We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly place”

Ava's Pizzeria & Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly place”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We had a private dining area upstairs that was perfect for our loud family. Food was very good and service was attentive. Sandwiches, pizza and main courses were very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    280
    56
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still the best around”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Ava's is still serving the best pizza in these parts and the rest of the menu just keeps getting better. I had a soup and salad for lunch while my friend had the pizza special so I get a couple so pieces of that. The soups here are all home made and very tasty. And, while some salads change daily as specials you can't go wrong getting there wedge served with a sweet salsa like dressing that includes real bacon along with fresh chopped veggies. The pizza is still wood oven baked with always make the crust crisp yet chewy. The aroma of the oak burning in the pizza oven will guide you to the place and your pleased taste buds will bring you back time and time again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestoeat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love Ava's Great Pizza and Salads!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Come early, they are usually crowded!

WE come via boat several times a year and love it. If you enjoy thin crust gourmet style pizza this is a "must" to stop at.

The service has always been good, not great. The food great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annapolis_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Obviously one of the few places open on a Tuesday.... It was crowded and very noisy......We entered and waited at the door for 5 minutes without being acknowledged so we left.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceabiscuit, Owner at Ava's Pizzeria & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a hectic fall lunch and unfortunately we did not meet your expectations nor ours. Our standard is to take no more than 30 seconds to greet a guest. After reviewing our video of you coming to the front door, you did wait a 1:40 before leaving. Sorry we were not able to seat you quickly and to our standards. We hope that if you are in St. Michaels again you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great salads and pizza !”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Here for a wedding. Stopped in at lunch with the crew. Great homemade chips. Got a goat cheese salad and some really great artisan style pizza! I say try it. The patio out back is a great venue.

Helpful?
Thank gryphon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ava's Pizzeria & Wine Bar also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to Ava's Pizzeria & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing