We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for the budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Rockville
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Compared to rates in hotels in the Washington D.C. area, this is a no brainer. Fairly basic but we found it clean & the renovations are procedding without bothering guests. There is a shuttle to the local Metro that goes into Washington. It runs 9:00 & 10 a.m., but we found if you take the later train, the Metro pass is half off & one can get on & off at the different downtown stations most economically. The return motel shuttle doesn't start until 7:00 p.m. which was too late for these seniors but there is a bus (#48??) that runs back to the hotel.
We missed the coffee machine that most Red Roofs have but there is a free USA Today available.

Room Tip: Avoid Connecting door rooms, way too noisy !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

My boyfriend and I drove down to the VA/DC area on Saturday, 5/19, and spent the day in the Rockville area. Exhausted, we checked into the Red Roof around 3pm. First room had an adjoining door, and we had it changed. Next room- the bathtub was disgusting, bathroom floor was not to be walked on without shoes, and dusty. After a 2 hour nap, I awoke with "welts" on my left fingers/hands/ arm, and left side of face. Also, new tiny blood droplets on pillowcase that werent there before I slept, and I showed no signs on bleeding. Trail of bed bugs. At 8 pm we left and drove back to Philadelphia (north of Philadelphia). Got in past midnight. Our clothes have been washed in extra hot water, and a doctor will be seen tomorrow. WELTS. HUGE WELTS.
The parking lot was filled with litter-remnants of McDonalds, etc. Cigarette butts littered the walkways and mulch by the stairs. Alot of questionable looking characters roamed the property with beer in one hand - shoeless.
Being outdated and worn for a hotel is no excuse for bedbugs.
As previously posted, this is not the typical Red Roof. It was formerly another chain.

Room Tip: DON'T GO HERE! It is NOT your regular Red Roof style hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gypsyfeet317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

I received your comments and felt very compelled to respond immediately. We take all customer concerns very seriously- anything involving Bed Bugs become top priority. First of all we are very sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one. We did have ECOLAB ( our pest control vender) come out and do a complete inspection of the room. The inspection is very detailed. There was no evidence of Bed Bugs. We do have documentation of their inspection. ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

These are the 3 things I deem neccessary to stay in a hotel while out of town.
The hotel is in a safe area, off the road restricting road noise. We were given a renovated room which was very nice and staff kept it clean and stocked. I had a reservation issue of my own doing, but the front office staff was glad to help FIX the problem to my advantage. Front staff is always a giveaway to how the hotel is run and maintained. The staff couldn't have been more courteous and helpful, even night shift, which is usually a problem. "Tom" was more than friendly, he was knowledgable and able to solve any problems I had regarding my reservation. This location is a very short drive to use the DC ell train, less than 3 blocks for train station. I stayed at this hotel 15 yrs ago, and will continue to use this site when I visit DC area. No worries.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, no road noise and usually quiet. (337) new ac unit (quiet) If ice mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had to fly out from California to get surgery, and Kelle at the front desk made my trip completely stress free. She even drove me in her own car to the pharmacy so i could get my medicine for my recovery, and helped me with finding my doctors office and the surgery center.

Room Tip: all roms are just as nice as the next, really what made the trip was Kelle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank You so much for the awesome review...Kellie is the BEST when it comes to giving top notch service to all of our guests. We know she's the best, but it is always good to hear it from orders. Again, thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My first stay at this property came during a recent work assignment in the area. Converted from a Days Inn back in 1997, this Red Roof is showing some signs of age both on the exterior and in the guest room. The staff was very courteous and accommodating, and takes very good care of the property. The room was clean, comfortable and I enjoyed a good night's sleep. The wireless Internet was weak to unusable in my room, which was at the far edge of the property. I would stay here again, especially if the property gets an update.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Red Roof Inn Rockville. I’m so happy to tell you that we are under renovations at this moment, our newly renovated rooms will include brand new mattresses, flat screen TV's, contemporary furniture and hardwood floors. Thank you so much for your kind words and I'll be sure to share your comments with the rest of the staff.
Thank you and hope to see you soon when you are in the Rockville area.

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
301-987-0965
I0263@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I will preface by saying that the manager seems to really care about this property. However, thanks to Priceline I have spent three horrible nights (and they booked me for today!!!) at the Red Roof. Aside from the limited metro shuttle and location, and pleasant front desk personnel I have nothing remotely nice to say.

My main complaint (putting aside the fact I barricade myself with a chair I sleep on to put more weight against the door) is the presence of sketchy characters in the courtyard at night. And waking up the next morning seeing two of them with a bad case of drug hangover trying to serve themselves coffee... lovely. This has happened every single time and I have reported it to PriceLine.

Two stars, hmmm, maybe one on its best day! I cannot believe the reviews about how wonderful this place is. What is up with that?

Lighting issues--- when you walk to your room the lighting is horrible. The front desk provides you an explanation with a map. Since you really can't see, it really is helpful-not.

Room smells are okay, though carpet is damp. Probably mold, and now with the "renovation" who knows what will crawl from under. Idea, shut it down for renovations, for at least a couple of years. That would work for me!

Sorry Red Roof, but you are the local hangout for Sketchers, we are all careful with our finances but jeopardizing my safety, let me think about it, NO!

Room Tip: Donj't go through Priceline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank AriesAle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your positive comments regarding our front desk staff. We work hard to ensure that every guest feels welcome and comfortable. Also, we are proud to be updating our property with a major renovation to improve our rooms and lighting throughout the property. I think you will notice a big difference! We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed here four nights for a recent business trip- the primary reason is the price; given the lowr $70s per night plus tax, it's a bargain compared to motels anywhere near the DC metro area. You'd have to go all the way to Fredericksburg, VA to find anything of lower price at comparable value.

I had no major problems at all- the room was very clean and comparable to the better of the Super 8/Motel 6 locations. The bed was comfortable, and the shower had plenty of hot water. My room had the standard heater/ac and cable TV, and one of the best functioning alarm clocks I've seen in a while. It did not have a mini-fridge or microwave oven, or hair dryer in the vanity area, if you need those things. My only complaint is that the wi-fi internet connection was somewhat slow and flaky; I had to re-log in several times, but I was able to connect and get all my business done. This room also has one of those 'security safes' for which an extra $1.50 was added to the price each day, but if you don't want it, they will remove that charge at the front desk when you check out- so don't forget to ask them to do that; they don't do it automatically!

I think they also have the free breakfast and swimming pool here, but those are things that I never use. They also have very convenient ice machines and vending.

The area was very quiet, there were no noise problems at all; there is major renovation going on in part of the motel, which could cause issues for some, check to make sure that a room is available in the other section and there shouldn't be a problem.

The motel is very close to I-270, and business 355 with many restaurants and shopping centers nearby. It is also very close to the DC Metro train/metro station. The motel offers shuttle service to the station; I drove to the station since it has free parking on weekends. This motel would make a nice place to stay if you want to see the sights in DC over a weekend due to this nearby station; get the all-day Metro pass for the best pricing.

Overall, I was very happy with the price and value of this motel, and would recommend it to anyone wanting a balance of price and location.

Room Tip: Check the wi-fi connection in your room; also don't forget to ask for a rebate of the 'secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htomc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnRockville, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad to hear you found our hotel to be a great price and a great value. Feel free to share your experience with friends and family. We hope to see you here at the Red Roof Inn Rockville, on your next visit to town.


Claudia Lazo
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Rockville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockville hotels
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
Sleep Inn Shady Grove
#11 of 14 in Rockville
273 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Rockville Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Washington D.C. - Rockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Rockville
5.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Rockville
EVEN Hotel Rockville
#5 of 14 in Rockville
363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
Sheraton Rockville Hotel
#8 of 14 in Rockville
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville

Address: 16001 Shady Grove Rd, Rockville, MD 20850-4010
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockville
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC-Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Rockville
Red Roof Inn Rockville
Rockville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing