We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical and Educational Park With Nice Trails”

Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This combination museum and state park includes more than 70 archaeological sites from the prehistoric period 9,000 years ago through the Colonial period.
Lusby, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historical and Educational Park With Nice Trails”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

First off you cant beat the price...free. Its very clean and the trails are nice. There are different trails. One goes right along the river. The handicap accessible trail goes past the Native American village which is so fun. My kids love it. You can actually see their archaeological dig sites and certain times during the year watch them and help them dig. We enjoy picnicking at the tables overlooking the water. Check their very informative site for the times the MAC lab, Patterson House and museum is open. Highly recommend visiting this park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
694 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Great history and archeology!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great displays about the history of the families and displays on the digs that have been done in the area, including finds from digs in all the counties in MD. Very interesting, the hands-on part is great for kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1AnnieEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of Maryland's best kept secrets!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A hidden gem in historic Southern Maryland (St. Leonard) that until recently, my husband and I (residents of the DC area for 28 years) had not heard of.

My strongest advice is to go when the weather is good and the daylight hours sufficient enough to explore thoroughly – easily hours’ worth. Or, if you are fortunate enough to live just a 'day trip away' as do we (70 miles from the suburbs) you can return and will want to do so to take advantage of the multiple opportunities this wonderful place has to offer.

The website is extensive and user friendly - www.jefpat.org - the staffers/docents friendly and excited about the offerings and the Maryland Archaeological Conservation Laboratory for which we will return, appears to be hi-tech. The grounds and views of the Patuxent River and Leonard Creek are gorgeous, the paths smooth and easily used for running, walking and biking. What a treat! What a learning experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzbird925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dameron, Maryland
Level Contributor
430 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“The HUB of Archeology in Maryland - a must see if in the area!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This Park and Museum has alot to offer for the whole family - especially during one of their many events throughout the year. The museum and gift store are rather small, but very interesting with lots of oddities. The "out buildings" are also interesting and the staff here is very helpful in answering any questions. Last summer they had "Archeology Days" and the public could bring in any artifact they wanted to have I.D.'d - sorta like Antiques Roadshow. I've taken many items here over the years to have identified and the staff is always gracious and helpful and insightful. Highly recommend!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mako13Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum has so much to offer! They constantly offer various programs & activities appropriate for all ages. Plenty of room for the kids to run around, plenty of interesting things happening for Mom & Dad. Don't miss it!

Helpful?
Thank OpenGatesFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Been to Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing