We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Inn in St. Michaels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Five Gables Inn & Spa
Ranked #8 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing Inn in St. Michaels”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here for a one night getaway for a $99 per night rate in one of their King rooms. First off, it is more of an Inn with a continental breakfast (as it is called) than a B&B, but we knew that before we booked and were happy with the stay. We had a first floor king room with a gas fireplace, small porch, and a single whirlpool tub in the bath. We used the fireplace and it worked fine. We spent a good amount of time sitting on the porch, it does have the parking lot nearby, but it was never an annoyance. Our porch did feature comfy adirondack style chairs, but the other rooms next to ours all had less comfortable looking chairs. The walls were not soundproof but since it seemed to be mostly couples staying there, we didn't hear much from the neighbors. The room was small but clean, tv was tiny but had a dvd player so we watched a movie in the morning. Free wireless internet was available without a password, so easy to connect to. We tried the indoor pool, the pool room was heated and the water was comfortable, but was very small and more of a novelty. There is also a sauna and steam room available. Breakfast was pretty simple; muffins, breads, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice, and yogurt. The Inn consists of 3 buildings, the main one we stayed in on the river side of Talbot St (MD-8), and two on the other side of the street which had the breakfast room. Outside of the pool room and next to our room was the side of the building, there were some stacks of bricks and other materials that could be cleaned up to make it look a little nicer.

All in all, a fine place to stay for a night in St. Michaels, especially for $99 a night. Prices do go up substantially for the tourist season, not sure I would pay for a stay here then. The Inn is at the one end of town, but you can walk to the other end in 10 mins, so the location is great.

Room Tip: We stayed in King Room 4 in the main building, it was on the back side of the main building on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmorechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Five Gables Inn & Spa. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    74
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
13
142
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We really like this place. It has all the benefits and liabilities of a small place. Great beds and linens p, charming rooms (suites especially), spectacular showers (9 shower heads including rain forest), double bathtubs, fireplaces. As has been noted, rooms are not soundproof, breakfast is not a priority and there is no workout room, but these shortcomings are well within normal for B & B patrons. And St. Michael's is a truly charming place in all seasons of the year. Sad to see two of our favorite restaurants close (208 & Bistro) but lots of other choices abound. And not a fast food place to be found!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ottrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was our 2nd stay at Five Gables. We had room 78, a suite that was very nice. It had two bathrooms, which we were surprised. One had a two person jacuzzi, the other, a multi head rain shower. Being between the holidays, we basically had the place to ourselves (which made the $149 rate a real bargain), so it was very private. K-cup coffee maker and refrig in room were nice touches. However, for an inn of this regard, we expect a much better breakfast offering than the continental that is served. FYI, we had none of the cleanliness issues mentioned in recent reviews.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikencarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadephia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Getting this room at a discounted $99 mitigated some of its shortcomings. Fireplace didn't work, not much buffer between rooms so even normal conversation can be heard, balcony or porch has view of parking lot, rooms beginnning to show signs of wear, more attention to detail by cleaning staff needed. Other than that not too bad- location is nice but never stayed at a B&B with a 'continental breakfast" before.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonStaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herndon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Dirty bathroom with mildew around the whorl pool tub and tub not clean, dirty ring around. Filthy bathroom floor, sink and toilet. Wash cloths were rags old and torn. White shower curtain dirty from multiple people. Bed was supposed to be a "plush queen" but was more like a small full size. Furniture faded and worn.
Breakfast was a disappointment.
Don't waste your money!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, but we were not made aware of any problems during the time that you were here. If we had been aware and given the opportunity, we would have immediately taken steps to resolve any problems with the room to your satisfaction. All of our guests are treated with the utmost care and we strive to offer our guests the accommodations they expect. We appreciate your comments and hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My grown daughters and I had planned a weekend get-away to visit the Five Gables Inn. We were excited to spend some mother/daughter quite time together. Having been repeat visiters we thought this would be the perfect place, and that we would be welcomed. When we arrived two hours after check in we were told only that the room that we booked was now unavailable. Supposedly there were plumbing issues, but actually there were bugs in the room. We were perplexed? Why did'nt you phone? We had driven many hours and were exhausted! There was no apology or explaination. The town was booked. We were given a room that sleeps 2 and had to fight for a "last minute discount". My daughter slept in a chair. What we once thought was a good get-away destination has now become a bad memory. No hospitality at all. Should have booked at a road side motel; they might have cared more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolnylund12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveGables, Manager at Five Gables Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time visit TripAdvisor. I’m dismayed to see that you feel you did not receive any hospitality, as you were actually offered 2 separate suites. Had you choose this option, there would have been plenty of sleeping arrangements for the three of you.
We feel that by offering you 2 suites (one at no charge) that we were being very accommodating and hospitable.
Most Sincerely,
Heather Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdsboro, PA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Did not stay at this Inn, only used the Spa for a massage. My wife and I had a couples massage. The treatment lasted an hour and the masseuse was very good. We were greeted promptly, given choice of aromatherapy to use in the massage oils and led back to the room for the service. Lights were down low, soft music in the background and someone who knew how to work the knots out of your body. While it was costly I feel we got value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcarmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
457 reviews
7.7 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
339 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
0.7 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn & Spa

Property: Five Gables Inn & Spa
Address: 209 N Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Gables Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Chesapeake Bay village of St Michaels, Five Gables Inn & Spa blends historic charm and warmth with a luxury spa experience. Accommodations include spa tubs and fireplaces and are complemented by the inn's indoor pool, sauna and steam room, generous amenities, a gracious a truly helpful staff and a superb location. Our meeting room is a great place to hold executive retreats and company meetings. The on-site spa is open daily and offers a full range of relaxing treatments featuring Aveda products and skillful professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Five Gables Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Gables Inn & Spa
Five Gables Hotel St. Michaels
Five Gables Inn And Spa
Five Gables Inn & Spa St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing