We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Thomas Blades House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Thomas Blades House
Park and Harbor 1/2 block from House Rear of house with large screened porch and deck for BBQing!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Front of Thomas Blades House
Park and Harbor 1/2 block from House
Rear of house with large screened porch and deck for BBQing!
Side of Thomas Blades House
Living Room
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen Area with family room and screened porch in background.
North End of Family Room
South End of Family room with queen sleep sofa
Large Rear Porch for relaxing!
Master Bedroom with King Bed
Second Bedroon South End with Queen bed
Second Bedroom North End with child's bed
Second floor bathroom with bathtub and shower
First floor half bath
Historic marker
Sign on front of house
Town Park half block from House
Historic Street Photo - Blades House Second from Left
Blades House during Holidays
Park half Block from House
St. Michaels Harbor from Park
Sunrise over harbor half block from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St. Michaels, Talbot County, Maryland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
merabeth2...
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The house is located about a block away from the main street and about a block away from the waterfront. We appreciated that the house was pet-friendly for our dog. The home was very comfortable and had everything we needed during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbforet
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“wonderful stay: great home and location!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We went to St. Michael's as a weekend getaway with the family, and had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the Thomas Blades house. It was a very convenient location in the middle of town, walkable to everything. It was great that it came with 2 bikes. We enjoyed our time out on the screened porch, and the living area was very comfortable to relax in also. Everything we needed was provided for us, and the kitchen was well equipped for cooking light meals. Highly recommend this house, we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovestoTr...
Chesapeake, VA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great House in a Charming Town”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We so enjoyed our visit to St. Michael's and the cottage on Locust Street was the perfect place to stay . The location of the cottage was gteat being so close to the main street , Talbot Street, and to the water where we dined several times while we were there . The house is quaint and definitely lives up to the pictures. Our little dog enjoyed St. Michael's and was able to go everywhere with us . We highly recommend both the town and the cottage !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spook62
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable and lovely home away from home”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Spent three nights at this lovely home in St. Michael's. Right in the center of town--easy to walk to shops and restaurants. the house was clean and well-equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Would definitely return to St. Michael's and would book this house again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the feel of the house
Liked least: The internet access was a problem--mostly not able to connect. In the end this turned out to be a blessing! I was really able to unwind.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlin P
Nanty Glo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in downtown St. Michaels”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015

For the past three years we have visited St. Michaels several times a year. On our first visit we discovered three rental properties in the heart of town. On our return we first rented the Thomas Blades house. Blades house is a restored and updated sailing captain’s home. The house is well-appointed with a full kitchen and fully furnished rooms. The house is well-maintained, comfortable, and clean. Everything you could possibly want is there for your use. With two bedrooms each with a double bed, it is comfortable and convenient for a family of four or two couples.
There is a nice-sized living room, full kitchen, and another quaint sitting room/game room/dining room as well as the fully furnished large living room, and half bath on the first floor. With TV and wireless Internet this home is the ideal vacation destination.
We have returned to the Blades house at least 4 times in the past few years. As we always do, we totally enjoyed the conveniences and the accommodations of Tom’s rentals; all the comforts of home just a block from downtown in the amazing village of St. Michaels. We highly recommend any of the properties on Locust St and the hospitality and friendliness of the owner.
This house is my favorite of the rentals with its huge open space living/dining/kitchen area. The rooms are all well-furnished and comfortable in this quaint waterman’s village. With so much to see and do in the area, this house makes it all an ideal vacation spot.
Whenever we vacation in St. Michaels, we will be happy to rent either of the two homes on Locust Street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, conveniences, furnishings. Roomy and close to everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanie H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our pick...Thomas Blade House”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

For probably the past twenty years my husband andI have spent days week-ends and weeks exploring the Eastern Shores of the Chesapeake Bay area. It is safe to say that fifteen of those twenty years we always ended back in the charming town of St. Michaels trying Inns,B&B`s until we discovered The Thomas Blade cottage which is now synonimous to St. Michaels.It`s charm comfort and location take it totally off all charts.Upstairs is a large Master Bedroom with a king sized bed(very comfortable)a second bedroom with a queen sized bed and child`s trundle bed...a bathroom with shower and bath plus a washer and dryer.All very clean.Downstairs you can enter thru a very pleasant screened in porch. French doors open up to a tastefully paneled ,hardwood floor,eating and television area and the open kitchen with granite counters,built in microwave and ample utensils to eat and cook should you desire!The front(and original portion of the cottage) features built in bookshelves,another dining area,powder room ,fireplace all tastefully decorated with Mr.Byrne`s antiques. Photographs tell the truth so do check out the photos on this site. Least I forget to mention location...less than a block from downtown St. Michaels with its fun and unique shops and the delectible dining!
Mr. Thomas Byrne is most accommodating and a pleasure to work with. Trust me, you will not regret a stay at the Thomas Blade House in St.Michaels,Md.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallactic...
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely town”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a lovely little cottage in a lovely little town. The location is perfect- right in the middle of St Michael's. Close to the harbor, the Chesapeake Maritime Museum, nice shops, great restaurants. The cottage was spotless and very comfortable. The enclosed back patio was a nice amenity. The kitchen area in the cottage is a good size (although has very limited cabinet space for storing any groceries you may purchase or have with you- but there is a good amount of counter space). We didn't spend much time in the front original portion of the house. It is lovely and beautifully restored but a little dark. Perhaps some more/brighter lighting? There were also some burned out bulbs throughout the house. Would have replaced them but there weren't any extras in the house. These were very very minor issues though. We were able to bring our Labrador Retriever and were able to take him with us when we would go out to dinner- lots of places that were dog friendly. For us, being able to have our pretty large dog with us was the best part of being able to rent this home. It was really perfect for all our needs. We would love to rent this home again whenever we return to St Michael's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/able to bring our dog/cleanliness
Liked least: Lack of lighting in certain parts of the house/burned out bulbs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thanks for the heads up on the few burnt out bulbs. They are now replaced!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing