We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first B&B experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Mary's City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Brome Howard
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent first B&B experience!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I hope we're not spoiled for any future B&B visit elsewhere. This was our first, and the Inn at Brome Howard did not disappoint. Tara, the innkeeper, was friendly and accommodating at every step. This was a spur of the moment getaway for my husband and me, calling the morning of our anticipated arrival to book the Calvert room. We arrived around 9 pm, only to find a welcome hostess, cookies and chocolates waiting, and a lovely room that was quite comfy. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, and Tara gave several ideas of activities and restaurant suggestions.

We stayed for two nights, and it was a perfect little getaway. The grounds are spacious and pretty... we spent quite a while on our second evening sitting on the front porch, enjoying the evening weather, and watching the deer play in the field. The whole environment was peaceful and relaxing.

Our only (small) complaint was the lack of hooks in the bathroom for towels - nowhere near the sink for the hand towel, nor near the shower while bathing. But seriously? That's a small price to pay... everything else was wonderful, and we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Calvert room, which has a lovely view of the back grounds and river, though it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGrahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I can't say enough wonderful things about the Inn an especially, Tara Jensen, the innkeeper. In spite of a weekend of rainy weather, her warmth and gracious nature made this a comfortable and cozy weekend with friends. Breakfast was so yummy, the accommodations perfect (who expects strong WiFi in such as remote and historic inn?) and the hospitality exceptional. Felt like I was visiting in the home of a close relative or friend. A definite "to do" on a trip to St. Mary's City.
Thanks Tara!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pumpduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a delightful stay at the Inn at Brome Howard where our expectations were surpassed thanks to Tara Jensen, the gracious innkeeper whose expertise insured that my daughter and I enjoyed a lovely visit. We had the spacious, light-filled Ark & Dove rooms (with private bath) that make up the entire third floor, so there were fabulous 360 views of the property. Everything I hope for in a B&B or small inn was there: charming antique furniture and accessories; an absolutely comfortable bed with top-notch mattress and nice linens; a Keurig machine with a variety of K-cups to choose from; plenty of books about the rich local history; a comfy rocking chair; a large full bath stocked with thick thirsty towels, nice toiletries, and hair dryer; and finally -- an absolutely delicious breakfast (ours was: oj, coffee, berry muffin, fruit cup, crab quiche, and sausage). Extra welcome treat: chocolates and freshly-made cookies!

We planned our travel to arrive in time for lunch at the Inn, and this was a wise decision. Very pretty dining areas and delicious homemade meal: crab soup, just-made potato chips, crab cake, crispy chicken sandwich special, and bread pudding. Deb is an excellent hostess (her company, Expressions Catering, is based at the Inn); saw some photos -- WOW! -- what a perfect spot for a wedding and/or reception.

Finally, IMHO, this Inn is a good value -- not much more money than the hotels over on Route 235. Nothing against Marriott or La Quinta, but come on, to be able to stay at such a beautiful historic property (and enjoy a gourmet breakfast)! We always cherish the opportunity to stay at a restored early home -- normally you just drive past these gems thinking "if I ever win the lottery, I'm buying a place like that!"

This part of Southern Maryland is an ideal getaway (under two-hour drive) for the DC/NoVa crowd, especially if you love history or just crave someplace beautiful and peaceful. We really enjoyed the wooded, well-marked 3.5 mile hiking/walking loop that skirts along the St. Mary's River then over to Milburn Creek (you can get on the trail right in front of the Inn). There's a very informative trail guide handout that details the dozen or so historical points of interest on the trail.

The highlight of this region is, of course, Historic St. Mary's City, a fascinating way to spend 2-4 hours. In addition, there's Point Lookout State Park (visit the Civil War Museum & Marshland Nature Center, walk the Periwinkle Point Trail, rent a canoe, swim at the beach, fish off the pier), Patuxent Naval Air Museum, Solomons Island (visit the Calvert Marine Museum & Lighthouse, then eat at one of the fun restaurants), look for fossils over at Calvert Cliffs, then swing back to the Inn. (We also highly recommend Mission BBQ -- it was so tasty!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelers077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

History lovers, old house lovers and just lovers will appreciate the welcoming, romantic accommodation at the Inn at Brome Howard. Our beautiful and comfy room (we chose the rosy red walls of Calvert's Retreat), a friendly and responsive innkeeper, Tara, and a delicious spread of a Sunday buffet breakfast included in the room rate set this inn above other area lodgings. Add the lovely historic setting overlooking St. Mary's River with its pastoral grounds and walking paths that lead back to the fascinating sites of St. Mary's City and you've got plenty to do, or not. I'm so glad there are places like this -- what a treat. We enjoyed our relaxing stay here and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Expressions of St. Mary's recently took over the Inn at Brome Howard and it is a spectacular place to visit, stay, have lunch, brunch or host your special event. The new staff are cheerful and respectable. The food has no match. The most wonderful casual lunches can be had in the beautifully decorated historic home, overlooking the river. The grounds are fantastic, they share trails with Historic St.Mary's City and an entire day can be spent exploring the trails and enjoying a stop at the Brome Howard for lunch. I recommend the Brome Howard to all my friends and family as well as recommend staying at the Inn to clients and colleagues when they are visiting the Naval Air Station, no traffic on the way to or from and you are treated like royalty during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visited this lovely Inn in October, which was a lovely and quiet time of year. The Inn is beautifully decorated and in a wonderful waterfront spot with a hiking trail going right through the front yard. It looks like they have a lot of wedding business, probably in the warmer months. Nearby historic St. Mary's City is an informative and entertaining way to spend the day. We found no fault with the Inn itself, and breakfast and lunch are available on site. One slight problem is its remote location, and the relative scarcity of nearby places to have a good dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanisLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Public Relations Manager at The Inn at Brome Howard, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! The country ambiance does come at a price, restaurants are a bit of a drive. Watch for The Inn’s wine tasting dinners and overnight packages -- the next, Bountiful Harvest, will take place on November 15.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have ran the trail that goes around this Inn but never had the chance to go in until Friday for lunch. I didn't know it was a bed and breakfast at first but fell in the love with the décor and just the overall ambiance of this quaint place! I felt I was back in time with the antique glasses and the tall ceilings. JoAnne was taking our drink orders and as the day went on was so kind to my friend and I and encouraged us to explore the gardens and the view of the St. Mary's River. OK, on to lunch: both had the cream of crab soup--delish! Then both tried different salads, one with beets and goat cheese (local from Loveville) and the other was a citrus salad...each with homemade dressing. We also had the bread pudding with bourbon sauce, need I say more? ha oh and lastly mojitos while we walked the grounds. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RV3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's City
4.4 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
7.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington Park Patuxent River Nas, Md
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
10.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Brome Howard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Brome Howard

Property: The Inn at Brome Howard
Address: 18281 Rosecroft Road, PO Box 39, Saint Mary's City, MD 20686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Saint Mary's City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Mary's City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic St. Mary's City's Inn at Brome Howard is the best lodging option for people visiting St. Mary's City. Rest easy at this restored 1840s home furnished with many period pieces. Enjoy views of the serene St. Mary's River, starry nights, and the quiet comfort of one of four serene bedrooms tastefully decorated with heirloom furniture, luxury linens, antiques, and period artwork. Plan a small gathering in the restored plantation house or formal garden, or decorate our on-site party tent for a larger celebration. Full coordination of your event, from furnishings to flowers and everything in between, can be flawlessly presented at affordable prices. A day away, a weekend event, whatever you're planning -- we are ready to help make it happen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brome Howard Hotel Saint Mary`s City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing