We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect weekend visit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michaels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect weekend visit!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I kidnapped my husband for a much needed escape from our hectic stressful schedules over the weekend of July 18th, which was also his birthday. We received a warm welcome from Janet as we arrived Thursday evening along with a tour of all of the beautiful rooms which have been lovingly restored and decorated personally by her. Since we had chartered a fishing trip the next morning we did not get a chance to enjoy her amazing breakfast menu until Saturday, which was well worth the wait! Our entire experience in St Michaels would not have been as wonderful had we not had stayed at the Dr. Dodson house. Janet was delightful, the bed was heavenly with soft linens and pillows.. There were robes, iPod docking stations, access to a lovely porch for morning coffee...all in the quiet yet convenient location to all of the activities within walking and biking distance. Janet even surprised us by icing down our favorite bottles of wine and had them waiting
for us after our long bike ride from St Michaels to Oxford! Conversation over breakfast with the other guests was fun and interesting too! I highly recommend staying with Janet at the Dr. Dodson House B&B... You will not be disappointed! Pricey? Yes... But worth every penny believe me!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
177
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
471 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I just loved staying at the Dr. Dodson house. I was very lucky to get a room since the owner, Janet, was away for the weekend and had not initially planned on renting the rooms. But, their son-in-law agreed to help out and they discounted the room since there was no breakfast. It was very easy to communicate with Janet, who sent me a detailed email on where to find the key and everything else I needed. The room was beautiful, with nice extra touches such as a coffee pot and biscottis. I loved sitting on the porch to relax after a day exploring the town. The son-in-law did a great job cleaning the room. I also felt honored to stay in the same home that Frederick Douglas visited to reconcile with his former owner, who was staying at the house. While somewhat expensive, I feel like it was worth it and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, DE
Level Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was an anniversary weekend getaway experience. B&B is very well-maintained and breakfast each morning was very tasty. Janet is the innkeeper and runs a very professional inn. House has 3 bedrooms, each with their own washroom facilities. Location is near the St. Michaels marina and within easy walking distance of everything within the town limits. Would definitely stay here again if we ever return to St. Michaels. One downside is parking. It's on-street only, so we felt compelled to leave our vehicle in the same place as it gets very crowded in the streets.

Room Tip: As to be expected for a two-story colonial-era B&B there are no elevators and the stairwell is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Dr. Dodson House for a quick mid-week getaway trip - it's a wonderful property and Janet is a gracious and entertaining host, with spot-on restaurant and activity reviews...and amazing breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I had needed some time away to relax and boy did we pick a winner.from the time we arrived to the time we left we were surrounded by a beautiful home and a gracious host.T he breakfasts were absolutely delicious and the conversation was interesting and at times quite humorous.Our room,the Dr.Dodson room was spacious and the bed was made for a restful sleep.We would gladly return next year if we head to St. Michaels again.Thank you to our hostess for a memorable weekend. Mike and Pat Machurek

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We were married one Saturday at the end of May, and after the wedding night local to our ceremony we made our way Sunday to St. Michaels and the Dr. Dodson House. Great weather was our companion during our drive and whole visit, which of course never hurts. Upon arrival Janet welcomed us, and we were soon to discover that for the two nights we would be there we would be her only guests. Hence began a truly lovely time in St. Michaels. We had dinner the first night at Ava's Pizzeria and Wine Bar, a short walk from the house, made our way on Janet's pair of mountain bikes to Oxford the next day (riding the ferry with the bikes, then grabbing a pretty nice late and low key lunch at Schooner's at the marina there) and had the first rate meal we'd hoped for at The Inn at Perry Cabin our second night. The Douglas Suite at the top of the house felt grand and cozy and appropriate to our occasion. Breakfast each day was delicious (with graceful accommodation of our dietary restrictions) and included friendly and warm conversation with our hostess. Delightful is a pretty good way to summarize the whole visit and we look forward to repeating the experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank syrah_fan_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife surprised me on our anniversary with a trip to St Michaels and we staid at the Dr. Dodson house. The place was perfect for what we were expecting in a B&B. Janet welcomed us outside as we arrived and assisted with parking. We felt right at home from the time we showed up, till the time we left. The house was perfectly located in town and the restaurants and shops were all in walking distance. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We also spent some time on the balcony in the afternoon watching tourists walk by... Would highly recommend the Dr. Dodson House to any couple looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Michaels hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.5 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.8 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 200 Cherry Street, PO Box 956, St. Michaels, MD 21663-0956
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr. Dodson House offers five-star hospitality and the perfect location for exploring St. Michaels. We are just steps from the harbor and one block away from the great shops and restaurants on Talbot Street. History buffs will appreciate the c.1799 brick home's original features, including doors, woodwork, fireplaces, and wavy glass. Beautifully appointed guest rooms, lovely gardens, the second-story porch and delicious breakfasts have delighted guests since 1994. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dr. Dodson House Bed And Breakfast
Dr. Dodson House Hotel St. Michaels
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing