We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Course in Terrible Shape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbourtowne Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Golf Course in Terrible Shape”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I am mostly a weekend golfer in the DC area and usually play at decent golf courses (Westfields, Laurel Hill, Old Hickory). We had played Harbourtowne about three years ago and came back this past weekend to find the course in terrible shape. I really did not recognize the course. Although the fairways had just been aerated, the entire course was in bad shape...lots of dead grass, tee boxes that have had no TLC, etc. I would not recommend this course to any golfer, especially for the price they are charging. Only good thing about it is the snack bar on the turn where a very nice lady tended to guests. Also, I cannot comment on the rooms as we stayed with friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gretchen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    108
    58
    30
    24
See reviews for
53
149
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Deerfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a relaxing time at Harbourtown. The view is beautiful. All of the staff was friendly and responded quickly to any request. Although the servers were wonderful, the food was pretty bad. Avoid the prime rib buffet. Breakfast was ok. They had aerated the tees and fairways on our first day, so golf was tough. Greens are in good shape for the end of the summer. I wish they had made allowances for the poor playing conditions.

Room Tip: Get a end bayview unit and you get nice Adirondack chairs to enjoy the view
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate the signs that encouraged reusing towels and energy efficient policies
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmkUpperDeerfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Fabulous bay view room dated but ok. Nice resort with a decent little swimming pool that unfortunately is positioned behind the hotel as an addition the the golfing country club. Didn't play golf this time but will be back in the fall. I agree with Maven, the front desk attitude was almost germanic, you vill not be allowed to book in until three pm on zee dot!! Bit odd given that the hotel lost TV and Internet for 3 hours. Might have expected some latitude.

Breakfast was an average buffet didn't use the bar because we were here to visit St Michaels which is very close and packed with entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay view rooms and be first in line ... at 03.00 on zee dot !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mggmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T21663, Front Office Manager at Harbourtowne Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Unfortunately Harbourtowne was struck by lightning that weekend. To ensure the safety of our guests, all of our 111 hotel room had to be checked for any damage before anyone could check in, thus the 3pm check in policy was enforced as in other hotels around the country. The comments about being German I find very offensive being from German decent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed at Harbourtowne previously. Get a bayside room and you will have a fantastic view. Stayed for 4 days with family enjoying pool, golf, and St. Michaels. Price is good for what is offered in the area, but front desk attitude to accomdations needs a little help. Wifi being out due to storm made assessment to information tricky.

Room Tip: Get a bayside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maven8677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent our last minute stay in St. Michaels as we were driving back to home to give us a break for a long drive. For a reasonable price hotel, the choices were limited. Hence the stay here. The price was very reasonable given the location. But I'm still disappointed. Yes, being on the waterfront is nice but..the room is so basic..and bare..and feel like cheap old hotel even though the view outside is very beautiful, something is seriously missing. There is 2 beds, and a TV, alarm clock, old small dresser. Beds look uncomfortable. Bathroom is okay, it's clean. I like the fact that they have separate sink area outside the bathroom. We have 3 flies in the room..I guess when I opened the sliding glass door. It's hard to adjust the temperature to make it cool enough but not too cold.
Another minute, is that it's certainly not walkable to downtown..and from the road to the hotel itself is quite a long drive..sort of remote..I guess it's the price you paid for having the waterfront view.
So..it's okay..just knowing what you are getting..so you won't be expected. Personally, I will stay closer to town next time during our short visit.

Room Tip: I think the one story building is newer..in the pictures, it showed some suite room with furnitures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel is less than five minutes away from St. Michaels and a straight shot to the shops and restaurant. They have a restaurant on the property but did not eat there. A breakfast buffet is offered. Nothing fancy served. The price might scare people away ($8.99) but it is AYCE. You can take out your order if you care to eat in. We stayed on the second floor with two double beds. We had a fantastic view of the the bay (river). The AC is a bit noisy but it works. Internet service is adequate. My daughter took advantage of the fitness room. I played a round of golf on the Pete Dye designed course. It's a typical Pete Dye course where you have to place your shots. Bring the insect repellant if you're golfing. The course is lined with trees on most of the holes and there are marshy areas throughout the course. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor if you are interested in a view of the bay (river)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxtheAx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We don't golf, so the most appealing thing about this place is the little cottages they have right on the water, where we've stayed several times before. Last week we arrived for a two-night July 4 stay and found that the cottage we'd booked was unavailable due to a lightning storm. Of course, these things happen, and they were nice enough to "upgrade" us to a king suite in the main hotel building, which was perfectly nice. But there was never any apology for the disappointment, inconvenience, etc., and the overall attitude seemed to be that they were doing us a big favor by giving us a suite instead of the room we wanted. (No doubt lots of other people weren't as lucky!) Also, the WIFI wasn't working, which was presumably related to the electrical problem. Management at this place needs to remember that people have a lot of choices about where to spend their money and dial down on the attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubagirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourtowne, Manager at Harbourtowne Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We apologize that you were inconvenienced. We suffered a major lightening strike on our property just before the Independence Day Holiday, and worked tirelessly to get things back to normal to limit inconveniences to our customers. Due to electrical and safety issues, we were unable to occupy a large portion of our rooms and were forced to move accommodations for our guests. We offered as many upgrades as we possibly could. As a result of the strike, our Wireless Internet and phones were also destroyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
3.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
457 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
3.5 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourtowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourtowne Resort

Property: Harbourtowne Resort
Address: 9784 Martingham Drive, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2228
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourtowne Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourtowne - St. Michaels is located on Maryland's beautiful Eastern Shore and a premiere destination for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our property boasts 'Spectacular Views - Everyday' with 111 guest rooms nestled along the banks of East Chesapeake Bay and Miles River - every room is within 100 feet of the water! The Conference Center Our Conference Center caters to groups from 10-160 for meetings, team-building events and retreats. Our 18,000 square feet of meeting space has natural lighting and our on-site professional planners customize meeting experiences according to needs and budget. Waterfront Weddings and Events Harbourtowne - St. Michaels remains a top choice for waterfront weddings, receptions as well as events and gatherings. We have a full-time coordinator on property to assist with every detail for planning and executing an affair to remember. The Town Our property is lucky to share the same zip code with the historically rich, charming town of St. Michaels. The town's cobble-stone walks are lined with boutiques, art galleries and restaurants unique to this area of Maryland and museums provide cultural history about this area. At Harbourtowne - St. Michaels, you'll enjoy the laid back atmosphere most notable to the Eastern Shore lifestyle and we're a short drive from Washington, DC, Baltimore and Philadelphia. Let us be a part of your Eastern Shore Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Harbourtowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourtowne Golf Hotel St. Michaels
Harbourtowne Hotel Saint Michaels
Harbourtowne Golf Resort
Harbourtowne Resort St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing