We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbourtowne Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had heard great things about Harbourtown so we looked forward to bringing our group here. Our contact at the facility was tough to deal with from the beginning. That should have scared us away. Views were great. Other than that, meeting rooms were ok. Lodging was ok. Food was pretty good. Golf course a little tired. Wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    108
    58
    30
    24
See reviews for
53
149
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just held a Sr. Level Manager's Meeting at Harbourtowne Gold Resort & Conference Center for 22 people. Very relaxing environment and quiet meeting areas. Wanted to get away from the "chain" hotel environment and this was a perfect choice. Staff was extremely accomodating. Sleeping rooms were very clean, quiet, comfortable, and all were waterfront. A great choice if you are looking for a slower paced, relaxed environment. Reviews from attendees was so good, we are planning to hold our 2014 fall meeting at Harbourtowne.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Harbourtowne was a great place to relax and enjoy being away from the city. The staff was friendly and always helpful; unlike many other places, their customer service was great. I also slept really good in their plush bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We've been here multiple times and never disappointed. The men play golf and the wives shop! Rooms are large and well appointed. In room refrigerators and Keurig coffee makers are welcome additions. The view of the bay is spectacular. We can lay in bed looking out the slider at the sail boats passing by. Each afternoon all of our group gathers on our decks for cocktail party's. It's just a perfect place to spend a weekend with friends.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Madmartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branchville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our 1st time staying at Harbourtown, and 1st time writing a review. After booking a long weekend started looking at different sights and read some very uncomplimentary reviews of the resort and was a little nervous for our stay. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived 2 hours early and the front desk staff happily let us check in. The crabs were excellent! The view of the sunset from our patio at night was so beautiful. The staff of the hotel and restaurant especially Mike the bartender were very knowledgeable of other restaurants in the area and super friendly. The Pro John and his wife are the best. It is so peaceful we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria va
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Impromptu trip to Harbourtown resort for a Saturday night in late august 2013. Weather looked like it was going to be nice so headed over the bay bridge for a very pleasant stay in this resort. Had a friend who stayed here several years ago who was not impressed but it must have had a lot of renovations since then. The resort was quiet and peaceful with bright clean rooms and a good view from each. I had a great nights sleep and did not notice any hard mattress. Got up in the morning and had nice run around the community and did a few laps in the pool. This is not the Ritz but it is a convenient and not too expensive break from DC/VA region. You will need a car to get into town but that is not a deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

my husband and I have stayed here twice now.

We haven't eaten here so we have no comment on the food. But the suite rooms are clean spacious and have an incredible view! We usually go in August and it is quiet and private. The gold course is beautiful and the staff is incredibly nice. We could not get late check out which was the only thing that bothered us, however just request it when you book and you should be able to get it.

An incredible place for its price! We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Osprey Suite is wonderful. They also have fab looking cabins ... the cabins look more out of date bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsWoodsWinery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
3.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
445 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
2.6 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
20.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourtowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourtowne Resort

Property: Harbourtowne Resort
Address: 9784 Martingham Drive, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2228
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourtowne Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourtowne - St. Michaels is located on Maryland's beautiful Eastern Shore and a premiere destination for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our property boasts 'Spectacular Views - Everyday' with 111 guest rooms nestled along the banks of East Chesapeake Bay and Miles River - every room is within 100 feet of the water! The Conference Center Our Conference Center caters to groups from 10-160 for meetings, team-building events and retreats. Our 18,000 square feet of meeting space has natural lighting and our on-site professional planners customize meeting experiences according to needs and budget. Waterfront Weddings and Events Harbourtowne - St. Michaels remains a top choice for waterfront weddings, receptions as well as events and gatherings. We have a full-time coordinator on property to assist with every detail for planning and executing an affair to remember. The Town Our property is lucky to share the same zip code with the historically rich, charming town of St. Michaels. The town's cobble-stone walks are lined with boutiques, art galleries and restaurants unique to this area of Maryland and museums provide cultural history about this area. At Harbourtowne - St. Michaels, you'll enjoy the laid back atmosphere most notable to the Eastern Shore lifestyle and we're a short drive from Washington, DC, Baltimore and Philadelphia. Let us be a part of your Eastern Shore Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbourtowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourtowne Golf Hotel St. Michaels
Harbourtowne Hotel Saint Michaels
Harbourtowne Golf Resort
Harbourtowne Resort St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing