We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the rum, taste the rum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyon Distilling Company

Lyon Distilling Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Maryland's premier craft distillery - producing hand-crafted spirits by transforming raw ingredients (molasses, sugar, local grains) into splendid liquor (rum, corn whiskey, rye whiskey) step by step, in very small batches, using traditional pot stills made in Kentucky. Tasting room open for tastings & sales Sunday 11-3PM, Monday - Friday 12-5PM, & Saturday 11-6PM (with tours at 2 & 4PM) - private tours & tastings available by appointment.
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“See the rum, taste the rum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a great time visiting the distillery. Ben and Jaime were wonderful hosts and we talked a great deal about rum. A nice small distillery with good product and good people. I was very impressed with the taste of the rums, especially the wonderful barrel aged rum. I would recommend not missing this place when in town. And take a home a bottle of rum or three.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    11
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My girlfriend and I were in St Michael's for Winefest and we stopped by for a rum tasting. We met one of the owners Jamie and she couldn't have been nicer or friendlier. It wasn't time for a tour but she explained how they made the rum and also gave us a history of how she and Ben decided to start the distillery. I am not a rum drinker but thought the caramel rum was excellent. They were sold out of the seasonal. She told us that one of the other vendors used her rum to make rum balls for the event, so off we went in search of the rum balls. Unfortunately, they were all gone by the time we got there, but we ended up going back the next day before we left to purchase rum. Jamie remembered us from the day before and was just as friendly. Highly recommend this to anyone going to St Michaels..the rum is excellent and Jamie is a GREAT ambassador for the distillery and St Michaels.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank klynn112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Penn, Delaware
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A must stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Small and local....and amazing. The bottle is a work of art. Why buy from a big company when you can buy from Ben. The owner signs each bottle so cool. Very classy.

Helpful?
Thank Luckyinlove2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“The best stop on the Eastern Shore for big kids!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

As I said in my Yelp review: Dear lord, can you be in love with a liquor!?!? If so, then mission accomplished! You will fall in love with the location, the hosts and, more than anything, the spirits at Lyon Distillery. It's really that good and I'm not a huge rum fan even! Get ready to have an affair of the taste buds. :)

If you're heading to the Eastern Shore, the Lyon Distillery is an absolute must-visit. Not only are the products simply delicious, but the visit is eye-opening when you take a tour, sit down to a tasting and talk shop with owners. If you are lucky enough to pop in when Ben or Jaime is there, get ready for a treat. You can tour the location, see the process in action, learn about the history of distilling, explore the traditions that have been passed down through generations of distillers.

With new options of liquors being added every month and seasonal offerings, I think I might need to make another rum-n-rye run to St. Michaels!

This is truly an educational and exceptionally fun place visit. And, yes, the souvenirs will make you wildly popular! :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank romarosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Rum Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visited Lyon Distilling this past weekend after hearing great things about the rum. The rum lived up to it's reputation and was smooth and delicious. Ben was so friendly and knowledgeable about the rum and it was fun to chat with him. The distillery is in a really cool location and we loved the "buzz for booze" sign by the door. The caramel rum is excellent and has my husband and I thinking that we will be making regular rum runs to St. Michaels. If you are in St. Michaels you do not want to miss Lyon Distilling.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank juliahunter716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyon Distilling Company also viewed

St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 
 

Been to Lyon Distilling Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing