We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING WEDDING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events
Ranked #1 of 1 Royal Oak B&B and Inns
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING WEDDING!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I got married at The Oaks this past weekend, and it was AWESOME!! The staff (Candi, Susan, Erin, Sarah and Carla) went above and beyond to exceed our expectations. Erin was very responsive on top of each and every detail, which made my job much easier. Chef Paul blew our guests away with the incredible meal he perpared-people raved all night along!
I could not have imagined a more perfect setting for the most important day of my life! I would highly reccommend The Oaks to any bride!! What a great way to begin our lives together!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Im-A-Mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    14
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
33
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
frederick, Md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

The Oaks in Royal Oak Md. is 5 minutes from beautiful St. Michaels, a charming village on the Chesapeake Bay, Md. Our daughter and her husband recently held their wedding at the Oaks, and we have used it also for weekend getaways. It is a fairytale setting, with a perfect staff and 5 star food every day at a reasonable cost. This is a difficult place to leave! The wedding arrangements include staying in this gorgeous country estate for the weekend, so there is no rush, great vendors and an attentive, well trained staff. All of our guests want to return soon! The wedding was perfect, with all the little details cared for. Plenty of space for personal time each day - you can feel yourself relax each morning, sitting in the lounge chairs with a cup of coffee enjoying the quiet and peaceful sunrise over the water. I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys romance, beauty, peace, nature, good food, luxury and kindness in an incredible setting, just 5 minutes from a great tourist town.

  • Liked — the setting, staff and food
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank omalibertytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Our daughter's wedding at The Oaks was perfect. The venue is relaxing and provides an opportunity for the wedding party, family and friends to gather for the entire week-end. The staff offers a personal touch throughout the experience, and is especially attentive during the ceremony and reception. Set-up of our specific details of the reception (e.g. candy buffet, place cards and decorations) was managed for us by The Oaks' staff, under the direction of Heather Maloney. We were provided a personal staff assistant, Carla, who took care of every need of the bride, groom and their families throughout the day of the event. Everyone that attended the wedding raved about the accomodations, the view and the food. Although some reviews say that the rooms are dated, we felt that they were clean and very comfortable. The charm of a country inn is that the building and grounds reflect its history. We highly recommend The Oaks as a wedding venue for those who are looking for a destination offering a romantic, relaxed feel.

  • Liked — The personal touch and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Difficult to plan access for handicapped guests
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cnor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Upon arrival the the Oaks Inn we had homemade cookies and wine waiting for us. Our room was beautiful with a waters view. We woke in the morning to a complimentary gourmet breakfast.. again overlooking the water.... then we were out on the grounds for adventure. The dock provids a great view with canoes, bikes, shuffle board and a pool!!

You just cant beat it.... the service was excellent and the staff very friendly.. I highly recommend this to everyone looking forward to a great vactation!!!

amy adams
raleigh NC

Helpful?
3 Thank amykate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2008

I don't know how anyone could suggest The Oaks has bad service. My husband and I were married on May 17th, 2008 at The Oaks and absolutly thrilled the level of service we received from Heather, Michaela, Susan and the rest of the staff at The Oaks. (Both in planning and running our wedding and hosting our guests) Our friends and family stayed at The Oaks all weekend and felt the same way! The Oaks is truly a full service venue. The property is gorgeous - our wedding ceremony was held outside at "The Point." They provided us with the space, the food, the rentals - even a van to transport guests to and from the wedding from their hotels. On the day of the wedding we had a dedicated member of the service staff (Carla) to bring us and our parents drinks, food, etc... It allowed us to relax and really enjoy the event. We did not have a wedding planner and Heather seamlessly managed the arrival of all the different vendors during the day - I didn't even worry that the flowers were in the right place or if the cake had arrived. They took care of everything! The Oaks is not the cheapest place you can have a wedding, but considering all of the services and amenities they included that we did not have to buy elsewhere, The Oaks is a very good value.

  • Liked — Location, Service, Serene Atmosphere
  • Disliked — No elevator for grandma in wheelchair - but she managed!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smr232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

The Oaks is in a lovely location and the high end rooms are nice however the service is terrible! The staff acted annoyed at every request - not the typical bed and breakfast experience. We spent over $300 a night and have received better service at Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SCtraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heather1972, Manager at The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events, responded to this review, 16 July 2008
At the Oaks we host wedding receptions almost every weekend. Typically, the bride and groom will assign rooms to their guests. I remember this particular gentlemen because he was very angry at check-in and commented that he would prefer to stay at the Holiday Inn because he did not want to spend that much for a room. The bride had assigned him the most expensive room in the house. We apologized to this person, but at that point , it is out of our hands.

We are very proud of our staff and we always go out of our way to make sure that everyone who stays with us is a satisfied guest. Unfortunately, as everyone in the hospitality business is aware of, we all come across someone who for some reason or another, is intent on not having a good time no matter what we do. And unfortunately those people sometimes like to write reviews on these types of websites to try to cause damage to the venue.

As I said, we are proud of our staff and we always try to do everything we can so that our business will prosper with “word of mouth” advertising and repeat guests. I’m sure that you can see from our other reviews that the majority of our guests are satisfied customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed at the The Oaks recently for a weekend wedding. It served as a great location for the wedding. All of the wedding events including the rehearsal dinner took place at the inn.

The inn and grounds are very picturesque. The room was adequate. Since this is an older inn, some things are a bit worn but that is to be expected. One example – one of the bureau drawers had no bottom (see picture). In general, décor and things like linens were ok but nothing special, and bathroom was a bit dated. The grounds were very nice. Unfortunately we had a lot of rain during the weekend so we did not get to take advantage of the amenities such as the bikes and pool. Also since this is a smaller inn, service is a bit limited. For example, we couldn’t get in touch with anyone for extra towels one morning, and food service late at night was tough due to the small size of the inn, and the nature of smaller towns in the area.

The area is very nice. We went into St. Michaels a couple of miles down the road and enjoyed the main street with nice little shops and a few places to eat. There was also a museum, but we didn’t have time to check that out.

The food at the inn was quite good. The hot breakfast buffet was nice and the food at the wedding itself was good as well.

Overall, it was a nice trip and a wonderful wedding.

  • Liked — location, views
  • Disliked — room furnishngs
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendersongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Oak
3.9 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
2.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in St. Michaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events

Property: The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events
Address: 25876 Royal Oak Road, PO Box 187, Royal Oak, MD 21662
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Royal Oak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Oak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oaks is a charming historic Inn with 15 rooms with private baths. There is a large common living room area for our guest to enjoy. Located a few miles from St. Michael's to our south, and Easton to our north, we are the perfect location with waterfront privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oaks Waterfront Inn And Events Hotel Royal Oak
Oaks a Country Hotel
Country Inn Royal Oak
Royal Oak Country Inn
The Oaks a Country Hotel
The Oaks Waterfront Inn And Events Royal Oak, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing