagine how you'd get them to speed it up! Still, a unique experience for Rockville, complete with a belly dancer. Recommend it, just pretend you're on vacation and go with the flow.

Helpful?
Thank HfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great choice, Great food, Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

The buffet lunch at Memsahib is a terrific bargain and an unexpectedly interesting experience. There is much to choose from and they replenish the chafing dishes regularly so you know it's freshly cooked. The vegetable samosas and fried vegetables and tandoori chicken are delicious, there are usually several vegetarian curry choices including chick peas, egg-plant and spinach and a couple of meat dishes - butter chicken and rogan goat or lamb, abundant nan and puri and a dessert to finish - all for about $11.00! Throw in bollywood dancers on the screen, and low level couch seating and you have a unique and enjoyable combination. It is all supervised by an amiable Indian couple with the wife running the restaurant and the husband the kitchen, guaranteeing an authentic experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillraynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Took friends for a get together. The sumptuous six course meal was very good ! My friends were very happy and were talking about the meal even a week later. The belly dancing was very entertaining.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laxmi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memsahib Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Memsahib Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing