We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food dumpy restaurant”
Review of Joe's Noodle House

Joe's Noodle House
Ranked #93 of 410 Restaurants in Rockville
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food dumpy restaurant”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The dishes we ordered were generous in size and good to very good in quality. Service was not warm. Bathrooms look like a utility room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Potomac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West River, MD
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Real Sichuan food!! In Rockville no less. Consistent food great service a real Sichuan menu. Family style meals that are authentic as they can be

Helpful?
Thank 212bradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Real Sichuan food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After many disappointing meals in DC with "Sichuan food," we were relieved to find Joe's Noodle House. SO good. If this place weren't such a trek for us, we would be here all the time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Who says there's no good Chinese restaurants in DC - Eat at Joe's!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

On our way out of DC, we decided (after at least some reviews) to try Joe's! I want to fly back for lunch today! Joe's is just a bit unassuming, sitting in a strip center next to a middle eastern restaurant but I assure you that you will not be disappointed! This is, by far, the best "real" Chinese food I've had since eating in Toronto!

I wanted the Steamed Buns with pork filling for an appetizer but mistakenly ordered the Steamed Dumplings instead - It was amazing. For my meal, I had the Mongolian Beef WITH cumin. Spicy enough for me, and a lot of food to boot, I couldn't refuse this meal and now understand why the Washington Post says you MUST try this!

My friend, who just happens to be Chinese from the Shanghai area, had the Beef Noodle Soup Szechuan style (number N16 on the menu) and is still raving about how good it was. So impressed with the overall food experience, my friend will be posting information about Joe's on Weibo so that friends back in China, who come to the DC area, will know a great place to eat.

Not only does Joe's stand out among competition (anywhere in the DC area in my opinion), it stands out among competition in many major cities in the US (again my opinion) but, this is a great place you don't want to miss. Good "real" Chinese food in many places in the US is just too hard to find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Taste Explosion worth the effort...”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

There certainly are times when you read the reviews on these websites and you are just left shaking your head wondering what these folks were thinking when they wrote the review or even if they had a solid foundation in culinary experiences to make a review in the first place. The FOOD IS AMAZING! which is why we go to any restaurant. I have read reviews that downgrade this place because you have to pay cash (which is NOT true) and that you actually have to walk 10 feet up to the counter to place your order. Are you seriously SO lazy and fat that you can't pick up your swollen chubby feet to make an order? The service has ALWAYS been wonderful here but like ANY other place when it gets busy things get hectic. And yes it is somewhat small, but is that a reason to downgrade the level of the food that they serve just because you didn't get a seat as soon as you arrived? NO!!!
Dishes which are a must try:
Dan-Dan noodles (OMG!), scallion pancakes, hot&sour soup, any pickled veggies or sweet and sour cabbage, dumplings are excellent as appetizers...
Homestyle entrée dishes are the way to go at Joe's, the kung pao is off the charts, Yu-Shiang pork unreal, scrambled eggs and shrimp a total surprise, Hot Pot w/basil, eggplant and chicken is wonderful, stir-fried pork w/hot pepper and leeks, Mongolian beef, Wonton soups, Beef noodle soup Szechuan style, any of the mixed greens sautéed w/garlic (bok choy or spinach) or Szechuan green beans... I can go on and on but no reason to do so, you get the point...
The flavors might not be what you are used to from the normal suburban Chinese joint, but that is what is glorious about this food! It isn't just the normal junk slopped out to you at the food court in your local mall or "favorite" take out joint. PLEASE take the time to enjoy something that will expand your taste and expectations and don't pay attention to the suburbanites who expect a good restaurant to be only about instant seating and cleaning your feet upon arrival... This place is ALL ABOUT THE FOOD...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Noodle House also viewed

Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 
Rockville, Montgomery County
Rockville, Montgomery County
 

Been to Joe's Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing