We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value,”
Review of St. Michaels Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Michaels Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Elmira New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value,”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Motel is close to St Michaels, Our room was very clean,The desk staff and breakfast staff were friendly.The breakfast food was excellent and freshly stocked .Overal a very good breakfast and pleasant two day stay. Has two pools the nearest our room was not useable,the other pool was out in the fron of the motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Larandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Lar and Deb

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Inn at St. Michael's. It is good to see that the hard work our team is putting forth is being recognized.

While our front pool remains open and crystal clear, you have my apology for the back pool which I have now taken out of service as it has a broken pipe. (Can only be repaired by ripping up our parking lot).

I hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us here on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    123
    77
    62
    46
See reviews for
115
178
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been going to St. Michaels and staying at the Best Western for twenty years. It is a basic motel with a mini-fridge and a complimentary breakfast. If you are looking for luxury and/or want to make the hotel itself the focus of your visit, this is not the place. If you are looking for an affordable and relatively clean place to sleep while you are busy with other activities in St. Michaels, this is the ticket. Years ago, when Don Rumsfeld was in Bush's cabinet, his secret service detail used to stay here and we would get a big kick out of seeing their massive black cars in the parking lot. Nothing exciting since then, but it is a central and not awful place to be for an overnight. The pools used to be great but have gone downhill since earlier stays so I agree with some of the comments about not counting on swimming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Best Western Inn at Saint Michael's is the only hotel type property for travel to St. Michael's Maryland. We offer a complimentary Hot/Continental breakfast featuring freshly prepared eggs with a rotating breakfast meat, complimented by a buffet of items including donuts, cereals and quick snacks.

With my wife's help as the new Innkeepers, we will strive everyday to make this Inn a "focus" of your next visit to St. Michael's. It is our goal to provide a clean comfortable and memorable stay to every new and returning guest.

Thank you for your review, we will always use your input to benefit our guests and we look forward to not only meeting but exceeding your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Terrible place - Dirty run down -they had someone else in our reserved room and didnted know who it was. The staff ran up and down the hall opening doors to see if there were any empty rooms. Claimed that they had no rooms but enentually located one .. Pool was green and scummy and closed . Breakfast room was dirty and run down

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Laura A.

I am sorry to see this review about your stay. As the new General Manager here at Best Western Inn at Saint Michael's, it is my goal to exceed every guests expectations. As a direct result of my mistake your room was given to the incorrect party. I can assure you that I have put in place a procedure so that this can never happen again.

There is of course no excuse for such an error and as you are aware I have issued you full reimbursement for your stay. As I informed you at check in our back pool does have a broken pipe and will be out of service for the remainder of the season because the repair would require the removal of our parking lot. Our front pool however, which was just across from you room is open and was in use by our guests all weekend.

Our facility is, Like St. Michael's itself, an older facility. We are in a process of revamping the buildings and the rooms have been redone with new bedding. I can attest, that since I have been on premises our rooms, breakfast area and all common areas have been inspected daily for cleanliness.

I hope you will give our team the opportunity to show you what we can do by staying with us again.

We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Michaels hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were a tad afraid to stay at this motel after reading the reviews and seeing the pictures taken by people who had stayed there. I would agree that both pools are terrible and should not be advertised as having working pools at the motel. However, for the price, we had a very nice room, we were allowed to bring our two dogs and we were close to a beautiful town. Would I have enjoyed swimming? Certainly !! Did we feel ripped off? Probably not, but if they advertised that they didn't have a pool, we probably wouldn't have made the reservation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank AlbertAnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We went to St Micheals for a brief getaway. Best priced hotel in area, mixed reviews. We were pleasantly surprised.
Nice king room, older hotel but refreshed room, clean and newer white linens.
Spoke with new general manager who let us know about some bad breaks beyond their controll earlier this year, very enthusiastic about improving hotel.
We will be returning this fall!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cjpasbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was our 2nd stay at this motel. Although it is not new, the quality of appearance and comfort level are high The breakfast was typical in terms of items all served nicely hot, attractively served in a clean and spacious area. I will visit this Best Western again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When we first opened the door to our room, it reeked of cigarettes. We called the front desk to alert the staff and asked to change rooms. The staff informed us that they would “check” and call us back within ten minuets. An hour went by and no one called back. When we called back, they informed us that there was nothing they could do. Additionally, we were there for a wedding and we didn’t receive the gift bag left for us on arrival so we were almost late with out our itinerary. There was also no hot water in the morning. All in all, it was a terrible experience to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in St. Michaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.8 mi away
Harbourtowne Resort
Harbourtowne Resort
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Michaels Inn

Property: St. Michaels Inn
Address: 1228 S Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636 (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Michaels Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint, pet friendly hotel in St. Michaels is a welcoming retreat for your weekend getaway, extended vacation - even a business trip. Beautifully appointed hotel rooms feature comfortable furnishings inspired by our coastal location. Modern amenities feature free high-speed wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs with premium channels, including HBO. Enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast and use of our sparkling outdoor swimming pool. We're conveniently located, only a mile from downtown St. Michaels dining, shopping and attractions. Our exceptionally friendly staff will wow you with their knowledge of the area, and are happy to direct you to the many activites such as boating, fishing, hunting, kayaking, paddleboarding, shopping or just exploring nature. The St. Michaels Inn and conference center can accommodate your next event by offering five meeting rooms including a banquet room to seat up to 160 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Michaels Motor Hotel St. Michaels
Best Western St Michaels Md
St Michaels Best Western
Best Western Saint Michaels
Saint Michaels Best Western
St. Michaels Inn Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing