We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the Chesapeake!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michaels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alamo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem on the Chesapeake!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were attending a wedding in St. Michaels and were guided by Trip Advisor to stay at Dr. Dodson House. What a find! The rooms are updated and comfortable, not always true in a B and B. Janet, the owner, couldn't have been more delightful, and her breakfasts were a delicious start to the day. We arrived late and she advised us where to eat on the road, very thoughtful. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0l_B121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
178
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at Dr. Dodson House in the Harrison Room for our first wedding anniversary. Previous reviews certainly didn't disappoint us - Janet was fantastic and we had a perfect stay. Janet was extremely welcoming, easy to talk to, and caring. She made sure that we had all we needed, including letting us borrow bikes! Janet's breakfasts were absolutely wonderful. The care and effort she has put into making Dr. Dodson House a success is obvious and has completely paid off. We can't wait to visit again and are sending all of our friends and family :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days and 4 nights at the Dr. Dodson B&B and everyday was simply delightful. Janet, the owner and innkeeper was so pleasant, very personal, and in addition she makes the most delectable breakfast every morning. We stayed in the queen bed room, and loved every minute of it. The fire was set up for us every night, fresh towels, and bed made every day. My husband and I felt right at home every time we walked back in the door from enjoying the city of St. Michaels. We went into this mini vaca with the intentions of rest, relaxation and good food and that is exactly what we got. Janet was a delight, she's very personable, and always provides great conversation.

My husband and I highly reccommend the Dr. Dodson House for anyone looking for rest and relaxation at its best. We will definitely visit next time we have an extended stay in the city of St. Michaels.

Room Tip: Both rooms were very nice, but we thought the queen sized bedroom had a nicer fireplace, but its all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVGreg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I spent a relaxing 3 day weekend in St. Michaels at the the Dr Dodson B&B. It was a surprise to my wife for an early Valentines Day weekend. The history of the home was very interesting as Janet explained, including pictures of Dr Dodson and others.
Janet is a very gracious host. The breakfasts she served were fantastic. We especially enjoyed the sherbert on the fresh fruit! It blended the flavors together perfectly. the main dishes were Delicious and unique. I had the Eggs Benedict ! The house was warm and cosy with fires in the dinning room in the morning and our suite in the evening. It was the best B&B we have stayed at, I highly recomment it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My boyfriend and I recently traveled to St. Michaels to celebrate our birthdays, looking to get away and relax a little. We stayed at the Dr. Dodson House Friday and Saturday nights and had a wonderful experience at this lovely B&B. The inn is filled with old charm and character from the moment you walk in. There are 3 guest rooms in the house, so it's very cozy and intimate. We stayed in the Dodson room, which has a very comfortable king size bed with luxurious linens. There is an IPod dock/clock radio, a nice sitting area with 2 large, comfortable chairs situated right next to the wood-burning stove, which was set up for us each night. The room is also equipped with a coffee marker, wine glasses, a corkscrew and an ice bucket. The bathroom has nice finishes including beautiful tile floor, marble shower and vanity and a heater in the bathroom. Also there were soft, fluffy towels and bathrobes provided along with an array of toiletries. Innkeeper Janet prepares and serves breakfast daily, and she is always changing the offerings. We enjoyed almond rum French toast, a lox and cream cheese bagel platter and lemon-ricotta pancakes with raspberry syrup. Each breakfast also included a fresh fruit bowl, fresh-squeezed orange juice and delicious coffee. Breakfast is served in a comfortable dinning room, complete with a fireplace. This B&B offers a great location, within walking distance to all shops and restaurants in town. The B&B is also just off the harbor and offers stunning views as well as a nice walking path around the water. We had such a fantastic experience, my boyfriend has already told me that he would like to visit St. Michaels in the Spring or Summer. We will definitely return to the Dr. Dodson House. Thank you so much for your hospitality Janet!

Room Tip: Highly recommend that Dodson room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaritaJA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed the Friday and Saturday night of Waterfowl weekend. Beautifully appointed, well maintained and clean. Janet was a wonderful hostess. Terrific breakfast. Short walk to shopping and restaurants. Will definitely come back sometime soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I treated my aunt to this year's Christmas in St. Michaels festivities, and am so glad that we choose the Dr. Dodson House. The beautiful house, the delicious breakfasts, and the hostess' generous hospitality made the entire holiday thoroughly enjoyable. Thank you, Janet!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmikesbandb, Owner at Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for coming for Christmas in St. Michaels and for bringing your aunt. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you can return! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and happy New Year! Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.5 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
443 reviews
7.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in St. Michaels
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 200 Cherry Street, PO Box 956, St. Michaels, MD 21663-0956
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr. Dodson House offers five-star hospitality and the perfect location for exploring St. Michaels. We are just steps from the harbor and one block away from the great shops and restaurants on Talbot Street. History buffs will appreciate the c.1799 brick home's original features, including doors, woodwork, fireplaces, and wavy glass. Beautifully appointed guest rooms, lovely gardens, the second-story porch and delicious breakfasts have delighted guests since 1994. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dr. Dodson House Bed And Breakfast
Dr. Dodson House Hotel St. Michaels
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing