We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbourtowne Resort: A fabulous get away near DC and Baltimore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbourtowne Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I just spent five days at the Harbourtowne Resort at a Training Seminar. The staff provided excellent service and the conference facilities were first class. Beautiful view across the Chesapeake Bay from our rooms. Very accommodating in every way. I plan to take my family there soon for a special occasion. I don't play golf but other visitors enjoyed the course. Nice pool. Very near the center of town for quaint shops, bistros and restaurants. Go!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over the bay. There are suites available but them may be up a flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP12345Washington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourtowne, Manager at Harbourtowne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience, this is what we strive for for each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent four nights here attending a conference which included breakfast and lunch and one dinner onsite. We stayed in one of the cabins. We had a uniformly positive experience. The room was large with spectacular views of the bay( we cannot comment on the rooms in the Inn itself) . The meals we all good, we had several special lunches for our group. During the week, the Inn was mostly filled with other groups attending onsite conferences but we never felt neglected. Most important because of other reviews we found the staff pleasant and attentive including epically the on site manager and wait staff in the dining room. ( My wife went so far as to tip our morning waitress offline because of her friendly attitude.) Our group played golf on the course which was great.We would go back but would stay in the cabin.

Room Tip: Stay in the cabins if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tedandtre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourtowne, Manager at Harbourtowne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for writing! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just returned from a family weekend at Harbouretowne. Our group of 13 ranged in age from 6 to 93, and everyone had a great time. Cheryl, the manger of Group Sales could not have been more helpful. She recommended local restaurants and activities, and was right on the mark.
The service staff was helpful, and although the restaurant staff seemed inexperienced, they were very accommodating.
The resort has the most beautiful views from every room and the common areas. We enjoyed the pool, and my son played a round of golf and said that it was challenging because of the narrow fairways.
The rooms and baths are clean and comfortable, with very comfortable beds. The rooms were just as pictured on the website.
We all found this to be a very relaxing stay, despite the different ages and interests of our group, everyone was VERY happy.
Price wise, I was satisfied, resorts in season are never a bargain.
Hoping to return again soon, but this time with just my Honey.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views. The first floor rooms have patios, and the second floor rooms have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DonnaLovesJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourtowne, Manager at Harbourtowne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First time at the Harbourtown and was a little disappointed with the front desk. Attendant wasn't very friendly, didn't ask if our first time there to offer any info. She basically told us how to get to our room and I had to ask where we should park. I have stayed in many resorts and the first thing they ask is if this is our first time there and offer info about where we are staying.

We had a second floor room and it was clean and nice. The balcony overlooked the water and what breathtaking views. There were folks next to us, but we never heard them and we did spend quite a bit of time on the balcony in the morning.

We only ate at the restaurant for dinner the night we arrived, as we had just got in as heavy downpour from hurricane Arthur was arriving. Food and service was good, two of us had the prome rib special and another ordered the fish and chips. She said the fish was very good. We had to ask the next day about where the breakfast buffet was served, seems different meals are served in different locations. Turned out breakfast was served in the restaurant where we had dinner the night before. We opted not to do breakfast there but to go out and explore.

We are not golfers, so we didn't partake in that, but I had to say the parts of the course I saw were very well maintained and beautiful. Pool was very nice and clean. It just happened to be VERY crowded, as it was July 4th weekend, but we still enjoyed though there were no more available lounge chairs, plenty of regular chairs, so we just put towels (which they had plenty of, lol), on the grass and laid there.

It is a very relaxing atmosphere, i just didn't feel very welcomed. Did run into folks who go there every year, so maybe it was just an off weekend for the front desk staff. Housekeeping was great, they were very accomodating for extra towels and coffee. Shame that the front desk personnel were not the friendliest, as this is your first impression, that is why i gave 3 stars instead of 4.

Room Tip: i don't think any of the rooms would be bad....they all have water views. Though the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Harbourtowne golf Resort for the July 4th weekend. The hotel is on the Chesapeake and all the rooms has water view, which is just stunning. The most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen. The hotel does not explore any of its potential, for example, the pool is in the middle of nowhere instead of facing the bay, everyhting is just plain. There is no charm, no flowers, no landscaping, no service, no ammenities. The rooms are super outdated (I'm being extremely conservative to say the least), the carpet is old and filthy, the bathroom is very basic like a motel 6. The room was "clean" but its so old, that it's unpleasant. Its not charming old like an antique BB. We paid US$ 215 per night, which is super over priced for what the hotel offers. the hotel needs major revamping, new rooms, new pools, remodeled bathrooms, new restaurant, new decor and def a better service!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lala_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We started our Harbourtown visit off on a slightly sour note when one of our rooms was not yet ready at 4pm. After about a 30 minute wait, the room became available. The hotel is located on a peninsula behind a golf/country club. It is a bit of a drive to get to the hotel at the tip of the peninsula, but the view is worth it. Part of the hotel is fairly standard rooms with doorways facing the outside (no hallways). There are some buildings towards the tip of the peninsula that are single story and much more intimate. The rooms were clean and well maintained. An interesting addition was a wood burning stove in the room. We did not partake of the stove as it was July, but in the fall/winter this would be a nice addition. There is a nice pool on the property, although it is across the street from the hotel main building. On a sour note, one day we arrived at the pool at about 6pm and there were no clean towels left. There was an attendant on duty, but we were informed that no more towels would be forthcoming. The pool was clean and warm, and looks like it used to have a diving board, as the deep end is 9 feet deep. Unfortunately, as we were towel less , it was a chilly soggy walk back to our rooms to dry off. My favorite part of this hotel is its spectacular views over the water. We were fortunate enough be be guests during the annual St Michaels firework display and the show was clearly visible from the hotel grounds.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My brother-in-law's big birthday weekend bash at Harbourtowne Golf Resort in St. Michael's Maryland on the Eastern Shore started Friday afternoon. The weather was spectacular, the accommodations comfortable and facing the Chesapeake Bay, with a gathering of 20 best friends - everything was perfect.

On our arrival, however, we were not greeted very warmly, and it seemed they wanted to be sure we paid for our second night the minute we got into the place. None of us were going to leave and they had our credit cards, so what message did that send? NOT good...Friday afternoon, went to the well-appointed golf range to practice for our next day's Scramble, and then showered for a 7:30 PM dinner for all of us at the Restaurant.

Disaster! We waited 30 minutes for drinks, 90 minutes for our dinner and most of our dinners were either wrong or inedible! YIKES...what an awful way to start our wonder-weekend. The service was terrible, and every possible problem arose with the food. Cold, wrong plate to wrong person (fish allergies), starving kid waiting until in tears, some food deep fried to a crisp. The whole dinner was expensive and although the crab cakes were good, I would give it a 1 out of 5...not consistent with the rest of the place. Can you spell "service recovery"? Well, Harbouretown can't. We should have been compensated for our entire Friday night meals - but it didn't seem to cross anyone's mind. What a mess! We had a chef and a hotel general manager in our group and they were about to go to the kitchen and whip the place into shape. YUCK...

Leaving the restaurant with trepidation on what the rest of the weekend would bring, we gathered at the back of our condos and enjoyed the wonderful setting and the joy of best friends with snacks and drinks - we were still very unsatisfied from dinner.

But, to our surprise, the next two days were nothing short of a wonder. Starting with a lovely breakfast buffet on Saturday morning, then a terrific golf outing on the interesting and well-manicured golf course, and a terrific post-golf lunch at the grill with a great waiter - Thank you Nick!. What fun. Now things were looking up.

The Saturday night drinks and dinner party couldn't have been more fun, more professionally delivered or have provided any better food. Wow! What a difference...what happened? Do we have a problem in the restaurant that needs fixing? Only time will tell.

After the wonderful birthday party, we gathered on the water behind the condos and danced and laughed. A memory-making time we will likely never forget. And, to be fair, we'll go back to Harbourtowne - and maybe even next year.

So here is my warning -
1. If you have a big party and if there are other big parties at the same time - ask the Manager and if so, completely avoid the Restaurant. Go into St. Michael's or else, you're headed for trouble.
2. Don't expect "service recovery" - they don't seem to get the concept.
3. Trust that your dinner party (delivered by another part of the Resort) will be great.
4. Give Harbourtowne another chance - we will...

Overall, despite the surley unwelcoming front desk people and the bad dinner Friday...our birthday weekend was a wonderful success.

Harbourtowne needs to pay attention to their restaurant, and keep doing the other things well. Consistency will be the key.

Room Tip: Always choose the rooms on the Bay...can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T21663, Manager at Harbourtowne Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

It is disconcerting that the front desk gets accused of being unwelcoming or rude. Every guest is important to us and welcomed as they walk through the door unless we are helping another guest at the time. We want all of our guests to feel important and have the time taken to insure they were properly helped.
Unfortunately we do require payment at the time of check in due to past guests not checking out with the front desk and failing to pay for services that they received.
To be helpful, our restaurant took this group’s reservation for 17 people, because no other restaurant in the area would take such a large party without a prior reservation. It was explained to the guest that there would be a wait being that we had other parties and reservations already booked. Had we had more notice, we would have been staffed and prepped for such an event.
Every meal is prepared and served out of our restaurant which means both Friday night and Saturday nights dinners were prepared and served from the Bayview Restaurant. The only difference is that we were prepared and staffed for the Saturday party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
3.8 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
487 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
20.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
3.5 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourtowne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourtowne Resort

Address: 9784 Martingham Drive, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2228
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range: £90 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourtowne Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbourtowne - St. Michaels is located on Maryland's beautiful Eastern Shore and a premiere destination for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our property boasts 'Spectacular Views - Everyday' with 111 guest rooms nestled along the banks of East Chesapeake Bay and Miles River - every room is within 100 feet of the water! The Conference Center Our Conference Center caters to groups from 10-160 for meetings, team-building events and retreats. Our 18,000 square feet of meeting space has natural lighting and our on-site professional planners customize meeting experiences according to needs and budget. Waterfront Weddings and Events Harbourtowne - St. Michaels remains a top choice for waterfront weddings, receptions as well as events and gatherings. We have a full-time coordinator on property to assist with every detail for planning and executing an affair to remember. The Town Our property is lucky to share the same zip code with the historically rich, charming town of St. Michaels. The town's cobble-stone walks are lined with boutiques, art galleries and restaurants unique to this area of Maryland and museums provide cultural history about this area. At Harbourtowne - St. Michaels, you'll enjoy the laid back atmosphere most notable to the Eastern Shore lifestyle and we're a short drive from Washington, DC, Baltimore and Philadelphia. Let us be a part of your Eastern Shore Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbourtowne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourtowne Golf Hotel St. Michaels
Harbourtowne Hotel Saint Michaels
Harbourtowne Golf Resort
Harbourtowne Resort St. Michaels, Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing