We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest place I have ever stayed”
Review of The Old Brick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Brick Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the nicest place I have ever stayed”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are delicious and filling, the room was beautiful...overall a fabulous weekend. We arrived in St. Michael during the off season which meant many restaurants were closed for the season. The gentleman who checked us in poi ted out the few that were still open and was very helpful in making our stay a delight. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We were there off season and faced the main street. I would suppose that during the summer months wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vahlvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodie11112, Owner at The Old Brick Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Vahlvt,

As owners, we are indeed gratified by your kind words, and we want to make sure you are just as happy on your subsequent visits. Each of our rooms is individually decorated, and I am sure we can help you select a different room for each visit. Many of our rooms feature king beds and double jet tubs or showers. But all rooms have all the amenities you want for your stay!

As the warm weather comes, we will be having patio events for our guests. These events are always a pre-dinner hit with our guests. And if you are at all a wine lover, consider Winefest at St. Michaels which is held the last weekend in April. The Old Brick Inn is the home of WInefest.

In any event, we hope you will come and see us soon!

All the best, George and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    92
    24
    16
    18
See reviews for
29
381
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent stay, cozy town, very frienly atmosfere. Very nice, old hotel, friendly staff, very good wine (sparkling too) to buy and drink in the hotel. Nice breakfast - eggs, yogurt, pancakes etc. but nothing to eat for people on diet!!! (please introduce some gluten free diet and more fruits and some vegetables, please). Rooms with fireplace (the gas one's, so I missed the sound and smell of firewoods), very romantic, comfortable, cozy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stopped in St. Michael's for one night after Christmas on our way home to Baltimore. We chose The Old Brick Inn because of the choice of rooms, included breakfast, and the friendly and easy booking process over the phone. Typically they have a two night minimum, but since our trip was spontaneous and we only wanted to stay one night (on a Saturday no less), they helped us out!

We stayed in the Captain's Quarters. Super comfy bed with a fireplace in the room. The Inn is right in the middle of all the action: winery, brewery, now a distillery! (so good!), shops and restaurants. Great value, great service, great breakfast...

Check it out! We had a really fun time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I always return to the Kemp House when I can during Christmas in St. Michaels where I am met by gracious hosts, delicious breakfasts and a sheltered viewing of the Christmas Parade. I always wait to complete my Christmas shopping because of the unique shops and joyful welcoming atmosphere. It has become an annual tradition and I will surely return in 2014!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodie11112, Owner at The Old Brick Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear YV,

We are always happy to have you each Christmas, and we would love to have you during our wonderful springtime here in St. Michaels.

We are planning several events this spring which include Olive Oil tastings, special dipping breads, beer tastings, and other events for our guests. Some of these events will be indoor, but as soon as we have warmer weather, the pool and patio will be the venue!

Again, thank you your review and we hope to see you soon!

Cheers,

George and Barbara, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Having stayed at several B&Bs in St. Michaels, I found that too often owners confuse "charming and historic" with "old and in need of renovation". This is not the case at The Old Brick Inn! The Inn is beautiful, historic, AND updated! Our weekend at Christmas in St. Michaels was made even better with the clean, comfortable, charming Loire room (my husband was thrilled with the large flat-screened TV after a day of walking!) and the friendly, attentive staff. The breakfast room was cozy and welcoming, gorgeously decorated for the season. Breakfasts were delicious! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodie11112, Owner at The Old Brick Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We the owners of the Old Brick Inn are so happy you had such a good time at the Inn. I hope you will return and keep a lookout for our winter special emails which include wine tastings, special food events and other interesting and unique weekend events.

Please also tell all of your friends about us, and keep in mind our great Winefest event at the end of April.

Again, thank you so much,

Barbara and George, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had a lovely time in St. Michaels, and the overnight trip was made even better with our stay at the Old Brick Inn. We lucked out - our initial accommodations fell through, but the Old Brick Inn had a room for us the day we arrived. We stayed at the Kemp House, which was well-situated on the main road, and within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and gave us restaurant recommendations that were perfect. The room we chose was small, but quaint and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and filling. I'd definitely stay there again, and there are plenty of other interesting rooms to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverford, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What wonderful luck that on our first visit to St. Michael's we found The Old Brick Inn. What a wonderful two days we spent there on October 24th/25th. The location is ideal and once we parked the car, we were not back in it until our departure. We walked everywhere. There is so much to see, especially on the side streets.
Our room was lovely--clean and fresh. The fireplace heated our room perfectly as the heat had not been turned on yet. Breakfasts in the morning were delicious and much attention was given to presentation. You could also opt for oatmeal, cereal, and hard boiled eggs, which were always available on the server. And let's not forget, a homemade bread as well. A great way to start the day. Thank you to the chefs!!!!
We especially enjoyed the wine tasting night on the 25th. We had a wonderful time meeting some of the other guests and talking with John and Lori....the wine was delicious, too. I took a bottle home as a special memento of our trip.
I cannot close without making special mention of the kindness and thoughtfulness of Lori and John, who went above and beyond to make this a special two days for my husband and I. It was a perfect trip and we look forward to a return visit ...... soon!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms will bring less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fasabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
459 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
340 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
1.0 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Brick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Brick Inn

Property: The Old Brick Inn
Address: 401 S. Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Brick Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of St.Michaels, The Old Brick Inn and Kemp House are elegant, historic homes built in the early 1800s. Both offer European charm with modern updates for the comfort of our guests. Our highly professional staff work tirelessly to ensure that every guest has his/her needs met. Twenty luxurious guest rooms all have ensuite private baths, digital TV and free wi-fi. Several premium rooms offer Jacuzzi tubs or double showers. Our private courtyard features a perfect gathering area for friends and guests to relax and enjoy our premium beer and wine list. Free on-site parking is available for all of our guests. Our inn includes a full breakfast(not the norm in St Michaels). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Brick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Brick Hotel St. Michaels
The Old Brick Inn St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing