We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of potential--still working on getting it right”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Mary's City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Brome Howard
Schaefferstown
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lots of potential--still working on getting it right”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Our room was clean and (like the inn itself) quite charming. Be aware, though, other than Historic St Mary's City, there is not much to do in the area--it is very very rural. Also, management needs to pay a lot more attention to small details. Some areas of the exterior of the inn seem neglected. There were problems inside, too; flowers on our table at breakfast were dead. There was a coffee maker in the hall outside our room, but there were no cups; and there were no cups or tissues in our bathroom. Our room had recently been painted and looked very fresh and attractive, but the dusty drapes and a paint can were sitting on the floor of our closet. Our sheets and towels were not changed (the room was not made up) while we were there--had some one checked, the tissue box might have been replaced. We were not informed about any attractions in the area (we stumbled on some pamphlets in a desk in the downstairs hall) or even how to lock/unlock the front door if we came in late. Breakfast was mediocre and presented in an indifferent manner by the innkeeper--who is clearly expected to do too much by her employers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herstoryprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed visited for a night, six or eight years after our first visit. We had the wonderful room that stretches across the front of the house and faces the beautiful St. Mary's River. Everything was beautiful, and the welcome was warm, although the College of St. Mary, which runs the inn, was still in the midst of transition to new management. As a result, our breakfast, which was very good, was cooked by the director of Historic St. Mary's City, the fascinating archaelogical site next door to the house. We expect that everything about this place, that is now very good, will get better and better.

Room Tip: Choose the red room, facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Shore Of Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed here on 11/18/2011. It was the first week for the new innkeepers a very young couple with a 2-yr. old and she worked full-time at a motel in Leonardtown I believe.

The heated did not work in the Hogeboom room but an oil filled space heated was provided and adequate. The cleaning could have been better in corners, ledges, behind toilet, etc. There was only shampoo and lotion provided as toiletries. I did not bring any because they are usually provided at Bed & Breakfasts, so this was a bit of a problem - no soap.

The breakfast was not fresh or to-order. Cereal, muffins, fresh apples, oranges, and bananas were set out with yogurt and milk. Coffee was provided and orange and cranberry juices. A slice of left-over quiche was provided after I asked about hot food.

I understand the situation and was pleased with Leigh's hospitality and Regina's service at breakfast. I hope as they get in the swing of things, these little items will improve.

This B & B is different from most others as the home and grounds are owned by the State as part of historic St. Mary's City. The innkeepers are given an apartment in the basement and a salary. It is the closet place to stay to St. Mary's College of Maryland.

It truly is a beautiful 1840 historic home in a beautiful spot!

Too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kak2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

A woman named Lisa is one of the managers at Brome Howard, and for catered event I was part of in the fall of 2011, there were several contractual obligations she and/or her organization failed to meet. Furthermore, when confronted about it, she tried to turn the tables and refuse to accept blame. She went so far as to make slanderous accusations. Never again will I step foot into this establishment. .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlia_777, Public Relations Manager at The Inn at Brome Howard, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We are sorry to learn about your experience at The Brome Howard Inn (today doing business as The Inn at Brome Howard). The Inn is now being managed by the owner, Historic St. Mary's City (HSMC), and there is a new, on-site innkeeper. Expressions is under contract as the exclusive caterer for The Inn, and other properties, at HSMC. We are excited to move into a new era of hospitality and professionalism and look forward to re-establishing The Inn as one of the most gracious B&Bs and event venues in the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at this lovely B&B to celebrate our anniversary. The rooms are just beautiful. We stayed in "Terry's Room," with a river view. We got to see the other rooms, too, because we were the only guests that night. The large, historic home sits off a main road in St. Mary's City, but try to get there before dark because it's hard to read the house signs otherwise. The grounds are spacious, and we enjoyed reading by the river on Sunday morning. The breakfast was fine but nothing spectacular--omelettes, muffins and fruit salad. The host was very accommodating when we left a message early in the morning to say we wanted to eat later than originally planned. The only strange thing, aside from being the only guests, was that we never met the owners, only their adult son, who was very polite. Were they even there? We had no idea they wouldn't be there until we arrived. It was kind of weird. Other than that, it was a great place for a romantic getaway. We enjoyed touring Old St. Mary's City, a "living history" of Maryland's first settlement and colony, which was nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed at the Brome Howard Inn for a weekend away from Baltimore. The building and grounds are lovely, and the food was absolutely amazing. Lisa was friendly and helpful in telling us about are attractions, etc. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogLover1446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2008

I'm kind of surprised that there aren't more glowing reviews of this place, but I guess St. Mary's City, MD isn't really a flashy hotspot. Nevertheless, it should be, and Brome-Howard is the perfect place to stay in this beautiful, quiet town.

The inn is perfectly situated, with great views of the St. Mary's River, lots of shady places to sit and read, and within a half an hour drive of Point Lookout (a great place to lay out in the sun and watch boats). There are bike trails and antique shops nearby, easy access to boating and horseback riding. There are plenty of sites for history buffs to visit. But even without these attractions, the inn itself is a great destination. The house is lovely and immaculately kept. My husband and I have stayed in both Terry's Room and the McKinley, both charming rooms. Terry's Room has the best hotel bed I've ever slept in, bar none- we liked it so much that we took notes and modelled our own bed after it! The innkeepers, Mike and Lisa, are warm and helpful, and Mike is known for his deliciously decadent Sunday brunches. They're open for dinner too, so if you're looking for a place to really get away, kick your feet up and relax, look no further- you will be well taken care of at Brome Howard.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SarabandeSuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's City
4.4 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
189 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
404 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
7.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington Park Patuxent River Nas, Md
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Brome Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Brome Howard

Property: The Inn at Brome Howard
Address: 18281 Rosecroft Road, PO Box 39, Saint Mary's City, MD 20686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Saint Mary's City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Mary's City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic St. Mary's City's Inn at Brome Howard is the best lodging option for people visiting St. Mary's City. Rest easy at this restored 1840s home furnished with many period pieces. Enjoy views of the serene St. Mary's River, starry nights, and the quiet comfort of one of four serene bedrooms tastefully decorated with heirloom furniture, luxury linens, antiques, and period artwork. Plan a small gathering in the restored plantation house or formal garden, or decorate our on-site party tent for a larger celebration. Full coordination of your event, from furnishings to flowers and everything in between, can be flawlessly presented at affordable prices. A day away, a weekend event, whatever you're planning -- we are ready to help make it happen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brome Howard Hotel Saint Mary`s City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing