We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Lication”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Brick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Brick Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Lication”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at other B&B's in the area, still looking for "The One". B&B's have a monopoly on places to stay in St Michaels. We decided to book a room at the Kemp House which is just a few minutes walk to the main building, The Old Brick Inn. The main Bldg is also where you have to go to check in and get your breakfast. We stayed in the Col Joseph Kemp room which is located on the 2nd floor, facing the main st. The room was small but didn't feel crowded. Did not hear much traffic or other noises from the street. The sink is located just inside the door when you walk in as the bathroom is small with only room for a toilet and shower. There are 2 chairs and a table by the window and a working fireplace. They delivered a duraflame log to our room which was nice on a chilly night. My only problem was that the bed was not that comfortable. It felt very hard and only wish there were more comforters around to sleep on to reduce the hardness of the breakfast was ok, just remember to go to main house to get it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarKat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    85
    24
    16
    18
See reviews for
23
358
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this b&b. We stayed in the French Country. The bed was very comfortable and had wonderful sheets. Lori at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and her suggestions were all excellent. The breakfast was nicely served. The fruit bread served on the side board was especially delicious. The shower situation is a little strange as you have to climb into this deep jacuzzi tub & use a wall mounted hand-held shower nozzle that is in the corner. This set-up would not work well if you are not sure-footed. We enjoyed being in the middle of town right near all the shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and l stayed at the Old Brick Inn a couple years ago and had a wonderful stay in the Kemp House. This time around was quite different. For the price, the room and bathroom were extremely small. The front desk was on the opposite side of the bathroom and we could here every reservation being made...so much for privacy. The staff did not seem trained. The woman at the front desk did not know how to put our coupon into their system, which took check in about 30 minutes. The "extensive" wine selection that was advertised was a small closet with a small wine selection, and the woman at the front desk could not tell us anything about the wines or figure out how to charge us for the wine. The next night there was a different woman at the front desk who also did not know anything. The pool did not look like it had been cleaned in weeks with leaves and crap floating in it. While the breakfast was good, the woman serving both mornings was highly annoying. We has to listen to her speech every freaking morning about how we are not in school and are encouraged to talk. We love St Michaels but will look elsewhere for accommodations in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Chesapeake room. The room was large and very beautiful. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was very fresh and delicious. The Inn is perfectly located for checking out the shops and restaurants. All are within walking distance. We look forward to our return trip to beautiful St. Michaels and The Old Brick Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Old Brick Inn for a three night stay. The inn is located in the center of town and is in walking distance to all attractions. The accommodations were nice. Room was very clean and nicely appointed. Very friendly and accommodating staff There was also a pool located in a cute court yard. It was nice to go for a swim after a day of sightseeing. The Inn is also close to some of the best restaurants in town. Bistro, Ava's, Theo's and Gina's are a few houses away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srsnj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary in St. Michael's this past weekend and we stayed at the Old Brick Inn. We were lucky enough to stay in the Chesapeake Room, which is the honeymoon suite. Our jaws dropped when we first saw the room because it was so beautiful. The staff was extremely gracious and friendly. They went out of their way to make things special for us, leaving prosecco, a cheese plate, and chocolates for us in the room. The Old Brick Inn is also in a perfect location...we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, which is especially convenient if you are visiting the winery or brewery :) I highly recommend The Old Brick Inn....we had an unforgettable time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was my second time staying at the Old Brick Inn. My fiance and I stayed in 2010 and loved it. On our recent visit we chose a different room, the French Country Room, mainly because it appeared to be a little more romantic and we were there for a very special occasion. When I booked the room the main reason for choosing that room was that it had a jacuzzi tub. We arrived on a Sunday and had a very special dinner and returned to our room to enjoy the jacuzzi tub, however, to our dismay the jets in the tub were broken. At the time we chalked it up to bad luck.

The following day we mentioned to the front desk staff that the jets in the tub were broken. We were informed that they would make a note of it or look into it (cannot recall the exact words).

Upon arriving home after three days and two nights at the Old Brick Inn I decided to leave reviews for the wonderful restaurants and lodging we had during our trip. I was extremely dismayed to read a comment for the Old Brick Inn dated 10/2012 from another patron about the same issue in the French Country Room. I immediately sent an email to the innkeeper about what had happened and how it appeared that they were already aware that the jets in the jacuzzi tub were broken long ago but failed to be upfront about it. Had I been informed upon booking the French Country Room two months prior to my visit that the jets were not operable, I simply would have chosen a different room as one of the main reasons I chose that room was because of the jacuzzi tub. My email either was not received or was ignored as I did not receive a response from the staff at the Old Brick Inn.

HONESTY IS ALWAYS THE BEST POLICY!

Room Tip: Don't choose the French Country Room if you intend on using the jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
995 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
316 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
0.9 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Brick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Brick Inn

Property: The Old Brick Inn
Address: 401 S. Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Brick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of St.Michaels, The Old Brick Inn and Kemp House are elegant, historic homes built in the early 1800s. Both offer European charm with modern updates for the comfort of our guests. Our highly professional staff work tirelessly to ensure that every guest has his/her needs met. Nineteen luxurious guest rooms all have ensuite private baths, digital TV and free wireless. Several premium rooms offer whirlpool tubs or double showers. Our private courtyard features a perfect gathering area for friends and guests to relax and enjoy our premium beer and wine list. On-site parking is available for all of our guests. Our inn includes a full breakfast(not the norm in St Michaels). We now have a beautiful bar where all of our guests can relax and enjoy the libation of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Old Brick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Brick Hotel St. Michaels
The Old Brick Inn St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing