We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this B & B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michaels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 13 St. Michaels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Loved this B & B!”
Reviewed 29 October 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Dr. Dodson House B & B from October 27-29, 2006 to celebrate our anniversary. I had been to St. Michaels before, but my husband hadn't We had never stayed at a B & B before this stay. We stayed here based on other reviews. We were not disappointed! Gary and Janet were the greatest hosts and their bed and breakfast was fantastic! The breakfasts were great. You had a large selection of items to choose from. There were chocolate chip cookies in our room on Saturday and luscious hor d'oerves on Friday night along with great conversation with Gary and Janet and the other couple staying there. Our room was wonderful. We had the Dodson room. We were centrally located in town and could walk anywhere. We never drove our car the entire weekend. Guests at this B & B stay in the old house and the proprietors stay in the addition to the rear. We loved the whole stay and we would definitely return. This is an A+++++ place to stay!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
178
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

We recently returned from our first holiday to St. Michaels, MD. We checked into the Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast. The inn keepers (Janet and Gary) were extremely hospitable. The Dr. Dodson is centrally located within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We appreciated Gary's information on St. Michael's attractions.
Our room (the Dodson Room) was immaculate with antique furnishings, beautiful fine linens, and a lovely balcony.
We ordered our breakfast, prepared by Janet, from a well rounded menu. Breakfast was served at our convenience. Refreshments were available at all times throughout the day. Home-made chocolate chip cookies were delivered to our room in the afternoon. The evening hors d'oeuvres and beverages were mouth-watering.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dr. Dodson house.
Vickie & Steve

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickie/Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

What a fantastic experience at a B&B! We stayed at the Dr. Dodson House for 3 nights. Janet and Gary are superb hosts, and we felt welcome and comfortable there. The B&B has 2 gorgeous guest rooms, a beautiful sitting room, and a lovely breakfast/dining area. Guests get their choice of hearty full breakfast off of the menu, at their choice of time during the morning. (try the Eggs Benedict) You may come and go as you please, and help yourself to complementary beverages and bottled water. They offer terrific hors d'oeuvres in the early evening as well. Little extras like toiletries, robes, and a variety of brochures and local menus really help the traveler who is not familiar with the area. We really appreciated that the B&B part of the building is completely sectioned off, so we enjoyed a privacy that we had not experienced at other B&Bs. When we return to St. Michaels, we will stay at the Dr. Dodson House again!

  • Liked — How comfortable we felt at Dr. Dodson House, plus a location convenient to everything
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out "Gourmet by the Bay" on Talbot St. - great gourmet takeaway, from snacks to entrees. Great for having your own gourmet picnic!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank perpetual_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 June 2006

My husband and I stayed at Dr. Dodson's House B&B in early May, 2006. By far it was one of the most memorial B&B stays we have ever had. Our room was wonderfully decorated and comfortable. I really enjoyed sitting in the lounge chair on the porch and just relaxing. The morning breakfasts we outstanding. We weren't hundry until dinner! The evening hor'doues were also very good and it was enjoyable chatting with Janet and Gary.
They made you feel like family visiting instead of guess. One of the highlights of the stay was partying with Janet at C-Street. Unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 June 2006

Sorry, Gary and Janet it took so long for me to write this review. Anyway, I can't say enough about the Dr. Dobson House as a Bed and Breakfast. Been to many, and a few in St. Michaels, but without a doubt this was, and is the very best. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the House along with attending the St. Michaels Wine and Food Festival for weekend.

Wow, what great inn keepers, serving a spectacular breakfast(s), and very very nice hors d'oeuvres and drinks along with great conversation. Personally, the Dodson Room is my favorite, but both rooms are fantastic.

Steps to the waterfront and shopping, location is prime within St. Michaels.

Cheers! and Hats off to you Janet and Gary! We had a great time and a romantic weekend. Fireplace and the "Beverage in Bed" service in the morning was quite the touch.

Keep the place going, and to everyone else if you don't stay at the Dr. Dobson House for Bed and Breakfast your making a big mistake!

P.S - Janet and Gary, We will never forget the experience of the "International Traveler, and his ladder".

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2006

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Dr. Dodson House and it was perfect. We stayed in the Dodson room and loved it. We enjoyed the evening's hors d'oeurves with pleasant conversation with the hosts and the other guests. Breakfast was fabulous, especially the fresh fruit with sherbet. Also, the location is great - close to restaurants and shops. We parked the car when we arrived and did not move it again until we left St. Michael's. We would definitely recommend this romantic B&B to anyone who is looking for a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Evie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2006

this B & B makes you feel so special. The room was beautifully decorated, the hosts were fantastic, the breakfasts' were exquisite and all the little extras just added to this wonderful anniversary weekend. Would definitely hope to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gardening lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.5 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
7.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in St. Michaels
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 200 Cherry Street, PO Box 956, St. Michaels, MD 21663-0956
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr. Dodson House offers five-star hospitality and the perfect location for exploring St. Michaels. We are just steps from the harbor and one block away from the great shops and restaurants on Talbot Street. History buffs will appreciate the c.1799 brick home's original features, including doors, woodwork, fireplaces, and wavy glass. Beautifully appointed guest rooms, lovely gardens, the second-story porch and delicious breakfasts have delighted guests since 1994. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dr. Dodson House Bed And Breakfast
Dr. Dodson House Hotel St. Michaels
Dr. Dodson House Bed & Breakfast St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing