We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Sad to See the Trend at this Property”
Review of St. Michaels Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Michaels Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
York, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Sad to See the Trend at this Property”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I believe that we have stayed at this hotel a total of six times from 2003 to present. Since 2003, we have seen what was a property in overall satisfactory (but not great) condition decline from being an acceptable value to being an overpriced, disorganized, deteriorating property. We requested the same room we had had the previous year, well in advance, near the back pool last year. We weren't informed that it wasn't available, and upon arrival we were assigned a room in the corner of the front exterior corridor that opened out to a brick wall. Our room lacked a table and any chairs. The front pool, near our room, was not in service. Now I read that rates have increased and the rear pool is out of service for the season. We used to love this place, but doubt we will return again soon. Hence, we have made other arrangements for our upcoming visit to St. Michaels this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room in the back, because it will be close to the nicer rear pool when it is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDolheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Please note that this review while being re-posted today it is from September of 2013. We are now under the direction of new Inn Keepers as of August 6th and this review simply does not apply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    130
    79
    63
    46
See reviews for
125
187
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was the motel that was available. The water has a weird iron/blood smell. Housekeeping never came by. The staff allowed other guests to launch fireworks in the parking lot without any meaningful intervention. When we complained, we were told "that technically isn't our problem." We've since followed up on out complaint, and the management simply asked us to come back and hopefully have a better stay next time. Totally unsatisfied.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rick2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We appreciate your review. We are now under the management of new Inn Keepers and I am personally training our staff to ensure that events like this cannot happen or that they will be properly addressed once they occur.

We must ensure that every guest has a great experience and ensuring a good nights rest is paramount to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Michaels hotels

York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a very reasonably priced option for staying in the heart of St. Michaels Maryland. It was very cute on the outside. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Definitely would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Blossom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The only thing about this motel that needs help is that it does need some updating....but not so much that it takes away from the city's charm..... the staff was informative and friendly. The rooms were clean...i Loved the comfortable bed(i have horrible back problems and find it hard to sleep anywhere,i actually got the best rest ive had in a long while)Coffee in my room and in the lobby all day and that was a nice unexpected perk. I liked that breakfast was smidge above standard and different everyday. I'm looking forward to returning with friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am not a fan of this type of hotel, but was pleasantly surprised when we stayed there on a visit to St Michaels recently. the room was very clean, it was airy and had air conditioning. the bathroom was big enough and the towels(most important) were of a good quality.

the bed was comfortable and I slept well.

Breakfast was OK, but then I only have cereal, orange juice and coffee.

It would stay the again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I think you missed out on our delicious breakfast which always includes fresh cooked eggs and a side of meat. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, PA, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

There's a reason I don't stay in Best Western's and this one is a good example. The property is tired and run down and the only way they can begin to justify the price is that you can stay for just one night, and there's no other hotel type property in the area. They do have breakfast included, but it's not one you'd want to eat. In addition, one gets the impression that the hotel is within walking distance of town....well, it is, but it's on a highway with no real place to walk and it's over a mile from the main part of town. I would never stay at this property on any future visit to St. Michael's.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Robert,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Best Western Inn at St. Michael's. It is my goal as the Innkeeper here to ensure our team and facility exceed your every expectation. Our Inn is located about a mile walk to town on the road, however you need only travel down the road a short distance to arrive at the scenic walking trail which meanders down to saint Michael's town Center(about 1.5 miles), You Are correct that we are the only Hotel Type property in this close proximity to town.

Our breakfast always includes eggs and a rotation of breakfast meats, a waffle station and a traditional continental type buffet. Since last week, when my wife and I took over as Innkeepers her I have personally and repeatedly checked the breakfast area and presentation to ensure that our high standards are met.

Thank you for your input and I will use it to produce the best stay possible for all our future guests

I hope that you will give us another chance to give you the experience you deserve and show you what our team can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Motel is close to St Michaels, Our room was very clean,The desk staff and breakfast staff were friendly.The breakfast food was excellent and freshly stocked .Overal a very good breakfast and pleasant two day stay. Has two pools the nearest our room was not useable,the other pool was out in the fron of the motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Larandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Lar and Deb

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Inn at St. Michael's. It is good to see that the hard work our team is putting forth is being recognized.

While our front pool remains open and crystal clear, you have my apology for the back pool which I have now taken out of service as it has a broken pipe. (Can only be repaired by ripping up our parking lot).

I hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us here on the beautiful Eastern Shore of Maryland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
6.2 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
6.3 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
1.7 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Michaels Inn

Property: St. Michaels Inn
Address: 1228 S Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636 (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Michaels Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint, pet friendly hotel in St. Michaels is a welcoming retreat for your weekend getaway, extended vacation - even a business trip. Beautifully appointed hotel rooms feature comfortable furnishings inspired by our coastal location. Modern amenities feature free high-speed wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs with premium channels, including HBO. Enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast and use of our sparkling outdoor swimming pool. We're conveniently located, only a mile from downtown St. Michaels dining, shopping and attractions. Our exceptionally friendly staff will wow you with their knowledge of the area, and are happy to direct you to the many activites such as boating, fishing, hunting, kayaking, paddleboarding, shopping or just exploring nature. The St. Michaels Inn and conference center can accommodate your next event by offering five meeting rooms including a banquet room to seat up to 160 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Michaels Motor Hotel St. Michaels
Best Western St Michaels Md
St Michaels Best Western
Best Western Saint Michaels
Saint Michaels Best Western
St. Michaels Inn Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing