We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on the way back to our room”

The Blackthorn Irish Pub
Ranked #12 of 51 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stop on the way back to our room”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A great stop to include in our bar hopping as we were heading back to our room....music was great and beer cold...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank absolutedreamvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    88
    43
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great service, great food. I ordered the build your own burger. Hands down the best burger I've ever had. I only wish I wasn't two hours away! Blackthorn's would be my weekly go to place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALTIMORE
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grand”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location on the main street in town, very attentive staff, great service, great food, great atmosphere and good Irish pub music playing in the background.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank STHYACINTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was good but the flies annoyed us”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We dined at 5:00 on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was empty (a bad sign.) We were promptly seated by the front windows, which was great. We enjoyed watching the people go by and the view. I ordered the cream of crab soup which was very tasty, and included lumps of crabmeat with a spicy kick. I wished I had ordered a bowl! My husband ordered the BYOB burger, medium. It came well-done. I found this hard to excuse -- the restaurant was not busy, so why wasn't it done right? The steak fries were exceptionally good, perfectly seasoned. I also ordered 1/2 lb of the steamed shrimp for my entree. The plate included about 10 jumbo shrimp with a serving of drawn butter. I would have preferred cocktail sauce (isn't drawn butter for lobster?). Overall, the food was good. What really annoyed us was the flies hovering around our table. The weather was pleasant and the staff kept the front door open. As we were seated by the front door, the flies decided to feast on our dinner. When I complained to the waitress, her comment was "yeah, they bother us too." Duh -- why don't you close the front door? I could not wait to get out of there. This could have been a pleasant dining experience, but it wasn't.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelAirEmptyNester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Found the pub after several other restaurants were packed or out of our price range. We were a group of 9 (no reservation), and were seated after a short wait. We had only one server, which delayed our service from time to time. Most enjoyed their meals, some were disappointed. Lots of locals and a few families were dining and enjoying the World Cup coverage. The (stereo) music was loud, which made conversation tough.

I would probably skip the pub if I were to dine in-town again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackthorn Irish Pub also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to The Blackthorn Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing