We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a must see”

Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience how people live, work and play on the Chesapeake Bay - cruise on the Miles River,get your hands wet exploring a waterman's shanty, let our boat builders show you their magic, or climb to the top of an 1879 lighthouse. Come do the Bay, your way.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely a must see”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a self guided museum, with people along the way to answer questions if you prefer.
From the Revolutionary War era to the present, you'll get a tour of the human progression along the Bay.
Very complete, full of interesting history about the inhabitants, the livelihoods, the water and the variety of watercraft on it - really a worthwhile morning or afternoon.
You can ride out on the water on a charter cruise, and it's really interesting to see the land from the water. Great food at the Cracked Claw restaurant as well!
A nod to conservation efforts and the details thereof.
Interesting and educational! A great combination.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    174
    41
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
“Very Enjoyable...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a great time looking at how log canoes were made, boats, and duck hunting... If you look and read all information, this can take about 3-4 hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank C_T_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A 'must see' if you're in St. Michaels”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Don't miss the opportunity to visit the Maritime Museum when you are in St. Michaels. I could have spent a day here, but realistically, you can complete your tour of the various exhibits in about 2 hours... it's up to you. The beauty of this museum is that the exhibits are inside and outside. This will give you a real sense of how local mariners make/made their living on the Chesapeake. Some of my favorites: viewing and speaking with local volunteers who are building a boat, visiting exhibits which feature the history of crab picking/packing and oyster canning. I visited during the antique boat show so am not sure if the craft show on the grounds was a special thing because of that or if it's there every weekend. Either way, it was a value added feature of my visit to this wonderful museum. While you are here, you might think about taking a boat ride on the tour boat parked at the dock leading into the museum. They leave every couple of hours and take 1 - 2 hour tours of the bay... a nice way to learn the history of the area. I was hungry and parched after leaving the museum and took advantage of having lunch at the Crab Claw, also located right next door. (See separate restaurant review) If this doesn't suit you, there is also an offering of a variety of vendor foods (hot dogs, hamburgers, etc.) on the grounds of the museum.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBMM_Munson, General Manager at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for visiting the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum and especially for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're so glad you had a great visit! While we have great food at all our signature events, we do not have concessions during general Museum hours, due to zoning restrictions in the Town of St. Michaels. No worries, however, as the Crab Claw Restaurant is right next door and LOTS of great restaurants just a short walk to the Museum. What's more, visitors are welcome to leave for a meal or shopping, and come back - general admission is also good for two days. Thanks again for your visit and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Superb Overview Of The Bay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The museum had grown from a simple presentation of life on the Bay to a comprehensive examination of the Bay area. It covers history, technology, and the people of the area, and is well worth the money. It's possible to spend a day here. The cost is moderate, and well worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Kid-Friendly Outdoor Exhibits”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum in St. Michaels, MD is actually a collection of a dozen buildings with exhibits focused mostly on the Chesapeake crabbing and oyster industries. The most interesting part of the museum is an old lighthouse that was decommissioned, brought to the museum's location, and restored to its original state. Signs inside the structure explain how the lighthouse keepers lived and worked.

Most of the buildings are open to the air, so this activity probably isn't a good choice for a rainy day (especially in hard rain / lightning conditions), but when the sun's out, it's pleasant to wander from exhibit to exhibit in the fresh air.

Admission is good for two days, so it's possible to split your visit into parts... however, unless you have a serious interest in commercial fishing / crabbing on the Bay, seeing as much as you can in a 1-2 hour visit is probably plenty. Individual admission is $15/person (less for children), which seems fair if you visit all the exhibits but feels steep if you only visit a few (especially as a family).

Boat rides on the Winnie Estelle are not included in admission and must be purchased at the ticket desk for an additional $15/person.

I'd certainly recommend visiting the museum if you're in the area, but be aware that it mainly covers human activity on the Bay (not maritime wildlife or ecology).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBMM_Munson, General Manager at Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum and especially for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. While everything is focused on the history, environment, and people of the Chesapeake Bay, we do cover it from many aspects in our numerous exhibits, including Waterfowling on the Chesapeake, and our War of 1812 exhibits, for example. We have also recently changed the pricing on river cruises aboard the 1920 buy boat WINNIE ESTELLE. Museum admission is not required, with non-member adults at $15; CBMM-member adults $10; Kids 6-17 $5; and kids under six FREE. A combined Museum admission/Winnie Estelle ticket can also be purchased for $25, and includes two-days admission to the Museum. Thanks again for your review - we hope you will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing