We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michaels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I had needed some time away to relax and boy did we pick a winner.from the time we arrived to the time we left we were surrounded by a beautiful home and a gracious host.T he breakfasts were absolutely delicious and the conversation was interesting and at times quite humorous.Our room,the Dr.Dodson room was spacious and the bed was made for a restful sleep.We would gladly return next year if we head to St. Michaels again.Thank you to our hostess for a memorable weekend. Mike and Pat Machurek

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were married one Saturday at the end of May, and after the wedding night local to our ceremony we made our way Sunday to St. Michaels and the Dr. Dodson House. Great weather was our companion during our drive and whole visit, which of course never hurts. Upon arrival Janet welcomed us, and we were soon to discover that for the two nights we would be there we would be her only guests. Hence began a truly lovely time in St. Michaels. We had dinner the first night at Ava's Pizzeria and Wine Bar, a short walk from the house, made our way on Janet's pair of mountain bikes to Oxford the next day (riding the ferry with the bikes, then grabbing a pretty nice late and low key lunch at Schooner's at the marina there) and had the first rate meal we'd hoped for at The Inn at Perry Cabin our second night. The Douglas Suite at the top of the house felt grand and cozy and appropriate to our occasion. Breakfast each day was delicious (with graceful accommodation of our dietary restrictions) and included friendly and warm conversation with our hostess. Delightful is a pretty good way to summarize the whole visit and we look forward to repeating the experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank syrah_fan_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife surprised me on our anniversary with a trip to St Michaels and we staid at the Dr. Dodson house. The place was perfect for what we were expecting in a B&B. Janet welcomed us outside as we arrived and assisted with parking. We felt right at home from the time we showed up, till the time we left. The house was perfectly located in town and the restaurants and shops were all in walking distance. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We also spent some time on the balcony in the afternoon watching tourists walk by... Would highly recommend the Dr. Dodson House to any couple looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Dr. Dodson House, and it couldn't have been lovelier. Janet, the proprietor, really does think of everything; our room had a wine bucket, bottle opener, ice bucket, and biscotti waiting when we arrived. Additionally, it had WiFi, an iPod (4) docking radio, fluffy robes, and everything we could possibly need. (Janet even keeps the fridge on the first floor stocked with sparkling and bottled water, which we loved.)

The location can't be beat - you're literally steps from the museum and waterfront, as well as from the town's main drag. (We walked everywhere, including to church on Sunday.) And the house has a lovely second-story porch that you can use to laze about or enjoy watching the other tourists as they walk by.

Honestly, there isn't a thing I would change. You can't go wrong with Dr. Dodson's.

Room Tip: If you're not an early riser, the best choice is the Douglass suite at the top of the house; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were attending a wedding in St. Michaels and were guided by Trip Advisor to stay at Dr. Dodson House. What a find! The rooms are updated and comfortable, not always true in a B and B. Janet, the owner, couldn't have been more delightful, and her breakfasts were a delicious start to the day. We arrived late and she advised us where to eat on the road, very thoughtful. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car0l_B121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at Dr. Dodson House in the Harrison Room for our first wedding anniversary. Previous reviews certainly didn't disappoint us - Janet was fantastic and we had a perfect stay. Janet was extremely welcoming, easy to talk to, and caring. She made sure that we had all we needed, including letting us borrow bikes! Janet's breakfasts were absolutely wonderful. The care and effort she has put into making Dr. Dodson House a success is obvious and has completely paid off. We can't wait to visit again and are sending all of our friends and family :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lpferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days and 4 nights at the Dr. Dodson B&B and everyday was simply delightful. Janet, the owner and innkeeper was so pleasant, very personal, and in addition she makes the most delectable breakfast every morning. We stayed in the queen bed room, and loved every minute of it. The fire was set up for us every night, fresh towels, and bed made every day. My husband and I felt right at home every time we walked back in the door from enjoying the city of St. Michaels. We went into this mini vaca with the intentions of rest, relaxation and good food and that is exactly what we got. Janet was a delight, she's very personable, and always provides great conversation.

My husband and I highly reccommend the Dr. Dodson House for anyone looking for rest and relaxation at its best. We will definitely visit next time we have an extended stay in the city of St. Michaels.

Room Tip: Both rooms were very nice, but we thought the queen sized bedroom had a nicer fireplace, but its all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVGreg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.5 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Brick Inn
The Old Brick Inn
#1 of 13 in St. Michaels
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
425 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 200 Cherry Street, PO Box 956, St. Michaels, MD 21663-0956
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range: £179 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr. Dodson House offers five-star hospitality and the perfect location for exploring St. Michaels. We are just steps from the harbor and one block away from the great shops and restaurants on Talbot Street. History buffs will appreciate the c.1799 brick home's original features, including doors, woodwork, fireplaces, and wavy glass. Beautifully appointed guest rooms, lovely gardens, the second-story porch and delicious breakfasts have delighted guests since 1994. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dr. Dodson House Bed And Breakfast
Dr. Dodson House Hotel St. Michaels
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing