We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maryland Crabs!”
Review of The Crab Claw

The Crab Claw
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in St. Michaels
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Huntingdon, PA, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Maryland Crabs!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We hadn't been to the Crab Claw for about 40 years, but went there for the dock setting and the steamed crabs. The crabs and beer were great, and just what we had hoped for. Service from Savannah was superb. This may not be a fine dining or "great" restaurant, but for us it provided a great memory and a delightful evening!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    289
    172
    89
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Overpriced food, below average experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Be warned that the food here is average at best and definitely overpriced. The best part is the view, however, be forewarned that large boats can dock right in front and on both sides so your view can be completely obstructed and the ambiance will be transformed into a cave with fuel fumes and engine noise. We also noticed a few table tipping the manager in advance and those tables got bigger, better crabs. If you like tourist traps, definitely come here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ywnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“time to go back to restaurant school”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Second time there with a couple of good years in between. 10 years ago you could get away with mediocre food and service. Not their fault that only medium crabs were available. Overheard the fish special was not worth it from a server and it's just diner food at quality restaurant prices. Add a couple dozen lite beers and mix in the view and you have a night. Spend some money, update, clean up and get back to service. Crab cake could have been frozen, oysters were butchered by someone in the kitchen or probably, canned and put on a shell.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank primagerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice view...overpriced food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I visited The Crab Claw in July 2014 for a late lunch while visiting the nearby Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum. I wish I had walked the extra 1/4 mile to visit one of the other restaurants in St. Michael's.

While the view of the Harbor and surrounding area was nice, the decor was dated and the food itself was uninspiring and pricy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“… an Eastern Shore Experience but it's changed”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We eat here frequently but hadn't been in some time. They have raised their prices. Now, if you want salad as a side, it's +$3. My crab cake as good. Others said the Crab Imperial was good. We like the setting--first ate there in 1982--so we keep going back. Very surprised on a Saturday night at the number of empty tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MdTravelerX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Claw also viewed

 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to The Crab Claw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing