We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy”
Review of St. Michaels Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Michaels Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful . Coffee in room and coffee in lobby was good The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Definitely would recommend a stay here! Reasonably priced option in the heart of St. Michaels Maryland.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks so much for the positive feedback Marty. We are working hard to make sure every guest has the same experience you did. Our facility will be open year round for that next family or romantic get away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here because they were the only hotel in St. Michaels that allowed larger dogs. We usually find Best Westerns clean but out dated. Clean is our biggest priority and since we rarely use any hotel amenities we were fine with staying here. BUT - they told me when I made the reservations that they had "a guy" who could pick us up at the marina when we arrived and take us to the hotel. When we arrived we called him and he said he doesn't work on weekdays. We were told there are no taxis, no car rentals, no golf cart rentals. I called the front desk and Tony said he would have one of the employees that was coming to work in 5 minutes call us and see if we could work something out with out. We never got a call and when we called back the employee he was talking about was running the front desk and Tony was gone. We had to walk a mile and half in 92 degree heat and horrible humidity with 2 duffles each plus our dogs. It was awful and we are in good shape. There was no apology from anyone and when we got to the room we discovered there are cabs and car rentals 15 miles away in Easton. Thanks for nothing BW! My rating is based on the room condition but we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

I am so sorry that you were given bad information about the shuttle. The Carpenter Street Saloon runs a shuttle on their own schedule which is completely unaffiliated with our hotel. We recommend it, only because, we know of no other available transportation service in St. Michael's. We always make it clear that you should call them ahead of time to set up your transport. When I spoke with you on the phone it was my hope that Damion might have some information that I did not.

Our property does not provide any transportation.

I was not at the property when you arrived as I had to attend a funeral. I am however very sorry you had this experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I believe that we have stayed at this hotel a total of six times from 2003 to present. Since 2003, we have seen what was a property in overall satisfactory (but not great) condition decline from being an acceptable value to being an overpriced, disorganized, deteriorating property. We requested the same room we had had the previous year, well in advance, near the back pool last year. We weren't informed that it wasn't available, and upon arrival we were assigned a room in the corner of the front exterior corridor that opened out to a brick wall. Our room lacked a table and any chairs. The front pool, near our room, was not in service. Now I read that rates have increased and the rear pool is out of service for the season. We used to love this place, but doubt we will return again soon. Hence, we have made other arrangements for our upcoming visit to St. Michaels this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room in the back, because it will be close to the nicer rear pool when it is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JohnDolheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Please note that this review while being re-posted today it is from September of 2013. We are now under the direction of new Inn Keepers as of August 6th and this review simply does not apply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was the motel that was available. The water has a weird iron/blood smell. Housekeeping never came by. The staff allowed other guests to launch fireworks in the parking lot without any meaningful intervention. When we complained, we were told "that technically isn't our problem." We've since followed up on out complaint, and the management simply asked us to come back and hopefully have a better stay next time. Totally unsatisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rick2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We appreciate your review. We are now under the management of new Inn Keepers and I am personally training our staff to ensure that events like this cannot happen or that they will be properly addressed once they occur.

We must ensure that every guest has a great experience and ensuring a good nights rest is paramount to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a very reasonably priced option for staying in the heart of St. Michaels Maryland. It was very cute on the outside. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Definitely would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Blossom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The only thing about this motel that needs help is that it does need some updating....but not so much that it takes away from the city's charm..... the staff was informative and friendly. The rooms were clean...i Loved the comfortable bed(i have horrible back problems and find it hard to sleep anywhere,i actually got the best rest ive had in a long while)Coffee in my room and in the lobby all day and that was a nice unexpected perk. I liked that breakfast was smidge above standard and different everyday. I'm looking forward to returning with friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lauren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am not a fan of this type of hotel, but was pleasantly surprised when we stayed there on a visit to St Michaels recently. the room was very clean, it was airy and had air conditioning. the bathroom was big enough and the towels(most important) were of a good quality.

the bed was comfortable and I slept well.

Breakfast was OK, but then I only have cereal, orange juice and coffee.

It would stay the again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, General Manager at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I think you missed out on our delicious breakfast which always includes fresh cooked eggs and a side of meat. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
6.2 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
18.4 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
6.3 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Michaels Inn

Address: 1228 S Talbot St, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636 (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range: £58 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Michaels Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint, pet friendly hotel in St. Michaels is a welcoming retreat for your weekend getaway, extended vacation - even a business trip. Beautifully appointed hotel rooms feature comfortable furnishings inspired by our coastal location. Modern amenities feature free high-speed wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs with premium channels, including HBO. Enjoy a daily complimentary continental breakfast and use of our sparkling outdoor swimming pool. We're conveniently located, only a mile from downtown St. Michaels dining, shopping and attractions. Our exceptionally friendly staff will wow you with their knowledge of the area, and are happy to direct you to the many activites such as boating, fishing, hunting, kayaking, paddleboarding, shopping or just exploring nature. The St. Michaels Inn and conference center can accommodate your next event by offering five meeting rooms including a banquet room to seat up to 160 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Michaels Motor Hotel St. Michaels
Best Western St Michaels Md
St Michaels Best Western
Best Western Saint Michaels
Saint Michaels Best Western
St. Michaels Inn Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing