We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbourtowne Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

5 min drive away from the beautiful town of St Michael's -
Fantastic view from our room...but the carpet need upgrading. Breakfast is not included with the fee..but should be as there is nothing extraordinary with it. The staff needs to be welcoming - no smile when we arrived - must be the summer extreme hot weather - the gentleman in the swimming pool was excellent very helpful, welcoming even recommended a great crab restaurant. Great location for golfers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmadeguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    108
    58
    30
    24
See reviews for
53
149
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The view of the Bay is fabulous!!!! The location is just right. Not too far away from downtown Saint Michaels and not too close. The resort is in a secluded area, which was perfect for our quiet and relaxing getaway. Our room was perfect. Felt like we were in a nice quaint country cottage right on the water. There was plenty of space in the room and the layout was perfect. The deck with furniture, as well as the adirondak chairs in the grass right by the water was a nice touch. Request the waterfront rooms in the single story cottages for the best view and privacy. The room was very clean when we walked in and well kept during our entire stay. The front desk staff were friendly and very accomodating. We ended up extending an additional night and it was no problem. Only complaint is that the wireless internet was spotty. We did not eat at the onsite restaurant, but it looked very nice. A lot of great food choices in Saint Michaels. Highly recommend Ava'a pizza and wine bar. Great wood fire pizzas, thought we were in Italy. Get there early for lunch or dinner, they get crowded fast. All in all it was a great stay and we will definitely be back. Thanks Harbourtowne Golf Resort!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank komitch92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, NJ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel has the most outstanding views as mentioned in most of the reviews. We had a bay front room and enjoyed the view from the chairs outside and the patio outside the restaurant. Our room was very cheery and although not updated, we were happy enough with the decor. Every staff member I met was extremely nice and could not have been more helpful. We did go to the pool and found it to be clean and nice.

Now for the not so good part, the AC in the room was rather loud - I did not ask to be moved since we were only there one night. The bath was very outdated and depressing. The restaurant is sorely in need of refurbishing.

Next time I will try other hotels in St Michaels to see how they compare, but I would stay here again just for the views and the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an updated bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a weekend getaway without our kids. I read reviews that said it was a "dated" resort so my hopes weren't high but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean (1001) but very simple. The view and location made up for any lack of luxury in the room. Every room faces the water and since we were on the first floor we could walk right out to the water. So serene and peaceful! We had dessert in the bar one evening and it was fine but pricey. Breakfast outside on the water was lovely. It was a buffet (not my favorite) and the food was ok. As I said before the view and mood made up for the mediocre food. We also played golf and enjoyed the course. We will probably be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurleyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Harbortowne for several days in a King waterfront room on the peninsula. The room was "SPOTLESS"!!! I am very picky and I am known to take my own cleaning supplies and pillows....I did not need anything extra on this trip. The room was a large, had been recently updated with new linens, was very clean and smelled very nice when we got there. The grounds were beautifuly groomed, there were workers there every day checking things and making changes. Even the pool was spotless!!! The room had a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Every day the room was cleaned impecibly. The beds were comfortable, the linens were great they put sheets on both sides of the blankets, although I do not think that was necessary, becuase I saw the cleaning staff getting a room ready next door and they stripped the bed entirely and even put a new quilt/blankets on the bed. The views were fantastic we could see to the bridge going into Kent Island, we could watch the sailboats and other boats cruise the bay.....the sunsets were amazing, just breathtaking. My only slight complaint was the buffet breakfast which could have had a little more to choose from, but what they had was good, a variety of eggs, bacon, french toast, bagels, fruit, yogurt and cereals, and for 9.99 I should really not complain..... even the dining room was spotless. The staff was always very nice and accomodating, and hard working. We would and will stay here again in the near future. What we love most about this area, is the quietness....you can go to the beach for the crazy traffic, long lines, people who are not nice, you go back home and feel like you need another vacation to relax. The St MIchaels area is filled with great food, kind people, and relaxation. WE LOVE IT!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the peninsula are closet to the water, although all the rooms are close just a few more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carrie10181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Upon initially checking in, we were really questioning our decision, but once you look past the surface it was a really good stay. Yes, the resort is outdated, but the rooms have everything one needs, they are very clean and the air conditioning was as cool as can be. My husband and I worked remotely one morning and the wifi worked just fine. Most of all, the water views from the oceanfront rooms are absolutely serene.

Room Tip: Go for an oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MAGalinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I really like this hotel because it is reasonably priced for the area and the rooms are well equipped. It is part of a country club, so there is golf, a nice pool and four tennis courts that are in good shape (I play tennis). However the best part of the resort is the absolutely spectacular views of the water from virtually anywhere on the hotel property. We were there one year for July 4th and watched the fireworks from the two comfy, bright white Adirondak chairs that sit outside everyone's unit. There are also benches, Gazebos and tables and chairs scattered about. The location is a distance from the village, but an easy bike ride. if you drive, there is public parking in the village.

The only complaints I have are that they are very rigid about their rules. The checkout is 11:00 and don't even think about asking for a minute extension. The pool and tennis courts are open from 10 AM to 8 PM, even when, as on this Saturday, it is 105 degrees outside, there are no exceptions. And, for the first time on this visit, there were people lined up and fishing in front of our room, impeding our view. The fishing would have been ok, but they actually set up garish beach umbrellas, laid out blankets on the grass, wheeled out several large coolers and dragged their Adirondak chairs to the waters edge, spreading out along the entire shore in front of our building. I left a comment card for management suggesting that they need to have some rules about fishing.

Room Tip: Ask for a point room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eileen062011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
3.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
20.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
2.3 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourtowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourtowne Resort

Property: Harbourtowne Resort
Address: 9784 Martingham Drive, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2228
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourtowne Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourtowne - St. Michaels is located on Maryland's beautiful Eastern Shore and a premiere destination for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our property boasts 'Spectacular Views - Everyday' with 111 guest rooms nestled along the banks of East Chesapeake Bay and Miles River - every room is within 100 feet of the water! The Conference Center Our Conference Center caters to groups from 10-160 for meetings, team-building events and retreats. Our 18,000 square feet of meeting space has natural lighting and our on-site professional planners customize meeting experiences according to needs and budget. Waterfront Weddings and Events Harbourtowne - St. Michaels remains a top choice for waterfront weddings, receptions as well as events and gatherings. We have a full-time coordinator on property to assist with every detail for planning and executing an affair to remember. The Town Our property is lucky to share the same zip code with the historically rich, charming town of St. Michaels. The town's cobble-stone walks are lined with boutiques, art galleries and restaurants unique to this area of Maryland and museums provide cultural history about this area. At Harbourtowne - St. Michaels, you'll enjoy the laid back atmosphere most notable to the Eastern Shore lifestyle and we're a short drive from Washington, DC, Baltimore and Philadelphia. Let us be a part of your Eastern Shore Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Harbourtowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourtowne Golf Hotel St. Michaels
Harbourtowne Hotel Saint Michaels
Harbourtowne Golf Resort
Harbourtowne Resort St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing