We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cocktail cruise on the river!”
Review of Patriot Cruises

Patriot Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine taking in the beauty of the Miles River and St Michaels on a replica of a 1930's steam ship called "The Patriot". We help you become familiar with the area as we cruise upon the beautiful Miles River, part of the Chesapeake Bay Estuary which is the largest in the Western Hemisphere. Learn about our local beginnings, view historic homes and wildlife, and watch local watermen harvest clams, oysters and the famous Chesapeake Bay Blue Crab during their respective seasons.The PATRIOT offers more than the historical scenic cruises for which it is famous. Four daily cruises are scheduled as well as evening charters for a variety of events. Let our captain and crew cater your small intimate affairs with close friends, family reunions, corporate events and more! Relax while you and your guests enjoy beautiful views along the Miles River that change with the seasons. We cruise from Mid-May to Mid- October at 12:30 and 2:30pm on Weekdays and at 11am, 12:30, 2:30 and 4:00pm on Weekends. We hold our famous Island Music Cocktail Cruise on many Saturday evenings at 5:30pm. Check our Patriot Cruises website for availability.We cruise weekends only from Mid-April through Mid-May and Mid-Ocotber through Mid- November at 12:30 and 2:30pm.Prices are $24.50 for Adults, $22.00 for those 65 and over, $12.50 for those 12-17, $5.00 for those 3-11 and all under 3 are free!
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just took the Island Music Cocktail cruise on Saturday evening; what a wonderful way to spend a beautiful evening experiencing the beautiful homes and scenery along the Miles River. The music was fun and the Patriot is absolutely spotless, not overly crowded and comfortable even though it was sold out. Great crew also - had a wonderful time and would highly recommend to anyone!

Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriotCruises, Owner at Patriot Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

My personal favorite cruise of the day is The island Music Cocktail Cruise. We have a blast kicking off most Saturday evenings in St. Michaels. We limit this cruise to 60 people so the everyone can either sit under cover upstairs, congregate and socialize on the bow or join the captain in the pilot house and it makes for a wonderful cruise. Thanks so much for cruising with us and taking the time to write this wonderful review. It means allot to us on The Patriot. Capt. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain john"
in 19 reviews
"miles river"
in 77 reviews
"snack bar"
in 17 reviews
"top deck"
in 12 reviews
"narrated cruise"
in 7 reviews
"wedding crashers"
in 9 reviews
"great cruise"
in 11 reviews
"ticket booth"
in 7 reviews
"river cruise"
in 6 reviews
"bought tickets"
in 4 reviews
"hot dogs"
in 6 reviews
"climate controlled"
in 6 reviews
"nice tour"
in 4 reviews
"full bar"
in 4 reviews
"evening cruise"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 8 reviews
"highly recommend this cruise"
in 4 reviews
Filter

179 - 183 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took a cruise on a whim and due to the endorsement of a friend who had rented the entire boat for a group of relatives visiting the area. The cruise nicely compliments a visit to the Maritime Museum, just next door to the boat's dock.

Thank Beachbumman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriotCruises, Owner at Patriot Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for cruising with us and taking the time to review us. Capt. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Recently had a mid-afternoon trip aboard the Patriot Cruise ship. The captain made the trip a lot of fun. We saw beautiful homes, wildlife and enjoyed the scenery. It is a calm ride and was perfect for a day of dark clouds and drizzle. Great for families too.

Thank DraxNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriotCruises, Owner at Patriot Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks so much for cruising with us and writing this wonderful review. Some of our best cruises are on grey or even rainy days. We have indoor and outdoor protected seating so you can still enjoy the sights and beauty of St. Michaels from the water. Thanks again, Capt. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a wonderful way to spend an hour or so. A nicely narrated tour down the Miles River.

A few complaints: Buying tickets at the ticket booth was a nightmare. A few very noisy kids on board.

The narration sometimes was in sync with the location of the boat.

A special treat for the kids was the captain having each of them "steer". Then at the end of the cruise he thanked the crew, which including special thank you to....he named every kid that helped steer. This is something I think all kids on board will be talking about for a long time.

2  Thank Sue in reho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriotCruises, Owner at Patriot Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks you so much for cruising with us. You are right about the ticket booth that day... It was a little crazy. We have taken a few steps to resolve that issue and strive for perfection in ape very aspect of our customers experience. As for the noisy kids... We try to keep them busy in the pilot house if they get noisy or have a crew member engage them. Unfortunately, sometimes this is not enough and we apologize for the detracting from your experience. Capt. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I went on this cruise today. In the summer the cruise goes out at 11, 12:30, 2:30pm & 4pm. The 12:30 cruise is longer - 90 minutes, while the others are 70 minutes. Same price. I was hoping for a AAA discount, but no luck. I enjoyed the cruise and hearing about the history of the area. There are some spectacular houses along the Miles River, including the house where Wedding Crashers was filmed. The staff were extremely nice. Great customer service. They will let you on the boat 10 minutes early but need 10 minutes to "clean" the boat between cruises. Surprisingly light crowds in St Michaels today. I took a ton of pics, but they are all still on my camera. The only reason I didn't rate this excellent is because the smell of the diesel fuel gave me a headache, but that was probably because I did a wine tasting right before I went on the boat.

2  Thank mekopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patriot Cruises also viewed

 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Patriot Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing