We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George Brooks House B&B
Ranked #5 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in the winter. We enjoyed our weekend, the house, and the inn keeper. Since it was cold weather, we especially enjoyed the gas fire place which is available in several rooms. My wife appreciated the innkeeper accommodating her dietary needs. The house is located on the edge of town which may be a factor depending on your desires; we thought it was nice and peaceful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    99
    26
    20
    6
See reviews for
26
282
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

While our recent stay at the George Brooks House B & B wasn't awful, it was definitely not as expected. Our stay was in the first week of March. Several inches of snow covered the walkways, steps and porch. No attempt had been made to clear it. We had 2 rooms. Room one had a partially repaired toilet tissue holder (only half of it was there) and the television could not be seen from either chair. Room two's door did not latch. From the outside it had to be locked and unlocked in a specific manner with a skeleton key; from the inside, the door was held shut by a deadbolt switch. If one had to get in in order to use the bathroom quickly, this was not the room for you. The closet had no rod and the shower door did not shut the entire way. Both rooms had much needed gas fireplaces to warm the place up, but the innkeeper said he was not able to locate their remotes, so guests had to operate a small switch in a small box on the floor. The rooms heated up to 88-90 degrees quickly and then cooled just as rapidly when the unit was later turned off. The lower portion of one bedside table was broken off and missing. In the communal area, the refrigerator holding water and sodas was outside in the cold and snow AND had mold growing in it. The coffee area invited close inspection of the mugs to locate a clean one.
The area behind the front desk was a cluttered hodgepodge of paperwork, books, Christmas decorations, etc.
Will, the innkeeper, was very nice but did not appeared suited to the maintenance of a B & B. He was friendly, helpful and made us a delicious breakfast. The overall experience was mediocre and the appearance of the property was not as pictured, even given the change in season.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRockLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillWorkman, General Manager at George Brooks House B&B, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
There are times when you see a review like this and get a real disconnect with the service provided and the exchange with the guest(s) while they were here. There is such a long list of problems in this review . . . you wonder why they didn't say anything while they were here. Some of the complaints are valid . . we had snow starting off with ice the day before they arrived and there was ice frozen below the 1-2" of snow . . the traction was better on he snow than the ice. We had to wait for the sun to warm up the bricks so we could break up the ice and clear it . . which was done after they arrived and before they went out to dinner. Apparently it just takes one thing like this to set some guests off . There were minor problems with the two Queen rooms . . the toilet paper holder broke off in one room and we had patched the drywall before we can mount the new type of holder (directly into a stud). The remote control on the TV had stopped working or was missing . . I showed them how to turn on/off using the black control box at the base and on the floor. Her elderly parents stayed in this room and the two daughters stayed across the hallway. This is an historic building and the door lock on the second room is original to the house (over 100 years old) . . the old skeleton key is a little tricky . . I showed them how it works. The hinge on the door in the shower has started to separate at the top and the door is sagging off and hits the trim . . need to replace the door and hinge (will be done over the next few weeks) . . but you can close the door but it takes a firm pull .. . just a little water can leak out as the shower head is pointed at the other wall. Everything was working in both rooms . . the beds were fine, shower and bathroom fixtures, heating control, and TV and DVD (we have an extensive DVD movie collection including the latest releases like "12 years a Slave" and Gravity) Their parents room had two wing chairs . . one facing the armoire with TV and the other on the other side of the bed. You can watch the TV from the one wing chair, the bed bench in front of the bed next to the fireplace (good place to warm up by the fire on these frigid winter days) and the Queen bed. We could have moved the other wing chair to where the night stand was next to the bed if they wanted to watch TV from both chairs . . but no request was made. The other room has the TV on top of the desk where you can turn it for watching from the bed or either chair in the room. etc. The comment about mold in the guest refrigerator is just plain wrong . . a can of root beer had frozen and leaked onto the small shelf . . we had just cleaned both refrigerators in the past few weeks. This has been a trying winter . . lots of sub-freezing temperatures . . but we have kept the refrigerator on the the outdoor patio in service . . so the guest refrigerator in the garden room has plenty of room for the guest beer, wine or food. If you visit an inn in this area toward the end of a brutal winter . . you can't expect the outside to be the shape you would expect in nice weather. Some guests understand this . . but if you have a problem or need something, talk to the innkeeper . . or call them on their cell phone if they aren't immediately available at the reception counter. We generally get high marks for our inn and our service . . but this fall with the work on the pool and the hot tub along with an early and prolonged winter has made it that much tougher.

Sincerely, Will Workman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Visited two weekends ago as a little getaway for our anniversary for a two night stay. Once we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who showed us the room and property. We did not have any problem with clutter etc as described in the other reviews. Not at all. The owner, Will, was friendly and shared with us an album about the amazing restoration of this house. Also, he provided maps, as well as advice for dinner arrangements, and made dinner reservation for us. My husband had arranged for roses, chocolates, and champagne, which waited for us. There was a refrigerator with water, soda, etc right outside our room, which was handy. The room was nice and cosy- LOVED the fireplace, which kept the room very warm. The bathroom did not have a lot of places to put toiletries, and was pretty small, especially the shower. The hot tub was lovely- thought a bit outdated.
The bed was comfortable, the room a bit dark for my taste- but in keeping with the overall character of the house.
Breakfast was very good the first day. Plenty of coffee and nice variety of K-cups. The second morning more guests had arrived and everyone ate at the long table. Personally, I prefer BnBs with individual tables to allow for a less crowded breakfast experience, but that is a personal preference. Space around the table was a bit tight, but service was good. Food again was lovely.
My only gripe was that the room was not made up after we returned from a day out Saturday- for the price of the rooms I would have expected that. We were asked if we needed towels, which we did not. We left for dinner and the room again was untouched after we returned.
After leaving Sunday, Will contacted us per email as I had managed to forget my very expensive earphones. Will very kindly sent them to us promptly- which was much appreciated!
Overall, we really enjoyed our weekend away. We wanted a quiet and peaceful getaway, which is what we found. I appreciated that the property was off the busy main street, but still very conveniently located. In the summer, guests will find a lovely pool, pretty patio area, and outside hot tub. In addition, numerous bikes are offered to guests for free rental to explore the area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room which was conveniently located on the first floor, in close proximity to the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Visited early fall, was not as advertised. Nobody at desk, cluttered sitting area, owner arrived after ten minutes, seemed the owner was preoccupied not very sociable. Cobwebs in staiarwell, room adequate but not worth the price. Pillows old and flat, blanket ripped room dusty. Bathroom missing tiles, rooms need a good cleaning, plus dead bugs on windows. Breakfast fair, you had to search drawers for more k-cups, glass on floor near refrig some dirty. Beverages on cluttered outside patio. After reading other reviews, seems like same problems exist.

Room Tip: Worst experience ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillWorkman, Owner at George Brooks House B&B, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
This guest arrived just after noon when our published check-in shows 2-7pm . . we were expecting him around 1 PM (he arrived 50 minutes before his stated ETA). This posting or review some 4 months after they were here reminds me of why many inns don't allow check-ins before 3pm . . it takes time to clean the inn, carry out the trash, and get everything ready for the new arrivals. We have many errands to run . . when guests check out late morning . . we only have about two hours to go shopping, drop off the recycling, restock the beverages, work on laundry, etc. This guest was clearly agitated that no one was at the reception counter when he arrived almost two hours before our published check-in time. It appears to have gone down hill from there according to his critique! We had just drained the water out of the pool and hot tub to clean, sand and repaint before the weather gets too cold. Recent harsh reviews reflect the growing impatience or lack of consideration that work has to be done around the inn in the "shoulder seasons". If you want to check in before the published time (2 or even 3pm in most inns or hotels), then you need to expect that the innkeeper or inn may not be ready. We have tried to accommodate the "early arrivals" . . this review may convince me to enforce our stated arrival time like most other inns.

Will Workman, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The restoration on this house was very well done. We felt right at home, which in many ways is just what we were looking for. The owner and his family were very friendly and provided good service. Breakfast was also fairly good. The bedrooms were also nicely done. The pillows were a bit too soft and lumpy for my tastes, but since we were only staying for a couple of nights I did not get around to asking to see if they had other options.

As someone else commented, one thing that is missing is a full-time inn keeper to do some of the small, ongoing work around the house (such as keeping the common room garbage cans from overflowing, making sure the fridge is always full of water, and keeping the kitchen tidy). With that, the GBH would likely be a 4 or 5 star stay.

Room Tip: In order to access rooms 5 and 6 you need to step outside on an open balcony. If you are staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillWorkman, Owner at George Brooks House B&B, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
At the end of each year, we have lots of "paper work" to collect all of the expenses and prepare financial statements for both inns and then prepare tax returns. I only have the "office space" in my kitchen which also serves as the reception counter. We consider this "our space" as the guests have access to all of the common rooms along with the bedrooms and the outdoor patio and pool area. It seems like some guests think that our office space must be just as presentable as their bedrooms . . just not possible given all of financial reports and tax returns that have to be prepared while running the inn. Once the financial reports and tax returns are prepared, we are able to file and put away these documents. It looks like some guests are very intolerant of any work that has to be done while they are at the inn . . while most guests focus on their bedroom, bathroom and the common rooms for which they have a right to expect that they be clean and in proper order. There is only one trash container near the coffee service . . sometimes it fills up before we have a chance to empty it. If you want different pillows or there is anything that interferes with you having an enjoyable stay, you owe it to yourself and the innkeeper to discuss the issue and get it resolved. As a guest at other inns when we travel., we would not be "shy" about bringing something to their attention . . but in a friendly and considerate manner.

Will Workman, Innkeeper and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Could be a wonderful place if not for the untidiness of the kitchen and common areas. Needs an extra hand to keep the place clean especially in common areas. Very dog friendly and family friendly.

Will...this place could be A++ with just a full time person attending to the cleanliness factor. Also please make sure everything works before guests arrive..TV didn't work and I had to ask to have it replaced that evening after told it would be taken care of the next day. With the help of my brother in law, Will , and I we carried up another tv to the room.

We stay in many bed and breakfasts and expectations of cleanliness is really important to guests. Not much to ask for.

I will say when we decided to overlook these cleanliness factors we really had a good time. That's why I say that you have a place that really has the potential of a top notch Inn. Please keep it clean.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My partner and I visited St Michaels this past September and stayed at the George Brooks Inn. Our Inn Keepers were very gracious, very knowledgable of the area and places to see and made our stay very comfortable. Our room was somewhat cramped but comfortable. The Inn was about a mile out of town, which was perfect! We had easy access to everywhere we wanted to go. The Inn, pool and gardens were beautiful, but could have used a little attention to detail, like an oversized chair blocking our door to the porch, & lots of cob webs ... again, nothing causing us to have an umpleasant time. We enjoyed ourselves and if every back in the area, we will stay again here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMMelchiorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
2.2 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in St. Michaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Brooks House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Brooks House B&B

Property: George Brooks House B&B
Address: 24500 Rolles Range Rd, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — George Brooks House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Award Winner for Best Historic Restoration in 2001, the George Brooks House provides superb "bed and breakfast" and so much more just outside of town on 8 acres with the best swimming pool, hot tub and formal gardens in the area. Bedrooms have mahogany canopy Queen or King beds, TV/DVD, A/C and private bathrooms with custom tiled showers. Breakfast starts with pastry and coffee at 8 - 9 AM followed by a fruit course and then hot entree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your George Brooks House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Brooks House Hotel St. Michaels
George Brooks House Bed And Breakfast
George Brooks House B&B St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing